I am sure you have done your duty and are proud of it. I also believes that there are black sheeps in all organisation. But after reading this thread, I realised that I am not the only one being bias to our police force. So far my encounter with them have been very negatives . For eg. I register my brother and father's death in seperate occasion and different station, for a death certificate and it took more than 45 mins to provide the death certificate. I had even to spell out the cause of death to them.Originally posted by Sagara:The general sentiment among forumers here seems to be that our POs, be it regular or NS, are lazy and incapable people.
If you have a chance to work with them then you can see that there really are committed and dedicated officers who take their work seriously and put their lives at risk for you.
My life as a PNSF is over and i dare say i did a good job towards serving the nation, not like some retard who bashes HTNSmen and retreats into a hole when he has no reason to back his assumptions.
what is a VC?Originally posted by icer:hope that he be downgraded to a VC...then he know how shiok it is to anyhow use the card......and be humilated and laugh by other for using a card for a dog things......so shameful of him
Used to be known as "Vigilante Corp" - in hokkien it is call it " beat rat " .... White in uniform ... now don't know still exist or not ....Originally posted by abnn:what is a VC?
you have to understand that registering a death is not an everyday thing. and it could also be that the person manning the counter that day was either a relatively new/inexperienced guy and it could have been his first time doing it, or that he could have forgotten how to go about doing it because, its not every day that people walk into one's post to register a death.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I am sure you have done your duty and are proud of it. I also believes that there are black sheeps in all organisation. But after reading this thread, I realised that I am not the only one being bias to our police force. So far my encounter with them have been very negatives . For eg. I register my brother and father's death in seperate occasion and different station, for a death certificate and it took more than 45 mins to provide the death certificate. I had even to spell out the cause of death to them.
I reported that loan shark was harrassing my family and that they were still around, the nearest police post took more than 30 mins to come. I told the police if I walk I would have taken less than 10 mins to reach. They came in police car and took more half an hour. I told them the loan shark will not wait for them to come. Guess what, the sargent threaten to arrest me if I don't " keep my peace "...if it was a neighbourhood police post (npp), it is manned by a single person. you call that post, he has to call the div hq to despatch resource. the resource can come from anywhere: he could be on patrol nearby or at the extreme end of his npc's boundaries, or he could be from another location after resuming from another case. a lot of factors come into play when we talk about response time. sometimes we respond quickly, sometimes not so. and yes, not keeping the peace will result in an arrest being affected. you can air your grievances, but do mindful of the way you express it. however, having said that, it is a rather subjective issue, which is besides the point that you have brought up.
When I lived in Whampoa and saw a gang fight and called the police. They came about 15 mins and I was observing them from my place. The police car came and they waited in the car. They came out only when the commotion quite down... by then the fight was over and everyone had gone back to sleep !!!one car... maximum 3 people in it, usually two. in the event of a gang fight, do you honestly think it would be wise to go all gung ho and confront everyone involved when they are outnumbered? and what happened after they came out?
These are some of the encounter... I can go on and bore everyone. The most recent case if when my sister took the lift, two kids were playing in it with an adult. I sister commented and this guy put out a warrant card and ask for my sister particulars... I wanted to report the incident but because he is my sis neighbour, we decided not to proceed ... This guy is rather young I must say..In all probability he is a young ns boy bah. giving the rest of our pns men a bad name.
Unless, the police can prove to us that they are efficient and is out to serve the citizen, it will be difficult for us to have a different opinion of them...i too, among other people, PNS or otherwise, can also bore you to death with good cases, just as you have informed us with your experiences. the point is, there will always be some good, and some not-so-good experiences when one deals with any organization which deals with people, let alone the police.
hello i think u shld retract ur statement on the CD thing...Originally posted by Ignatiaus:All those CMI into Army, Navy, Air Force kena filtered down to Police & Civil Defense...
Someone whom i know is a total dumbass also got into Police for NS...
Of course the worse ones go to Civil Defense...
So thats why you kena such a thing when you encounter a total idiot of the system.
Nvm, let him hold a 65mm jet with 10 bar and see whether he can still stand on both legs with a man supporting him from behind.Originally posted by ermintham:hello i think u shld retract ur statement on the CD thing...
gg to army doesnt mean u are smart...
next time u or ur family members require help from ambulances and or fire engines...be sure to tell them u dun need their help..coz they are too dumb to serve u.....mofo.
