Repeater: regenerate your signal strength as due to over long distances..the signal strength weakensOriginally posted by OsecretO:What's a repeater??
What's a wireless router??
sorry ah i don't know much about com stuff![]()
i am speechless, when you ask what is a router, then don't buy a router for your case, if one day, someone tap into your network then send out a email about bomb.Originally posted by OsecretO:What's a repeater??
you might as well, ask starhub to install additional cable point, solve all problem, right?Originally posted by StarPuppy:Repeater: regenerate your signal strength as due to over long distances..the signal strength weakens
wireless router is a bit of a control centre..its like playing LAN without cables![]()
no need lah, additional cable point can solve his problem or buy a router lor, then hopefully he knows how to set up password for his network and google about port forwarding, DMZ, and etc etcOriginally posted by jay_rocks:wrong forum la.
but i think u can request them to ask the starhub ppl to extend the wire for u up to ur room. but it would cost u money thou'
wah got so serious meh.. if like that means surely ppl can steal my internet connection rite..den mayb i don't use router leOriginally posted by allentyb:i am speechless, when you ask what is a router, then don't buy a router for your case, if one day, someone tap into your network then send out a email about bomb.
wah lau..he ask i answer maOriginally posted by allentyb:you might as well, ask starhub to install additional cable point, solve all problem, right?![]()
A repeater like its name, repeat. Repeat what you ask. Data. Since you live in a 2-storey house and is not willing to buy a router, you will need a repeater. The repeater will repeat data such that your data will not go corrupt or get lost half-way down the cable while transferring.Originally posted by OsecretO:What's a repeater??
yea, its in the new paper before, invest in a linksys router and an adaptor, think about it, if you have a laptor and computer, both the system unit can surf the internet at the same time also, by the time, you bought the router, just go to 198.168.1.1 to setup your router configuration, its very easy to setup and there is a guide book, point to point, step by step or you can call up their linksys 24 hours hotline for help.Originally posted by OsecretO:wah got so serious meh.. if like that means surely ppl can steal my internet connection rite..den mayb i don't use router le![]()
One idiot was arrested and sent to jail over this.Originally posted by OsecretO:wah got so serious meh.. if like that means surely ppl can steal my internet connection rite..den mayb i don't use router le![]()
wireless will not lag, are you asking, will it affect your download speed? unless there is an earthquake again under the sea.Originally posted by OsecretO:But wireless will lag or not?
Actually, considering that you live in a 2-storey house, it's very ma fan. Getting wireless might not work, since distance is a problem.Originally posted by OsecretO:btw im a she.. anyway maybe i also can put password.. but is it muz call the cable ppl to help?
er...cheapest solution is?