wanted to.... but everyday go work.Originally posted by ^tamago^:did u see the ume blossoms?
when i was there it was still cloudy, like one day sunny and two days cloudy, and occasionally it drizzles in the evening after dark.
no.Originally posted by winnie^_^:so actually no discount lah?
sounds like yotsuya or ochanomizuOriginally posted by Chin Eng:wanted to.... but everyday go work.
however i went to the park just beside asakusa (the place with the lei men lantern) and walk there quite a bit...
also along the path where I walk to the train station each day from work. not sure where it was...
wanted to post photos lah, but this few days fight war in another place.
still dreaming of the sushi......![]()
9 to 5.... theoritically.... start the day at about 8.30 from hotel lobby, take train to wherever I am suppose to go to that day.... try to control agenda so that everything ends by 4.30 pm.... take a train and go to wherever I felt like going that night.Originally posted by ^tamago^:sounds like yotsuya or ochanomizu
u work from wat time to wat time then~?
heng u never tio Karoshi~Originally posted by Chin Eng:9 to 5.... theoritically.... start the day at about 8.30 from hotel lobby, take train to wherever I am suppose to go to that day.... try to control agenda so that everything ends by 4.30 pm.... take a train and go to wherever I felt like going that night.
Some nights, shibuya, some nights shinjuku, some nights ginza...
and, yes I missed that place.
Of course company pay lah... otherwise how to life... anyway my travels are not long term. Usually one or two weeks. Max is probably a month or two. Enough lah.. quite sian, when one travels and has family back home.Originally posted by ^tamago^:heng u never tio Karoshi~
or is it overhyped~
i also want to go there and live and work leh~
ur accomodation is coy provided, coy sponsored or part of ur pay? how much did it cost......
i believe electronics still more than anime stuff, taking up the whole chuo-dori and streets behind, but still there's hell lots of anime stuff here than anywhere else lah.Originally posted by Rika Ishikawa:tamago got go akihabara? that time i go there is not much otaku stuff mostly sell electronic stuff. i feel like goin there again to see how the otaku culture is like.
so good.Originally posted by Chin Eng:Of course company pay lah... otherwise how to life... anyway my travels are not long term. Usually one or two weeks. Max is probably a month or two. Enough lah.. quite sian, when one travels and has family back home.
... oh... accomodations are usually 5 stars and above. so quite pampered one.
this time round the room charge was slight above 20,000 yen per night.

me guy but didn't see girls being mobbedOriginally posted by y33bas:I came back about 2 weeks ago.. the most eye opening visit is like visiting Kabukicho at about 9pm. There girls will be mobbed by like 20 over guys for 'happy' services. Guys might be approached. Can't take much pictures there. Many people standing around seem to be protecting their territory.
anyway, interested to work there as well..but getting an apartment and a job there seems impossible.
english is must for you, then you changeOriginally posted by winnie^_^:u went there b4? for how many days?
btw... is English widely use there?
definitely no, but still not as bad as korea.Originally posted by winnie^_^:btw... is English widely use there?

yesOriginally posted by mrsmall:In Japan, Tokyo also very hard to communicate
but ppl very freindly not like sg![]()
it's at shin-yokohama, south of tokyo, half an hour by train away by tokaido shinkansen~Originally posted by love kitty:i went japan about 2-3 yrs ago and there is this noodle museum that is realli nice! acoording to my tour guide, those who set up their ramen store there are those who got awards or sth like tt ( ai ya means onli if u can make nice ramen then can set up store there) the ramen is damn nice *miss it* they come in a rather small portion and u hav to pay through vending machine which means the chef do not hav any contact with the money =) v hygienic rite. since u are going Japan then u sldn't miss Mt Fuji! oh ya i love the disney land!(not being childish la but it is really fun) do visit the Shrine too... last of all muz eat sashimi! damn fresh ^^ i miss the trip there! so sorry i forgotten where the noodle museum is located but i guess u can search it from internet =D
some girls dun serve foreigners rite?Originally posted by y33bas:I came back about 2 weeks ago.. the most eye opening visit is like visiting Kabukicho at about 9pm. There girls will be mobbed by like 20 over guys for 'happy' services. Guys might be approached. Can't take much pictures there. Many people standing around seem to be protecting their territory.
anyway, interested to work there as well..but getting an apartment and a job there seems impossible.
stooky!!!!!!!!!!1Originally posted by crabx:some girls dun serve foreigners rite?
so interesting! thanks for your info!Originally posted by ^tamago^:definitely no, but still not as bad as korea.
station masters and some post office staffs in tokyo are somewhat well-trained in english, but anything else, u might just want to point to the menu. trust me, even if u dunno how to order in jap, it does get easier after a few days, at least in tokyo.
when u buy stuffs from the convenience shop, they will always without fail ask something which u might not understand. that line is, "do you need a plastic bag?". so if u dun need (e.g. buying a drink), just say "iie, arigato gozaimasu" with a appropriate hand sign to match. u are expected to put the money onto the basket with scrubs. they will also return any change into that basket usually.
note the basket to the left of the cashier.
some cashiers at bigger outlets like HMV or supermarkets also feature a changing machine. for example, ur stuff costs ¥190 and u give the cashier a ¥1,000 note (it's like $10), the cashier after scanning the stuffs will proceed to insert ur note into the left slot in the machine below and it will spit out ¥810 in coins in the cup which he/she will return it to the basket with ur receipt.
in japan u are expected to drink or eat while standing on the spot or sitting. they dun have the habit of drinking and walking, and some may actually detest such behaviours. for the same reason, rubbish bins are always found next to vending machines, and u're expected to buy, drink it there and then dispose of the empty can in there. some vending machines have a side bin which will offer to return u ¥10 for returning an empty paper cup.
if u choose to drink and walk, u will realise u can't easily find rubbish bins elsewhere (one tip is to find a vending machine with a bin :lol, and u could end up holding to ur empty bottle for very long without a rubbish bin in sight.