Like I say, there are black sheep in all organisation. The thing is my experience with the police is nothing but "good". Not that I am anti police but I have yet to meet one that can talk sense or done something that make me feel proud of our police force. Two months ago, my mum had a fall, I was like be questioned by three different police officers to make sure that my mum is not being abuse. ( she happens to hit her eye when she fell and it does look like being punched in the eye). I understand there is a need to sieve out elderly abuse but to spend so much time and effort ? I think the police should have better thing to do right ? Anyway, I respect you and your believe. I sincerely hope that I can witness one good cop one day .. Cheero ....Originally posted by Tiggerific:i too, among other people, PNS or otherwise, can also bore you to death with good cases, just as you have informed us with your experiences. the point is, there will always be some good, and some not-so-good experiences when one deals with any organization which deals with people, let alone the police.
i do not think it is fair to generalise the coppers as being bad/inefficient/incompetent based on certain incidents, simply because, if you knew how many calls were being made/ how many incidents they came across in a day, it would be almost impossible to make an objective comparison.
and if you do get to see the other side of singapore, you'd be surprised to know that it isn't as 'safe' as is supposedly is.
i think, that by looking in detail at all the various threads in this forum, it is proven beyond reasonable doubt that the saying 'ignorance is bliss' does hold true indeed. especially when you talk about our country. and the people who live in it. it seems to be a perfect example of the application of the aforementioned saying.
My friend lost $5k to a crook.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Like I say, there are black sheep in all organisation. The thing is my experience with the police is nothing but "good". Not that I am anti police but I have yet to meet one that can talk sense or done something that make me feel proud of our police force. Two months ago, my mum had a fall, I was like be questioned by three different police officers to make sure that my mum is not being abuse. ( she happens to hit her eye when she fell and it does look like being punched in the eye). I understand there is a need to sieve out elderly abuse but to spend so much time and effort ? I think the police should have better thing to do right ? Anyway, I respect you and your believe. I sincerely hope that I can witness one good cop one day .. Cheero ....
haha i cant do that also..Originally posted by chillz88:Nvm, let him hold a 65mm jet with 10 bar and see whether he can still stand on both legs with a man supporting him from behind.![]()
still have.....cos still got afew other dun have a min N level cert....thats yOriginally posted by ORIGAMIST:Used to be known as "Vigilante Corp" - in hokkien it is call it " beat rat " .... White in uniform ... now don't know still exist or not ....
I'll love to see him flying around with a hose.Originally posted by chillz88:Nvm, let him hold a 65mm jet with 10 bar and see whether he can still stand on both legs with a man supporting him from behind.![]()
2 years ago, I make a patrol Sergeant lose his ricebowl when he told me to squat down when talking to him. He wanted to apologise me to close the matter and keep his job but i say to hell you go. Now not sure where he is working at. Maybe a security guard at Tuas?Originally posted by abnn:Incident happen yesterday. My bro together with his wife + 2 kidz was on the way home while he saw a guy holding a dog, and that dog look like the dog we lost 2 yrs ago. So my bro went up and have a closer look, but the guy was like so nervous and asked her gf to go up his hse to get his "police warrants". Awhile, his friend came down with his gf, that guy shown the "police warrants" to my sis in law ask her where she stay, my sis in law insists she is not going to say, that guy then give her warnings around 3 times to ask her her adddress.
**** ok the top one I do not wanna tell grandma story ****
in the end, they end up in police station ... after everything .. then we realise the so call policeman is only a NS police ... faint ....
so my bro lodge a complaints and when he finished the complaint, the police in the station said the HQ (dun know which head) is coming down so got to stay there ... but i was too tired to kpo ... haha ...
may I know wat will happen to that NS police ? (I tink the complaint is "Misuse of power of policeman")
well done. anotherr black sheep downOriginally posted by codename4:2 years ago, I make a patrol Sergeant lose his ricebowl when he told me to squat down when talking to him. He wanted to apologise me to close the matter and keep his job but i say to hell you go. Now not sure where he is working at. Maybe a security guard at Tuas?
