In fact NTU Business School has a better ranking, to the best of my knowledge. It's 2nd in Asia, and top in Singapore, according to recent news. Only lost to some Uni in China.Originally posted by rainee:from what I have gathered so far:
NTU has a better course for accountancy
NTU is very secluded, hard to find transport there
Not as high ranking as NUS
NUS more recognized, higher ranking
Does not have a specialization in accountancy
Quality of accountancy program (or rather business program, cos there is no specialized accountancy program there) is not as good as NTU one
No leh.. feedback i get it's juz another mugger sch.. not a so call refreshing place.. jialat.. hopefully there's no such thing as a "once a slacker always a slacker" thing.Originally posted by M©+square:SMU not bad. Good choice.
so basically you also no real solid reason to say the nbs is better other than chances for a biz course not of accountancy and masters.Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:well, the other specialisations are abit hard to compare. ok lets put it this way, if nbs accountancy and masters program are better than tt of nus, what are the chances that nus biz fac is better than nbs?
http://www.ntu.edu.sg/CorpComms/NTU%2Bin%2Bthe%2BNews/#mbaFT2
yeah, ur right tt the name of NUS is better. the problem lies here, NUS has been riding on their name far too long.. I'll say, if ur not from law, medicine or sciences, pls dun flaunt the name of NUS..
NBSOriginally posted by rainee:just the above two options, please
she is confused enuff between this two, no need to add another one![]()
got...but I believe both NUS and NTU offer priority to full-time foreign students.Originally posted by FireIce:NTU's nanyang business school has a stronger track record compared to NUS.......
NTU hostel no priority to foreign students?
^5Originally posted by hisoka:well nus has a better ranking.
but i would say NUS sucks. but dunno about ntu![]()
but one thing i notice nus business the pple like to dress up and paint/powder themselves alot![]()
solid evidence is accreditation. For one, NUS Biz fac doesn't haf EQUIS.Originally posted by hisoka:so basically you also no real solid reason to say the nbs is better other than chances for a biz course not of accountancy and masters.
name is important in the end i guess.
actually law, science and medicine no need to fluant nus name cos no other local uni if i'm not wrong.![]()
well i would say NUS engin is better though.
Yeah,for accounting field,ACCA is better and getting a CPA from ICPAS is more important.Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:solid evidence is accreditation. For one, NUS Biz fac doesn't haf EQUIS.
Name might b impt, but the professionals in the industry know which is the better school. For example those pple goin into NUS Accounting becos of the "name", they might end up not being hired becos its not even recognised by ACRA and ICPAS, so ur saying name is impt here?
not forgetting most of the HR professionals are produced by NBS Human Resource Centre. I'm sure they know which is the better school.![]()
What do she wanna be when she graduate?Originally posted by rainee:Okie, helping one of my students to ask her question here
She is thinking of furthering her studies in business course in Singapore. She has been offered a place in NUS, and is asked to go for an interview for admission by NTU this coming Friday. She is not sure which one she should choose, because different people have told her different things about both universities.
So she wans to know whether NUS or NTU is better in terms of its environment, ranking, future career, etc. Would appreciate any comment and opinion from especially those who have taken a business course (esp accountancy/finance) in either university. Thanks![]()
For accountancy path better visit here for the route to be a Certified Public AccountantOriginally posted by rainee:Okie, helping one of my students to ask her question here
She is thinking of furthering her studies in business course in Singapore. She has been offered a place in NUS, and is asked to go for an interview for admission by NTU this coming Friday. She is not sure which one she should choose, because different people have told her different things about both universities.
So she wans to know whether NUS or NTU is better in terms of its environment, ranking, future career, etc. Would appreciate any comment and opinion from especially those who have taken a business course (esp accountancy/finance) in either university. Thanks![]()
I heard that NTU's business is ranked higher than NUSOriginally posted by soulwinner:Depend on the choice of course...
NUS is good for business and medical....
NTU is going for engineering and perhaps teaching... I mean NIE...![]()
why NUS undergrad cannot practice accounting?And why NTU undergrad can????Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:ntu business is better than nus business.
people who graduate from nus with the business(accountancy) degree CANNOT practice accountancy.
In my opinion, SMU is the best in terms of structure, just that it might not be as reputable as ntu overseas. But in sg, smu graduates have the last laugh when it comes to the job hunt.
my advice,
1. smu business
2. ntu business
3. any other course except nus business.
the so called ''accountancy" degree isnt an accountancy degree.Originally posted by KenPlus:why NUS undergrad cannot practice accounting?And why NTU undergrad can????
Is it?Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:the so called ''accountancy" degree isnt an accountancy degree.
its just a sub part of business.
the accounting degree from ntu is a full accounting degree.
finally got proof haha.Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:solid evidence is accreditation. For one, NUS Biz fac doesn't haf EQUIS.
Name might b impt, but the professionals in the industry know which is the better school. For example those pple goin into NUS Accounting becos of the "name", they might end up not being hired becos its not even recognised by ACRA and ICPAS, so ur saying name is impt here?
not forgetting most of the HR professionals are produced by NBS Human Resource Centre. I'm sure they know which is the better school.![]()
that person is referring to my student ah? she going for accountancy leh...Originally posted by hisoka:finally got proof haha.
well i dunno but if what you said is true then yeah ntu business is better.
anyway again please dun bring accounting in cos the person not going for that. and yes NUS accounting sucks more than NTU one![]()