Obviously u DID NOT read my post carefully...I was discussing wif allentyb abt his view on "kill one to warn a hundred" approach and my more lenient approach i.e no jailing....but yes on probation and caning and stuff.Originally posted by Kenashi:u r so contradicting, u said stealing is serious, now u saying repeat offender is serious, but u don't think that assault is serious, so if he killed the bus driver by bashing him to death, he should oso not be jailed lah, since it is at most manslaughter not murder![]()
i know that u trying to argue with allen but when i find fault n loopholes in argument, i tend to poke my leg into itOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Obviously u DID NOT read my post carefully...I was discussing wif allentyb abt his view on "kill one to warn a hundred" approach and my more lenient approach i.e no jailing....but yes on probation and caning and stuff.
I shall state what I meant in all mi previous post here then.
Stealing and assualting are serious offence. What allen and I disagree on is he prefer a strict punishment that equal teens as adults in trials. This is to act as strong deterrent for other potential naughty students. What I prefer is to separate teens punishment and adults punishment because being an educator, I believe the teen should be given a chance to at least recieve education at his age...going into jail will kill all his chances of recieveing quality education later.
What I meant repeated offender are ppl who continuously break the law...then the kid needs more than mere probation.
This assualt incident is serious! But if he killed the driver in process, then he should be put into boys home and to be trial again when he is of age. DUN blow things out of proportion....the boy did not use weapons and chances of killing the bus driver is just like chances a man getting killed in a bar brawl, maybe even less. Stick to the case. The boy did not kill nor really badly injured the driver. This is just an assualt case so just stick to this case and lets not presume so much that the driver is killed or boy go on a mad killing spree....
Also, you misread my point and said that I should be impartial about punishing the kid even if he is related to me. What I said was, the forummers here were too harsh in their comments. If that kid concern is related to them, will the forummers still post such harsh comments in sg forum?? This is my point. I am not trying to say the police or judge to be lenient just because the offender concern is related to them. Read my post carefully please. allentyb did agree that he is grateful to the judge being lenient to his bro but not wif this kid cos he aint related to the kid at all. THIS IS WHAT ALLEN AND I WERE DISCUSING ABT.
And talking abt if mi child were to spray bulltes in the bus, come on that is a totally diff thing. Stick to the topic ok? If my kid were to do that, then he must be mentally unstable and have to be locked up by the police. But this is totally out of the point concern.
Last of all, if u do not read other ppl post carefully, then dun even think of using words like "contradicting". Do u even know what a contradiction mean?
Are u a trained logician or mathematician? If u are not and u wish to know more, drop me a pm and We can discuss more about logics and arguments in a very mathematical and rigourous manner.
Also be more polite to other forummers here in ur words unless u stated out loud u are crude and straight forward just like allentyb. That is something I have to admire abt him, not even an ounce of pretence in his post and utterly straightforward.
hanorOriginally posted by charlize:Damn.
This HC thread is giving the AC thread a run for its money.
ur sch elite sibor?Originally posted by Pitot:Want to act gungho infront of the girl la...
knn, last time in my sec sch, if we fight outside school, break the law outside school, we will either get suspended, Public canning or both.
The students will also be subjected to punishment by the law.
Looks like he is going to get "guidance"? wtf?
useless guy.
1st, ur comments to my post utterly deviate from what I want to say. So dun even claim u noe what I am trying to talking abt.Originally posted by Kenashi:i know that u trying to argue with allen but when i find fault n loopholes in argument, i tend to poke my leg into it :
contradicting is a english word not a math formula leh
ya ya ya, u know what u trying to say, but pls don't assume that others don't understand, just becos u can't express properly!Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:1st, ur comments to my post utterly deviate from what I want to say. So dun even claim u noe what I am trying to talking abt.
2ND, yes, contradiction is an english word but the meaning behind it cannot be rigourously define by any language be it english or chinese. Logics and math are the best tool so far developed to give a stringent defination of what a contradiction is.
Your post is more like attacking me rather because of my different point of view as urs. Hello, I din even attack other ppl in all my posting and u started to say my point of view on this incident is flawed?? Point of view is not equal to "statement" in mathematics which states a statement is either right or wrong. Now we are talking abt how we feel abt this incident and place our comment on how this kid should be punished...Hence no really a strictly right or wrong case, rather a difference in belief.
Of course free man , u are entitiled ur right to say watever u want ,but whether wat u said is of any significance or importance is another thing.
U obviously misread my point and duan zhang qu yi( twisting my words).
So everything that do not conform to ur beliefs are flawed and have loop holes?? That makes u a tryant and u still dare to claim freedom of speech....
Bye bye.
