Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Dont get a divorce.
Just ignore.
Divorce still must give her money. KNN
well...im having a picture of wads going on with ur problem...cos i jus happen to be the kid of a family like urs. My dad did not choose a divorce but my mom did. Dad was was a well off man but mom was an ambitious woman. For me at the point of time i reali hope they will divorce cos i tot they might be happy going on their own way. But after 15yr, now my mom is with a property tycoon and my dad got himslf a new family. so now sometimes when im with my dad a pubs drinking he will be complaing about his wife be lazy or blah blah...and sometimes when im at dinners with my mom she will be asking "hows ur dad doing? Your dad is a good man...if we ain't divorced things might be different now." I tik dirvoce doesn't solve the problem...and i also tik the main problem is not on the "money" issue. Its about understanding...and wad the topics u both talk abt? i hv my own family now and i always remind myslf not to follow my parents foot steps. i always keep my "actual savings amout" from my wife and i dun ask "baby how much are u making?" i always put it in a way that urs is urs ,mine is mine dun come over my line of fire. Besides that i will at least buy 2-3 gifts a month and she will as well. we try to keep the $$$ topic away unless if we reali have to talk abt it. I wld prefer to talk more to her abt " baby where shld we go for short holidays?", "baby y dun we go for makeover photo shoots to keep more memories?"...well i mean besides $$$ topic have u tried to reali find besides $$$ wad is she intrested? cos i strongly believe for every money loving person they lov $$$ because they are going to use it on something the reali like to do in life. Have u found out that abt ur wife?Originally posted by letgostress:Thanks for your concern.
I did propose to give her $100k to invest whatever way she wants, but she deny.
We do have private bankers from some big banks. After talking to them, I realise their competencies in wealth management is very superficial. No offence, how can I trust a 'fresh graduates' or young rookie to manage my wealth. Most of the time, they cannot answer my query about investment.
Ok, I think this is my problem that I have to manage myself.
Thanks.
This is the single, most sincere and truthful response I've read in the entire thread (and in my limited wanderings around sgForums).Originally posted by racingmafia:well...im having a picture of wads going on with ur problem...cos i jus happen to be the kid of a family like urs. My dad did not choose a divorce but my mom did. Dad was was a well off man but mom was an ambitious woman. For me at the point of time i reali hope they wioll divorce cos i tot they might be happy going on their own way. But after 15yr, now my mom is with a property tycoon and my dad got himslf a new family. so now when sometimes when im with my dad a pubs drinking he will be complaing about his wife be lazy or blah blah...and sometimes when im at dinners with my mom she will be ask "hows ur dad doing? Your dad is a good man...if we ain't divorced things might be different now." I tik dirvoce doesn't solve the problem...and i also tik the main problem is not on the "money" issue. Its about understanding...and wad the topics u both talk abt? i hv my own family now and i always remind myslf not to follow my parents foot steps. i always keep my "actual savings amout" from my wife and i dun ask "baby how much are u making?" i always put it in away that urs is urs ,mine is mine dun come over my line of fire. Besides that i will at least buy 2-3 gifts a month and she will as well. we try to keep the $$$ topic away unless if we reali have to talk abt it. I wld prefer to talk more to her abt " baby where shld we go for short holidays?", "baby y dun we go for makeover photo shoots to keeps more memories?"...well i mean besides $$$ topic have u tried to reali find besides $$$ wad is she intrested? cos i strongly believe for every money loving person they lov $$$ because they are going to use it on something the reali like to do in life. Have u found out that abt ur wife?

My private banker is a Senior Manager. I am a value investor, I don't short stocks. Really appreciate your concern. CheersOriginally posted by rmyfrm:I understand your concerns. Citigold is a fine example of choosing young and beautiful relationship managers to be the public face of that division.
But don't forget also that the banks don't just hire anyone; usually only the most competent of the graduating cohort gets employed, and of that entire batch that enters the firm on orientation day ... only a few get chosen to be at the frontline, especially for the premium divisions like Citigold where your assets/investments have to be *cough*.
If they cannot answer your questions, I think they usually call their supervising manager (usually a VP) in ... and he should be able to clear all your concerns and queries. As far as I'm aware, the PS citigold branch always has a senior r'ship manager on standby incase "young and beautiful" does not render satisfactory assistance; besides, you get free parking at PS too!(paragon branch as well)
Of course, you cannot expect them to answer questions like "do you think I should short sell (insert currency) now?"; their job is only to advise, and beyond that, it's your call and your call only. No bank will provide that kind of service, only p.bankers.
