Then ACT as if plastic bags were already banned. I don't need them when I can use my own bag.Originally posted by allentyb:
Vince also does grocery shopping.Originally posted by vince69:yah lor .. have to educate those cashier also, on how to pack those items into the bags... everytime also give me too many bags, have to repack/rearrange for them... most of the time, can comfortably reduce the usage by 50-60% (I was like, can don't give me so many plastic bags?)![]()
...........Originally posted by hisoka:i don't get it. so you are saying plastic bag not free and we don't like it we should roll over and accept it? shouldn't we be complaining(whining if you like) and trying to bring about the changes that we want to our society?
look, if i have offended you with my postOriginally posted by newcomer:Apologies to Allen for my rude remarks.
what the f u ck?Originally posted by davidche:so your EXCUSE of not protecting the environment
is because ONE(in this case you used car as eg) of the
methods is too difficult when you could do other easier ways(like
saving on plastic bags). Abnormal mindset i would say.
do something about the greenhouse effect bah
understand, dumb prick, if you really want to save the planet, ask those 1st world country to stop polluting the air lor, tell that to china, and usa
the greenhouse effect is causing global warming, which is more of concern, reducing plastic bag
why should we pay additional cents for something which the supermarket should provideYou raise some methods of saving the earth's environment and say that it is more effective than saving on plastic bags....And you use that excuse to explain that we should continue the use of plastic bags.
please lahOriginally posted by davidche:You raise some methods of saving the earth's environment and say that it is more effective than saving on plastic bags....And you use that excuse to explain that we should continue the use of plastic bags.
''since there is a better way, we shouldnt resort to ineffective methods'' should be what you are trying to say.
Better, but we need to stop people from taking more empty bags than they need over the weekends. Otherwise the purpose of the exercise will be defeated.Originally posted by allentyb:how about
they could just stop providing plastic bag, for example, instead of, 7 days a week, only provide plastic bag on the weekend
they could save alot of plastic bag during the weekday
don't you think it may be a better idea?
tell that to those auntie lorOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:Better, but we need to stop people from taking more empty bags than they need over the weekends. Otherwise the purpose of the exercise will be defeated.
And as I mentioned, we can't get anything done if everyone expects other people to make the first move.
The issue here is not about 10 cent or no more free plastic bag for the day.Originally posted by LH83:The whole idea of BYOB isn't to ban plastic bags... Its to bring awareness to environmental conservation, something that is seriously lacking in Singapore...
Just go one day without plastic bags won't kill you... but the amount saved from being thrown away might help save the environment...
The 10 cents for the plastic bags is also being used for conservation efforts, and not to line the pockets of the supermarkets...
Wats so hard about carrying around one plastic bag just to store things in the event you might need it? Not like its very heavy... Its quite sad to see all those kiasu aunties rushing for plastic bags at other stores like the entire Singapore's supply was running out... Pay 10 cents won't kill you either... These days, 10 cents can only net you a phone call anyway...
Wats the point of saving a measly 10 cents, while you live in a polluted environment? Saving 10 cents is more important than your own health and the health of your children?
Whats more irritating is seeing adults, working adults being measly about buying a plastic bag just so they can save 10 cents... For wat?? So you can buy your favourite drink from the vending machine?? Singaporeans are getting too pampered... Plastic bag not free, then just sit down and whine about it... You want extra bags, go buy one packet or something... and REUSE them...
10 cents also so miserly about it... Like its $1000 like that... damn
irritating..
1 mid 30s lady said "i'll never shop again on BYOB day, or maybe every wednesdays"Originally posted by Rock^Star:Just now saw an auntie on 630pm ch 8 news say,"I want to buy groceries of course must have plastic bags mah!!! Where got buy things we have to bring our own plastic bag one!??!" And then she gave a bulldog-like scowl.
The auntie and uncle in the street knows zilch about environmental protection. More education should be done first before implementation.
orh, now i understamd. cos you didnt say that earlier.Originally posted by allentyb:please lah
i am just trying to say that it is double standard
whether you want to reduce the usage of plastic bag
it is up to individual, and since they want to launch this campaign to raise awareness,when you have been providing plastic bag all along
why not, they should jolly well, just said that it is to raise fund for the environmentalist
wah kao, isn't this so easy to understand?
The donations received is forwarded for environmental related fundsOriginally posted by mamamamama:Perhaps they should donate the income earned from the sales of plastic bags to charitable organisations.
This way, if you really have to use a plastic bag, at least you know that your money goes to helping those in need. Not to those "already-filthy-rich" organisations.
how we know if it is going into pockets of another "TT DU"Originally posted by photo_seeker:The donations received is forwarded for environmental related funds
no plastic no talkOriginally posted by fire & ice:so have any of you reduced the use of plastic bags in you rhome? can you and your family get by with less plastic bags? share how!