Originally posted by Kenashi:U dont need statistic in contradiction....do urself a favor by buying a book on logics and argument...I did not claim that u said from ur own words that I attack others.....I meant another thing...go back and read my post. This shows u never read my post and kept arguing like eddy current....in loops...making the same mistakes again and again. U cant even point out my weakness because what I have posted are personel thoughts and beliefs and u attacked mine obviously. Ur lack of understanding in logics and lousy power of persuation makes u not answering the correct qns at all. Ur lack of understanding in math makes u feel statistic is math....NO. stats is a level of science rank higher than math itself , follow by physics and finally to biology.
ya ya ya, u know what u trying to say, but pls don't assume that others don't understand, just becos u can't express properly!
??? math?? u want to apply percentage n figure into the word contraction huh!![]()
ppl tend to think i am attacking them when i am simply pointing out their weakness in their argument, if u can't accept that, u can choose to just watch n don't post lah.
when did i say that u attack others? i said that yr argument is flawed not yr point of view, pls get this right lah.
twisting words again? i kept hearing that from a liar in AA.
??? i find flaw in yr argument not what i believe in?? u don't understand what i am trying to express, that's yr problem not mine
who cares if u want to make me into a tyrant![]()
SMLJ?Originally posted by ditzy:Simon Dean, what have you done!!!!!?!?!![]()
of course guidance laOriginally posted by Pitot:Want to act gungho infront of the girl la...
knn, last time in my sec sch, if we fight outside school, break the law outside school, we will either get suspended, Public canning or both.
The students will also be subjected to punishment by the law.
Looks like he is going to get "guidance"? wtf?
useless guy.
same treatment? meaning what? jail? if jail maybe lor. how many years should he be given?Originally posted by gigabyte14:of course guidance la
teach him how to lick the right balls next time ma
no different than a gangster, gangsters also act macho infront of gfs ma
at least gangsters have dignity, will not let father kneel down
so what if he's an elite? they're humans too.
and he should receive the same treatment as other violent people.
ya jailOriginally posted by BusSpeeder:same treatment? meaning what? jail? if jail maybe lor. how many years should he be given?
see?Originally posted by Simon Dean:Eh, you all talk like its so easy to go boy's home.You have no clue.
and hes 17.So its RTC more likely or a hostel.
i doing u a favor by responding lah, logic n argument, i think i have plenty to play with since i read widelyOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:U dont need statistic in contradiction....do urself a favor by buying a book on logics and argument...I did not claim that u said from ur own words that I attack others.....I meant another thing...go back and read my post. This shows u never read my post and kept arguing like eddy current....in loops...making the same mistakes again and again. U cant even point out my weakness because what I have posted are personel thoughts and beliefs and u attacked mine obviously. Ur lack of understanding in logics and lousy power of persuation makes u not answering the correct qns at all. Ur lack of understanding in math makes u feel statistic is math....NO. stats is a level of science rank higher than math itself , follow by physics and finally to biology.
Do urself a favor by reading more. And u digress too much by even pulling in that wolf in AA. That is out of point. I can see that now we are both not sticking to topic so I will not debate anymore wif u. Ur repeated post to on this shows u actually care....u kiasu fellow...u dont want to lose...
In that case, u shall have the victory....yesh u most cleber and smart ... I ish a stupid man who noes nothing and all my points are invalid...Happy???
Originally posted by Kenashi:In science, a theory is a mathematical description, a logical explanation, or a proven model of the manner of interaction of a set of natural phenomena, capable of predicting future occurrences or observations of the same kind, and capable of being tested through experiment or otherwise falsified through empirical observation
i doing u a favor by responding lah, logic n argument, i think i have plenty to play with since i read widely
??? theory n personal thoughts r one n the same, how does one differentiate them?? just by the person who spoke it, if u deem that to be a theory is a theory, a thought is a thought??
more like u r not willing to accept others' opinion on yr theories hence u said that they r thoughts n complain that others have difficulties in understanding
[b]hello, i said both statistics n figures, not just statistics, yr logic in contradiction is flawed once u dragged math into the picture.
i just bored so i am having fun with poking holes in others theories, since u kept saying that yrs r personal thoughts so be it.
i am ks, so happy
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:sorry to tell u, i ain't an elite or a scholar!
In science, a theory is a mathematical description, a logical explanation, or a proven model of the manner of interaction of a set of natural phenomena, capable of predicting future occurrences or observations of the same kind, and capable of being tested through experiment or [b]otherwise falsified through empirical observation
An opinion is a person's ideas and thoughts towards something. It is an assessment, judgment or evaluation of something. An opinion is not a fact, because opinions are usually not falsifiable,i.e cannot be proven true or false.
In logic, a contradiction consists of a logical incompatibility between two or more propositions. It occurs when the propositions, taken together, yield two conclusions which form the logical inversions of each other.
Logic is not a branch of statistic and figures...
Logic investigates and classifies the structure of statements and arguments, both through the study of formal systems of inference and through the study of arguments in natural language.
Maybe a well read person like u have missed out trivial things like this...or maybe u understand all university graduate level math but "accidentally" 4 get to study fundamental of math.
To err is human ..that I understand Mr elite scholar....[/b]