I meant she's a mod here FYI and her mood is quite unpredictable if you know what i mean.Originally posted by newcomer:and she signs my paycheck? lol. geez, ppl can get so serious here. damn, this stick has been in my mouth for the past 20 mins. gotta lit it. good very the night, boss.
You could bring your own containerOriginally posted by FireIce:how am i going to carry my pork knuckle home?
hang on a string and swing it on my back?
tell that to china, the worst polluter of the whole planetOriginally posted by jay_rocks:can save our dear earth
It's not a total ban, just that they discourages you to use plastic bag on their BYOB day. The remaining 29 days of the month still have plastic bags, other than IKEA which charges $0.10 min which is donated to conservation funds.Originally posted by OasisBlue:erm... sry i dont quite get the news... banning plastic bags in supermarkets means that they wont provide you with any plastic bag or they will provide, if only you pay for the bags?
I fully disagree with all your points because the proceeds from the plastic bags sales is not lining the pockets of the retailers.Originally posted by allentyb:why should we even pay the extra cents when it should be provided to us?
if they want to increase their profit which is,how i see this matter
if you want to save the environment,then stop producing plastic bags
don't push all the blame to the consumers, for goodness sake, if they are lack of funds,ask from the government, we have paid enough tax money already
stop trying to think of ways, to squeeze our wallet dry
sooner or later, people is going to revolt against this sort of tyranny which is happening in singapore
MAY SINGAPORE WAKE UP THE IDEA, STOP THE GOVERNMENT FROM TREATING US LIKE SHEEP, WAITING TO BE SLAUGHTER
each single one has their limit, don't push us to the limit, or we shall surely knows who to 'vote' for, during the next GE
FYI, the hole in the ozone layer is not realli the cause for global warming. In fact, the hole is recovering due to the world's efforts in banning CFCs (CFC is the main culprit for the depleting ozone layer). And global warming is due largely to the excessive CO2 generated from burning fossil fuels, forest fires etc. CO2 is capable of trapping heat in the earth atmostphere; resulting in warming whether.Originally posted by pinky88:Singaporean is really Singaporean... Always have the kiasu mindset... I wondering, why those "ang moh" they can lives without plastic bag.. But why cant singaporean? Those "ang moh" their shopping bag are those own bag or paper bag... There is nth called "cant survive without plastic bag"... If want throw ur rubbish, then buy ur own trash bag.. Other country ppl also doing the same thing... Or dun use trash bag, jus throw without a bag and when u empty ur bin, jus wash the bins...
But i totally agree with the banning of plastic bags... Coz the more we use plastic bag, then government will keep on burning and it will affect our "Ozone Layer" that is why nw the weather is so hot... But if u were to buy ur own trash bag, you will tend to use as little as possible...
Originally posted by allentyb:why should we even pay the extra cents when it should be provided to us?
if they want to increase their profit which is,how i see this matter
if you want to save the environment,then stop producing plastic bags
don't push all the blame to the consumers, for goodness sake, if they are lack of funds,ask from the government, we have paid enough tax money already
stop trying to think of ways, to squeeze our wallet dry
sooner or later, people is going to revolt against this sort of tyranny which is happening in singapore
MAY SINGAPORE WAKE UP THE IDEA, STOP THE GOVERNMENT FROM TREATING US LIKE SHEEP, WAITING TO BE SLAUGHTER
each single one has their limit, don't push us to the limit, or we shall surely knows who to 'vote' for, during the next GE
Originally posted by LH83:The whole idea of BYOB isn't to ban plastic bags... Its to bring awareness to environmental conservation, something that is seriously lacking in Singapore...
Just go one day without plastic bags won't kill you... but the amount saved from being thrown away might help save the environment...
The 10 cents for the plastic bags is also being used for conservation efforts, and not to line the pockets of the supermarkets...
Wats so hard about carrying around one plastic bag just to store things in the event you might need it? Not like its very heavy... Its quite sad to see all those kiasu aunties rushing for plastic bags at other stores like the entire Singapore's supply was running out... Pay 10 cents won't kill you either... These days, 10 cents can only net you a phone call anyway...
Wats the point of saving a measly 10 cents, while you live in a polluted environment? Saving 10 cents is more important than your own health and the health of your children?
Whats more irritating is seeing adults, working adults being measly about buying a plastic bag just so they can save 10 cents... For wat?? So you can buy your favourite drink from the vending machine?? Singaporeans are getting too pampered... Plastic bag not free, then just sit down and whine about it... You want extra bags, go buy one packet or something... and REUSE them...
10 cents also so miserly about it... Like its $1000 like that... damn irritating..
it has always been about money.Originally posted by Chuichi Koshiramaru:So it's not really banned lah. Only you got to pay for it.
huh, so is the supermarkets taking advantage of this to earn more $$ from the customers?Originally posted by Chuichi Koshiramaru:So it's not really banned lah. Only you got to pay for it.
Originally posted by Jerina:YA LOR. PLUS OTHER COUNTRIES INCLUDING TAIWAN HAS LONG BEGUN THIS EXERCISE. THEY EVEN PROHIBIT THE USE OF NORMAL PASTIC BAGS WHEN THROWING RUBBISH. MUST BUY SPECIAL RECYCLE RUBBISH BAGS YOU KNOW?!
I seriously think only the [b]uneducated ppl will go against this current policy.
In case you dont know, the hot weather you complain abt, the sudden climate changes etc is caused by global warming which is caused by burning those nasty plastic bags.
And the plastic bags only cost 10 bloody cents, for God's sake. If 10c is too much for you, bring your own bloody bag-lah, end of story.
This policy will ensure that YOUR future grandchildren will live in a better world in future with LESS VIOLENT climate changes etc etc.
At least I know what I'm talking abt because I'm studyg an environmental module in school.
Cheers.