No news yet ... the 2 "big shot" told my bro will keep in update.Originally posted by soulwinner:What happen to the policeman now???/![]()
haha you really said tat ? policemen really feel they are great they can abuse their power? thought now in sg .. civilian are much more power than policeman keke ... esp the complains power .. hahaOriginally posted by codename4:2 years ago, I make a patrol Sergeant lose his ricebowl when he told me to squat down when talking to him. He wanted to apologise me to close the matter and keep his job but i say to hell you go. Now not sure where he is working at. Maybe a security guard at Tuas?
Please lor, next time when you got into accident dont call 995 for ambulance cos its the worst mah.....and when your house on fire also please don't call. DO it yourself! Why would ask someone form the worst lot to help you put out fire and save your life??? "Of course the worse ones go to Civil Defense..." Go and sign on as a fire figther see if you can even tahan for a week in the training!!!Originally posted by Ignatiaus:All those CMI into Army, Navy, Air Force kena filtered down to Police & Civil Defense...
Someone whom i know is a total dumbass also got into Police for NS...
Of course the worse ones go to Civil Defense...
So thats why you kena such a thing when you encounter a total idiot of the system.
I hope he gets away with a slap on his wrists... as long as he learnt his lesson, just forgive and forget...Originally posted by abnn:No news yet ... the 2 "big shot" told my bro will keep in update.
Do you honestly believe that he would cheat all of you of your money and not spend the money? Were you expecting him to stash it away in a corner and keep it, to just leave it be?Originally posted by zeny:My friend lost $5k to a crook.
Report police.
Police found crook after 2 years.
Friend ask police where is his money.
Police answer he must have spent it
After cheating 15 people, the crook got 3 years.
friend say whats the point?
Then can I check with you, if the crook cheated people of 1 million dollars and he say that he spent it, will the police help the people to get the money back from them or just hack care and tell the people he spent it?Originally posted by Tiggerific:Do you honestly believe that he would cheat all of you of your money and not spend the money? Were you expecting him to stash it away in a corner and keep it, to just leave it be?
Anyway, the punishment the crook would receive would depend on the final classification of the case, wouldn't it?
If it is indeed cheating, then there are a few types of cheating defined by the law:
i) Simple Cheating, sec 415 cap 224 (Penal Code):
Whoever, by deceiving any person, fraudulently or dishonestly induces the person so deceived to deliver any property to any person, or to consent that any person shall retain any property, or intentionally induces the person so deceived to do or omit to do anything which he would not do or omit if he were not so deceived, and which act or omission causes or is likely to cause damage or harm to that person in body, mind, reputation or property, is said to “cheat”.
Punishment for cheating: Whoever cheats shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to one year, or with fine, or with both.
ii) Cheating by personation, sec 416 cap 224 (Penal Code):
A person is said to “cheat by personation”, if he cheats by pretending to be some other person, or by knowingly substituting one person for another, or representing that he or any other person is a person other than he or such other person really is.
Punishment for cheating by personation: Whoever cheats by personation shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 3 years, or with fine, or with both.
there's also cheating desptite knowingly that one would cause a person whom he is bound to protect to suffer a wrongful loss, sec 419 cap 224, as well cheating and dishonestly inducing a delivery of property, sec 420 cap 224 respectively.
But my purpose here is not to provide a law lecture. I just wish to emphasize that the punishment rendered out to the offender will depend no the classification of the case, among other things. Other factors also play a part.
Sometimes it's not worth it for the coppers too: to go through so much trouble cracking a case and the punishment the offender gets is rather... well, it isn't proportionate with the effort put in.
But the punishment is always dished out in accordance with the law.
your mum ( i assume that she is an elderly person) had a fall. the purpose is asking what happened is not just to ensure that elderly abuse took place. another purpose is to find out what had transpired, the injuries she suffered (if any; head injuries are of utmost importance) etc.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Like I say, there are black sheep in all organisation. The thing is my experience with the police is nothing but "good". Not that I am anti police but I have yet to meet one that can talk sense or done something that make me feel proud of our police force. Two months ago, my mum had a fall, I was like be questioned by three different police officers to make sure that my mum is not being abuse. ( she happens to hit her eye when she fell and it does look like being punched in the eye). I understand there is a need to sieve out elderly abuse but to spend so much time and effort ? I think the police should have better thing to do right ? Anyway, I respect you and your believe. I sincerely hope that I can witness one good cop one day .. Cheero ....