are you trying to pick a flame war with me?Originally posted by newcomer:you really are one dumb fuck who doesn't know what's happening to our environment and refuses to see what is going to happen if human continues to furthur exploit it unsustainably.
we can't stop using it but we can reduce it. same goes for oil.
Cool down...Originally posted by allentyb:are you trying to pick a flame war with me?
seriously, stop your childishness, and please for goodness sake, stop preaching to me your pro environmentalist mentality
why should we pay additional cents for something which the supermarket should provide
for goodness, you are just another kid, who never read about globalisation, if those 1st world country wants to do something to the environment, and they should have reduce the greenhouse effect
and this is really a clear cut case of, supermarket, trying to squeeze my wallet dry, and stop trying to be self righteous, at least stop being a moron who doesn't know what is he saying
for f u c k sake, the greenhouse effect is causing global warming, which is more of concern, reducing plastic bag, huh?
oh please, if you can't think of anything else to say, please don't reply to my post, you dumb prick who never read about globalisation and global warming and greenhouse effect
jesus christ, do something about the greenhouse effect bah
understand, dumb prick, if you really want to save the planet, ask those 1st world country to stop polluting the air lor, tell that to china, and usa
he is stupid enough not to understand, globalisationOriginally posted by dork3d:Cool down...
The global warming is getting to both your mind...
If we don't do something like reducing use of polymer products and burn more fossil fuels like oil and coal, we are slowly sending ourselves into a self-destruction state...
Me?Originally posted by allentyb:seriously how to reduce consuming of oil
dumb prick,
do you understand the meaning of energy demand?
do you even know, that china is one of the largest oil importer in this world
do you know that they are facing energy crisis
oi
dumb prick
the reason why i didn't reply to that post is because i am busying in another thread
for goodness sake, dumb prick, you are a noob
goodness sake, ban the usage of plastic bag, if you want to save the environment
instead of charging cents to those plastic bag
this type of method is very ironic
so obvious and you don't even understand
what are you, a moron, ah?
not youOriginally posted by dork3d:Me?
Okie...Originally posted by allentyb:not you
its newcomer
who make a dumb post about
reducing the consummation of oil
pass a bill to ban all plastic bagOriginally posted by dork3d:Okie...
Actually if everyone can bring a bag along with them to bag their purchases at shops, it'll be a good start...
go n flirt with the stall owner n he sure give u plastic bag!!!Originally posted by FireIce:how am i going to carry my pork knuckle home?
hang on a string and swing it on my back?
x2 bravoOriginally posted by allentyb:pass a bill to ban all plastic bag
problem solved
it helps to save the environment, great
please lah, look at the big picture lah
if you want to save the environment, reduce greenhouse effect, so that it will prevent further global warming, sooner or later, you will see more flood happening in the west coast of usa, due to the melting of ice in north pole
then El Niño will happen, ho ho ho, there goes your west coast of usa
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_ni%C3%B1o
Originally posted by Jerina:i think you are just too dumb to know anything
Allen, you are contradictg yourself ALOT. But I'm too lazy to list down all the contradictions.
Btw, [b]global warming and plastic bags are related, you know. Burning plastic bags release gases which CAUSE the warming.
Hence, it's gd to reduce plastic bag usage. The earth wont warm further.
Btw, wikipedia is not a good source of info, fyi, because ANYONE can write anything in there. University journals are more reliable.[/b]
it is just a darn excuse for them to raise fund, to me, it is as simple as thatOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:Look Allen, if everyone hangs around pointing fingers at other people, waiting for them to make the first move, nothing is going to be accomplished!
There's no need for you to gripe if you're not happy with the measures implemented. BE PROACTIVE. If you can help in your own way that makes a bigger impact, go ahead.
Nobody is asking you to stop using plastic bags altogether, just consciously reduce your usage of new bags. Nobody is forcing you to pay for them as there are options!
As it is you probably have a stash of old bags somewhere in the house. USE IT for more than just the garbage.
Is your convenience your God-given right that MUST take precedence over protecting the limited resources on the only planet we can call home?
You may think saving 3 bags a week is not going to help. It is if you multiply it over your entire lifespan.
And if you keep chasing shadows that life will be very miserable indeed.
helloOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:We have to start somewhere. Why must it be cars or anything else for that matter? Just do your own part.
so your EXCUSE of not protecting the environmentOriginally posted by allentyb:hello
i am knocking at your reality check system!
knock knock
anyone there
i hope there is
ok, since you don't understand what is the meaning of global warming, ok fine, cars are one of the largest contributors to the global warming...... look if they really want to take a effort in saving the planet. please for goodness sake, reduce the usage of the car.
there was this time, no car day, what happen, everyone still continue to drive a car, if people really care a damn to the environment. then people will be more considered already
have you seen alot of people pro active in recycling, have you been pro active in recycling? HUH?
i don't get it. so you are saying plastic bag not free and we don't like it we should roll over and accept it? shouldn't we be complaining(whining if you like) and trying to bring about the changes that we want to our society?Originally posted by LH83:The whole idea of BYOB isn't to ban plastic bags... Its to bring awareness to environmental conservation, something that is seriously lacking in Singapore...
Just go one day without plastic bags won't kill you... but the amount saved from being thrown away might help save the environment...
The 10 cents for the plastic bags is also being used for conservation efforts, and not to line the pockets of the supermarkets...
Wats so hard about carrying around one plastic bag just to store things in the event you might need it? Not like its very heavy... Its quite sad to see all those kiasu aunties rushing for plastic bags at other stores like the entire Singapore's supply was running out... Pay 10 cents won't kill you either... These days, 10 cents can only net you a phone call anyway...
Wats the point of saving a measly 10 cents, while you live in a polluted environment? Saving 10 cents is more important than your own health and the health of your children?
Whats more irritating is seeing adults, working adults being measly about buying a plastic bag just so they can save 10 cents... For wat?? So you can buy your favourite drink from the vending machine?? Singaporeans are getting too pampered... Plastic bag not free, then just sit down and whine about it... You want extra bags, go buy one packet or something... and REUSE them...
10 cents also so miserly about it... Like its $1000 like that... damn irritating..
yah lor .. have to educate those cashier also, on how to pack those items into the bags... everytime also give me too many bags, have to repack/rearrange for them... most of the time, can comfortably reduce the usage by 50-60% (I was like, can don't give me so many plastic bags?)Originally posted by Kuali Baba:We have to start somewhere. Why must it be cars or anything else for that matter? Just do your own part.
Then what change would you want to your society? BYOB day was set up to help conservation efforts... not earn more money from the consumers... The change here is that one day out of a month, you try to do your part to help save the environment, use less plastic bags and bring your own bag when you do shopping... Not for one day of the month, you PAY for a plastic bag when you do shopping... Notice the difference in mindset?Originally posted by hisoka:i don't get it. so you are saying plastic bag not free and we don't like it we should roll over and accept it? shouldn't we be complaining(whining if you like) and trying to bring about the changes that we want to our society?
the points is not whether the ban is good for the world.Originally posted by LH83:Then what change would you want to your society? BYOB day was set up to help conservation efforts... not earn more money from the consumers... The change here is that one day out of a month, you try to do your part to help save the environment, use less plastic bags and bring your own bag when you do shopping... Not for one day of the month, you PAY for a plastic bag when you do shopping... Notice the difference in mindset?
If you don't like having to pay for a plastic bag, then bring your own... that's what this day is all about... Cutting down on the usage of plastic bags...
If you had grown up in a country where everyone brought their own bags when doing shopping, would you have a problem with this?