Originally posted by dbowie:A 17-year-old student of one of Singapore's top JC allegedly punched a bus driver in the face during a quarrel on Wednesday.
The 53-Year-Old SBS Transit driver tried to stop the HCI student from leaving.
The teen's girlfriend, who is from another school, had been found to be using an invalid concession card.
The bus driver, who suffered minor bruises on his face, was given two days medical leave. He had lodged a police report against the student, and the police said they are still investigating.
SBS Transit said it is taking the matter seriously as the driver was assaulted in the course of his duty.
Ms Tammy Tan, SBS Transit's director of corporate communications, said the bus captain had acted accordingly to company procedures when he retained the concession card.
Bus captains, she said, are authorized to retain any concession card for investigation.
''Our bus captains have the right to work without fear of being attacked.We will seek redress for them through all available channels,'' She said.
The driver, Mr Wong Kok Leong, told TNP on Sunday that he never expected to be assaulted on the job in his 25 years of working.
Worse, he said, was being hit by someone younger than his own children, who are aged 18, 20 and 25.
Mr Wong said that on Wednesday afternoon, the student and his friend boarded his SBS bus No 170, opposite HCI, on Dunearn Rd.
The boy was in his school uniform but the girl was not.
The boy's friend tapped he wallet on the card reader,but it could not deduct the fare from the EZ-LINK card.
Instead, the card reader beeped continously.
Tired liao.. someone continue leh![]()
hmm..cud it be a standard operating procedure? cos they hafta do smth abt it?Originally posted by *=Optimus=*:one thing I dont understant is that why does HCJC treated that guy like a victim? with all the counseling crap?
Originally posted by BillyBong:what details, yrs is assumption whereas i got some facts to back me up
Evidently, you prefer to read a little into my post and then form your own conclusion, neglecting the details. If you must reference my use of 'manual-control', at least read my statement carefully before 'jumping the gun'. Each bus has an internal and external manual activation. Since the bus driver is so sure that the students will make a dash for it, why continue to remotely activate it?
By getting out of his seat and manually activating the door, he will have made his intentions clear to both. And this applies only for one bus stop, after which he waits for the inspector to arrive and 'offload' the errant students.
Alternatively, if he wants an air-tight senario, he can politely inform the passenger to wait for the inspector to arrive before he can de-bus, ensuring both students have nowhere to run.
What made you think i was implying that he manually opens and closes for every bus stop right up to the interchange?
[b]he asked the gal to hand over the card but the bf snatched it back, i think this warrant for suspicion, furthermore he already radio the HQ for advice yet the couple tried to flee, which make them more guilty.
Whether the above action constitutes guilt or innocence is your perspective, and not FACT. You seemed to have ignored my earlier post concerning the convenient habit of people 'picking up' the ez-link cards that others may have accidentally dropped and use as their own.
Is that considered petty thievery? Or products of opportunity? Are you so simplistic to pass judgement based on speculation? You seem to be firmly (blindly) on the driver's side before the student has a chance to officially defend himself, while basing your comments on press statements. By your own yardstick, are you not conveniently generalising?
Learn a little more about how people twist and turn when providing police statements, and where a reliable version of events counts more than what actually happened, before commenting. [/b]
even if he is convicted, he can still cry foul n we can find ppl like u who think he is innocent.Originally posted by BillyBong:This shows how people so easily believe press statements before actual sentencing. Before the person is actually convicted, he is already found guilty by a jury of his peers.
I recall an incident a few years back when a women accused a swimming instructor of 'molesting' her in a swimming complex. Because he was charged, his name and job description was published. He was subsequently acquitted, and even the judge said he had no case to answer to. Despite that, his reputation and job was already in tatters, all because the mob 'convicted' him based on a false accusation.
No one is disputing that the student deserves some punitive punishment for assault. But since none of us were physically at the scene, should we lynch him based on what others say?
As to the driver's actions, i believe he could have handled the situation better. And his outright confiscation would surely have infurated anyone, not just the student. Did he explain that the card may be 'illegal' before asking for it? Or did he explain this fact only after he had the card in hand? Would the student have beaten the driver if he had performed the former?
no choice mah, u make me laugh at yr stupidity n dumbnessOriginally posted by Skibi:Poor thing... have you been crying? I notice that you like to use the "laughing" emoticon alot. In fact, I have counted eight of them in this post alone. Sadness is a natural human emotion, there is no need to feel ashamed and hide behind a smiling face. Seriously if you didn't talk with your ass all the time, others won't be tempted to give it a kick.
do u expect him to say that he did that on purposeOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:He say he not purposely punch de..
