hi, me also cantonese, ji gei yaoOriginally posted by skooty:u go n die la... dun insult my dialect..
tiu lei lou mei ham ga chan, puk gai![]()
Originally posted by Eric Cartman:MINE IS CANTONESE
actually mandarin is Beijing dialect, just like hokkien is Fujian dialectOriginally posted by 798:i dislike cantonese pple the most!
alot of them esp the hongkee are too proud of their ascent that they ignore the fact dat mandarin is the main communication language among chinese n often speak cantonese around. look at star award, it really pissed me off when the guests invited from HK cant even know ch 8 is a chinese programme dat they carry on wif their canto speech.
last time i worked in restaurant there is these canto woman trying to speak canto to me, n i told her, "Excuse me, can you speak in mandarin?"![]()
i got cantonese gal frenz who speak canto, sounds very nice de worOriginally posted by pokkagreentea:cantonese. Not that I really hate it. I just find the language a bit 'rough'. When a pretty girl speaks the dialect, it doesn't sound feminine.
maybe she got got a seducing voice.Originally posted by Ah Cek:i got cantonese gal frenz who speak canto, sounds very nice de wor
ya man. very yiew siew type one.Originally posted by pokkagreentea:maybe she got got a seducing voice.![]()
I think you all talking about people. And your own bias towards people. This is not really about dialect, is it?Originally posted by 798:i dislike cantonese pple the most!
alot of them esp the hongkee are too proud of their ascent that they ignore the fact dat mandarin is the main communication language among chinese n often speak cantonese around. look at star award, it really pissed me off when the guests invited from HK cant even know ch 8 is a chinese programme dat they carry on wif their canto speech.
last time i worked in restaurant there is these canto woman trying to speak canto to me, n i told her, "Excuse me, can you speak in mandarin?"![]()
The use of non-Mandarin dialects in broadcast media is prohibited and the use of dialect in any context is officially discouraged. This has led to some resentment, as Singapore's Chinese community is almost entirely of southern Chinese descent and thus considers Mandarin a foreign language.why do u hate your true language? if so, can u even speak Mandarin properly?
si meh??? maybe mor kah chng hee is just like an alternative term they called it.Originally posted by rane:Hokkien is very unrefined. For eg, puppet show, in hokkien they called it "mor kah chng hee". Aiyo, OMG!!!![]()
In Mandarin it is called "bu dai xi".
Mor = touchOriginally posted by udontknowme:can translate what mor kah chng hee is?
i mean...translate word for word...
You don't know doesn't mean you need to insult.Originally posted by Eric Cartman:MY SECOND ONE IS HAKKA BUT ONLY BECOS I DONT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TOKING ABOUT
It sounds crude because it's no longer pure. Pure Hokkien is nice...Originally posted by menoob:i think the most common dialect in sg is hokkien. i dislike it coz it sounds crude.
i only know how to hear, talk a bit.
cantonese is the most common dialect worldwide due to hk immigrants and popularity of hk shows/dramas/singers. chinatown in every country is like cantotown.
So when a pretty girl converse in hokkien is feminine lah?Originally posted by pokkagreentea:cantonese. Not that I really hate it. I just find the language a bit 'rough'. When a pretty girl speaks the dialect, it doesn't sound feminine.