Your parents still know the family tree thingy...Originally posted by TYING:I dono for you. But my parents brought me up in a strict ways. Nowadays you see kids calling their relatives just auntie and uncle, but not like da sao, da bo and yi ma etc etc. So i really thing its how the parents bring up the child when they are young.
Its better to shape their attitude when young.
Haha, me.Originally posted by SGpork:not really..parents do a part but for most...must depends n see the kids themself![]()
i agree.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Your parents still know the family tree thingy...
Nowadays you ask kids, they go "huh?"
So just call auntie/uncle lor...
And if you ask me, I will most likely go "huh" if it goes beyond third generation.
It's like telling forumers make a t-shirt and wear it. They don't want lah.Originally posted by hisoka:i agree.
if you want me to know the order of birth then please go write out the list and wear it as a badge.
otherwise how to remember when you only see them once a year. and yes adults forget the children's names, order, etc too. so i guess its tit for tat![]()
ya laOriginally posted by FireIce:i think the prob is with the parents, not the kids
parents no teach properly
How old are these kids, if they are very young like 3-6 its forgiveable.Older than that its a little amusingOriginally posted by blueheeler:Over the past few days, I have given out a few hundred bucks in angpows to kids, most of them I don't even know. I notice that many of these kids stick their hands out at me wanting angpows, but they are not willing to greet me or even thank me after I give the angpow to them.
In the past, my mom taught me to greet everyone during CNY with auspicious sayings and to thank the givers after I receive the angpows. Now, most kids take the angpows and run away, and some even had the cheek to open the angpows in front of me...
Don't the parents of these rude children teach them about the simple social graces? Is this why we have to have courtesy campigns every year, so as to remind us of the politeness that we have lost in the past few decades?
Wah! Like that also have! If I'm the uncle, I'll smacked him across the face.Originally posted by toyota-corolla:yar. agree.
my cousin getting worst.
see angpow never say thank you, and somemore complain less.![]()
hell $ -.-Originally posted by stookie:should teach them a lesson by giving hell money in the ang pow...mwahaha![]()
agree. since young my parents had been teaching me to say thanks or a word of greeting after receiving an hong bao.. this is a form of courtesy.. only the person who give me hong bao not very happy like that.. hahaOriginally posted by blueheeler:Over the past few days, I have given out a few hundred bucks in angpows to kids, most of them I don't even know. I notice that many of these kids stick their hands out at me wanting angpows, but they are not willing to greet me or even thank me after I give the angpow to them.
In the past, my mom taught me to greet everyone during CNY with auspicious sayings and to thank the givers after I receive the angpows. Now, most kids take the angpows and run away, and some even had the cheek to open the angpows in front of me...
Don't the parents of these rude children teach them about the simple social graces? Is this why we have to have courtesy campigns every year, so as to remind us of the politeness that we have lost in the past few decades?
yes yes, I have a friend who din even bother to learn how to speak the dialect, and his grandma must even learn chinese just to communicate with him and other grandchildren. Poor granny.Originally posted by stookie:nowadays kids duno how to speak dialect so got problem wif communicationm
all wanna learn how to jiak kan tang mah.Originally posted by TYING:yes yes, I have a friend who din even bother to learn how to speak the dialect, and his grandma must even learn chinese just to communicate with him and other grandchildren. Poor granny.
Nxt time my kids, i will make sure teach them how to speak chi and some dialects first.![]()