where got law that state that only those above 18 can be sent to jail??Originally posted by BusSpeeder:so u want him to go to jail when he's actually UNDER 18? Y NOT U PROPOSE TO the government that they should change their laws to send them to jail above 16 and not above 18?
i am out of this thread till further notice.......................................Originally posted by gigabyte14:as usual, allen is debating again![]()
12 is considered a juvenile, u can't put 12 n 17 on equal termsOriginally posted by BusSpeeder:by saying he can be trialed as an adult, u might as well say that this HCI student is 12 years old and he should be trialed as an adult and EVEN IF HE'S 12 YEARS OLD, HE SHOULD GO TO JAIL. i know its possible that at his age, he can be. why not u propose to the government to call them to demolish the boys' home and reformative training centre. pple who break the law, even if he's only 9 years old, should go to jail to be trialed as an adult. stop saying kill one to warn 100. by killing one to warn 100 pple. u kill one so that u can lead them into a trap and the 100 will be killed.
i am late mahOriginally posted by allentyb:![]()
great still got people arguing over this matter
/me out of this threadOriginally posted by Kenashi:i am late mahn i enjoyed bashing some joker in the forum called skibi
that's my gd deed for the day
im just manipulating the ages so as to get the comments that allen will give to me.Originally posted by Kenashi:12 is considered a juvenile, u can't put 12 n 17 on equal terms
17 years old, still can't think for himself, can't differentiate what is right n wrong n he still go to HCI??
u must be kidding me![]()
i think others will comment on this one since this one beat up bus captain and the thing that u tell us now is worse off than the bus captain. rob and molested girls should be life imprisonment!Originally posted by yummyyummy:He will get away 1 la.... here we need 'talent'....it's proven like in car accident, lorry dviver go to jail...exercutive will get fine...........
remember last time a boy in top sch n jc who beaten, rob and molested girls.....got away with probation also.......cannot lose 'talent' u know here......he only got jail time after he did it again........
so the moral is......be a 'talent' study hard....n get away with it some how....
seem that way to me here................
apparently not..Originally posted by tokyofire:Good... end of stupid debate~
Who ask you to tap the machine, cannot take out and show the bus unker ah?Originally posted by SilverRevo:I wear Full Sch Uniform and yet the bus driver wanna see my ez card to prove I'm a student.
Some people might wanna pay with cash first, BUT have to tap ezlink to prove that they're student, end up they pay double fare.
There are some who will do all kinds of things to get a better deal, including dressing up as student.Originally posted by SilverRevo:By the way, unlucky me lost my ez link on the bus.
I only have these probs with SBS.
SMRT drivers acknowledges me as student Very easily.
If I'm wearing half u or home clothes, It's alright for me to pay adult fare.
But Full Sch Uniform, who the hell masquerade in sch u just to save less than a dollar per trip.
Next time go earlier lah.... why cut it so thin?Originally posted by SilverRevo:And one time, SBS skip a timeslot for the bus.
I had to take a later bus and be late for sch.
Well, it's their right to anyhow change their schedule mah.
See above points, leave earlier.Originally posted by SilverRevo:this mth, the bus went super slow up to 5mins more than the norm twice.
I mean, drive safe is okay, BUT not so slow that it differs from the norm for 5-10 mins.
The bus was obviously not accelerating properly.
EVERY other vehicle overtook us.
I was late for sch 2 times for this.
Too badOriginally posted by SilverRevo:TV mobile very noisy!
I don't turn my mp3 vol up so high, so I still can hear the tvmobile.
This is not bus company's fault right?Originally posted by SilverRevo:Sometimes it gets so freaking crowded, then ppl just don't have the initiative to move to the back.
Waste time.
Also not bus company's fault.Originally posted by SilverRevo:If you sit by the window and someone is next to you.
When you wanna get off, it's VERY difficult.
Most ppl I see, glue their butt to the seat and just give you 20-30 cm to pass thru.
Thank god I do see some people standing out to the aisle for ppl inside to exit with ease.
actually most of the problem is no really bus company's fault hor.Originally posted by SilverRevo:Some idiots, blast their mp3 or phones damn loud.
Inconsiderate to the max.
Some of them with earphones, blast so so so loud that I can hear thru my earphones.
Some ppl talk like they can't be heard.
Noisy people, can't even tone down.
Can hear them thru earphones.
So much to complain just about buses.
Singapore is such an ungracious society.
I totally agree with this statement.Originally posted by jacqn:nowadays people only focus on acacdemic performance, and neglect the importance of moral values. high grades so what? fail terribly in life..