I dont know about you but this sounds good to me I want my kid to be excellent.Originally posted by TransientR:Now the education system is more stressful and competitive than ever. Not only do kids have to excel academically, they have to excel in their character, leadership abilities, ability to think on their feet, resilience, social and emotional skills, aesthetics appreciation, physical fitness, etc etc etc they are basically assessed on everything.
they may bring you joy luagther and happiness, or they could bring you sadness weeping and agony.Originally posted by Cool-gal:the advantage of having a kid is far more than disadvantage.
a kid can bring u joy, laughter, happiness and oso they make u grow up as a parent.
the most u support them for 23yrs of their life afterwhich its the other way round.
the best is to have at least 2 or more.
i believe that if kids grow up knowing what its like to be erm...poor, it'll make them a better person when they grow up.Originally posted by Cro-Magnon:It is a good idea only if you can afford to raise children. Do not bring them into this world only to have them trapped in the vicious cycle of provety...
If you planned to have children, I think it is expected of you to give them the best...
we r more than animals...we dun juz live a life to produce the other generation...to juz do that wuld render ur life insignificant...if u want to b significant, do somthing for the world...for the ppl arnd u...or at the very least, live happy, so that u wun b a burden to others...Originally posted by sunny6110:As a Human... Having kids is your duty
Yes u can if u can afford the fees. My brother wanted to bring his kids back from overseas but decided not to cos they cannot adapt to the edn system here.Originally posted by Joshua1975:questions?
can a local Singaporean enroll his or her children into a international school and not the local government school be it the so call top school or neighborhood school now, 2007?
last time can not? i wanted my kids to have a normal childhood, for the good of him. we went away.
tell me i am toopic, when times come for NS, i'll tell him to go back serve.![]()
not really leh...Originally posted by udontknowme:i believe that if kids grow up knowing what its like to be erm...poor, it'll make them a better person when they grow up.
doesnt apply to all cases
but id rather have my kids work for stuff and earn what they deserve than to have the parents give then whatever they want.
alot of china pple sending their kids here cos our dear government is splurging our money on them giving them free education and money. (while we have to pay thru our noses for the education, living expenses and everything else too)Originally posted by MrSotong:No pain no gain
If your kids are willing to work hard they can get what they want .
Some ppl do not have gd jobs is because from young they don't have a goal
They can have any jobs and in the end they suffer if they have a goal they can choose the job they wanted it and work towards it .
So it is a gd idea to have a kid in S'pore
Even china ppl are sending their kids here to study and soon they will go back to their homeland and work there ....
Like i said no pain no gain , you will feel the "pain" when you rise the kid up but what if one day he succeed in his life isn't that the "gain" ?
Gd luk ~!![]()
there r those.Originally posted by shinta:not really leh...
a kid can grow up in a rich family.. as long as the parents instill the right valies, the kid can still grow up to be a better person
some of the f-up ppl i noe.. belong to the poor side of the country.
some of the downright rotten ppl i met..... comes from the poor, the rich n the middle income familiesOriginally posted by udontknowme:there r those.
parents spend all day out working earning marnee.
maids bring up the kids.
parents feel guilty and use marnee to 'bribe' the kids or whatever
there are also those poor parents who work hard but still no marnee
too tired to bring kids up properly
still got many scenarios.
but...the one i listed is based sort of on personal experiences i guess...
i'm pretty sure you can find other thigns to do than rearing children.Originally posted by apples:A lot of comments here mention about money. In fact, I also hear the same thing from my overseas colleague in Shanghai, India, etc...
But I've seen so many cases where parents who are not rich yet are still able to make end needs. I have an eldest brother with very low education level but have 4 children, he worked very hard at the food stall and have never once went for a tour since his marriage. I've often advise him to take a break since the fruit of his hardwork, after so many years, has at last brought him a stable income but he has yet heeded my advise. The tour was secondary to him. His children was his primary. They are his source of motivation, his source of courage, his source to move on and of course his source of happiness and sadness. He wouldn't have succeeded if he didn't have his children and wife to motivate and inspire and he wouldn't have felt more fullfilled and confident if he didn't have this family.
Committed parents can tell you so much of the successful stories and the goodness of children but you have empathise us to deeply feel our perception. Having a family requires a paradigm shift. It shifts away from thoughts of selfishness towards thoughts of selflessness. When you are able to do this, you will surely be a great mother even with very little money.
When people tell me they don't to have children, I also always wonder if they have ever thought what they are going to do with so many years of life ahead. Even at 30 yrs old, we are not even halfway through our life!
i will definitely regretOriginally posted by hisoka:i'm pretty sure you can find other thigns to do than rearing children.
and of course we have stories of pple regretting they have children or saying its so hard and whatever after they have children.....