Yah, i hate to part my money that way, thats why im calling for help..Originally posted by mystee:lucky lor... that time when i was working.. worst... one year, 5 bombs.. all hardly know each other.. but still i gave hongbaos... heart pain
Whether you go or not you knoe you still have to 'pao' red packet right?Originally posted by Maurince:Hey peeps, i need advise to give for not attending a colleague wedding..
As my relation with this colleague is not so close, cause im mostly at site
and she is from sales.. So we hardly interact.. Somemore this month abit
tight with my cashflow, got a buddy wedding coming up and going for a
diving vacation that month too.. Pls kindly advise what is the best way
to reject the invitation.. Thks..![]()
Heart? Im not so sure.. I mention i feel like im there to fill up table nia..Originally posted by butterNsugar:If u take her as ur colleague and not enemy den kindly please go since she had the heart to invite u to her all-important day.
U think she stupid meh? No matter how beautiful ur excuse is, she will noe its an excuse tat u are not giving her face, and u will feel awkward in the end also for a long while when seeing her at work. Furthermore its only $80, not $8000. $80 to show ur appreciation and well wishes isn't expensive at all. Other people in ur workplace, especially people in the sales side will start to have opinions about u if u dun go anyway. U can always spend less next month to make up for the losses.
Dun be so self-centered and selfish la. The way u tell us about her, about she is "from sales and u are on site" and "didn't interact much with her anyway" U just dun want to spend money on something tat u dun see any benefits right? Sometimes u have to give without expecting anything in return, even though she is useless to u and is less likely to help u anywhere. Its the thought tat counts. But if u still choose to be so materialistic den i have nothing to say.![]()
You just supported butternsugar's point about going only when there's benefit.Originally posted by Maurince:Heart? Im not so sure.. I mention i feel like im there to fill up table nia..
$80 is not much.. True, but i think i have better way of spending it..
Ermm, even i attend the dinner liew she wun be there to only interact with me
only lor..
Materialistic? Yes, i tink i am.. But i dont tink its the matter of materialistic..
Imagine your janitor invite you to her son's wedding.. Would you attend?
I know that is abit far off but im trying to say is i need a convincing reason to
reject her offer nia..
Hmm, did he/her mention anything about benefit? Maybe its not so much about benefit.. Its that i rather she invite a willing guest..Originally posted by airgrinder:You just supported butternsugar's point about going only when there's benefit.
Imagine today you're getting married. You invite a normal friend. He/She say what u said above. How will you feel?
On your point about the janitor, you're just plain looking down on them, to put them down in this way. Again it second butterNsugar's point. You will only go if there's benefit to yourself.
If today your CEO invite u to his wedding, will u attend?
what else do u expect from fiOriginally posted by Maurince:piangz, sad to see this advice from a senior forumite..
i kinda tell her i got a study group that day, but its like not
giving her face lor.. As studies can be postphone mah.. Haiz..
No. Its not a usual practise nor was it a necessity to provide gifts even if you are not-attending a dinner function.Originally posted by MamaRos:Another thing is, isn't it the usual practice for office colleagues to POOL their funds to buy a gift for a fellow colleague's wedding or birthday?