Anyway good luck! If you really need to let off steam you could always punch her in the face and then say you're sorry![]()
Thanks for giving me insight about how my kid will experience.Originally posted by racingmafia:well...im having a picture of wads going on with ur problem...cos i jus happen to be the kid of a family like urs. My dad did not choose a divorce but my mom did. Dad was was a well off man but mom was an ambitious woman. For me at the point of time i reali hope they will divorce cos i tot they might be happy going on their own way. But after 15yr, now my mom is with a property tycoon and my dad got himslf a new family. so now sometimes when im with my dad a pubs drinking he will be complaing about his wife be lazy or blah blah...and sometimes when im at dinners with my mom she will be asking "hows ur dad doing? Your dad is a good man...if we ain't divorced things might be different now." I tik dirvoce doesn't solve the problem...and i also tik the main problem is not on the "money" issue. Its about understanding...and wad the topics u both talk abt? i hv my own family now and i always remind myslf not to follow my parents foot steps. i always keep my "actual savings amout" from my wife and i dun ask "baby how much are u making?" i always put it in a way that urs is urs ,mine is mine dun come over my line of fire. Besides that i will at least buy 2-3 gifts a month and she will as well. we try to keep the $$$ topic away unless if we reali have to talk abt it. I wld prefer to talk more to her abt " baby where shld we go for short holidays?", "baby y dun we go for makeover photo shoots to keep more memories?"...well i mean besides $$$ topic have u tried to reali find besides $$$ wad is she intrested? cos i strongly believe for every money loving person they lov $$$ because they are going to use it on something the reali like to do in life. Have u found out that abt ur wife?
Thanks curryman for standing at my side.Originally posted by curryman:Boys and girls....this shows that money cant make pple happy.
Lets just hope Letgostress can solve his problems.
Thanks for your honesty and taking your time to drop a few words here.Originally posted by passerbyJIA:Letgostress,
I think you need to seek help, especially, from a psycho therapist. All I sense is you want us to black mouth your wife whom deserves to be deserted or at least silenced, if she is who you tell us she is.
I am sure most of her friends are not as better off as she is and she jolly well should know your family is probably the best 0.1% of the Singapore population. Common sense tells me that she should be very proud of you instead of being a source of stress. I think, therefore, you are the problem. Excuse my blunt and candid comment.
The only part worth a look is the last paragraph. The other 5 are irrelevantOriginally posted by FocusPoint:Gosh! Compare your wife's characters to mine are miles apart.
My wife is the thrifty one. Prefer to have prudent investment while I like to dabble in stock market. Hardly spend anything on herself. I gave her a substantial allowance and she save a large portion of it and yet have enough left to take care of the household bills efficiently and even have food on the table.
Is happy with our lifestyle staying in four room HDB in Bishan with our two boys and have no intention of thinking to shift to a bigger apartment. She said no need condo facilities since we also have a club membership. We have two cars though. Mine is the new Lexus while she is driving a three and a half year old Camry. We also have a condo in Serangoon area that was leased out. The rental I got from the rent I turned it over to her and as expected straight goes into the bank account for our two boys' future education.
Best of all my wife don't nag me about being 'poor' or unambitious(The word 'poor' is very relative. Largely depends on how you perceive it) other than nagging me for not spending weekend with my mother. Not that I don't love my mother just being lazylah. Like to nuah at home or play 'mahjong'
All in all I am very satisfied with my wife's behavior and character. No unnecessary stress from her to me.
Should you divorce your wife? I don't think so but it is best to talk to her before things get blown out of proportion. If she refuse to listen well, I suggest you 'lun' if you can take it otherwise...oh well,![]()
well i wld say the problems lies with both of them for not having enough time to understand each other...when most of the couples got in to relationship b4 marrying they are like metal being welded together its hard to seprate them.Originally posted by passerbyJIA:Letgostress,
I think you need to seek help, especially, from a psycho therapist. All I sense is you want us to black mouth your wife whom deserves to be deserted or at least silenced, if she is who you tell us she is.
I am sure most of her friends are not as better off as she is and she jolly well should know your family is probably the best 0.1% of the Singapore population. Common sense tells me that she should be very proud of you instead of being a source of stress. I think, therefore, you are the problem. Excuse my blunt and candid comment.
from what i read, make it 99.999% lifesteal.Originally posted by shade343:No wonder he feels very tired, the wife got 60% lifesteal.![]()
That's exactly what she wants. In a divorce, the wife gets at least half + wife and child support. That's the biggest gift he can give...Originally posted by FireIce:divorce?
when ppl are poor.. they will b easily content. i hope u get wat i mean.Originally posted by letgostress:You see, I am late 30s with a kid. I own a freehold condo opposite east coast and a new car fully paid up. I also own some stocks, FD, foreign currency and cash of about half a million dollar. Both me and my wife work, but I never touch my salary because I don't need to.
We have zero liability. I thought I suppose to be happy, but I am not. My wife keep nagging me whenever we pass by en-block sale apartments that I should have bought more properties. Whenever newspaper features property price increase, she will complain that I should have bought one. Almost everyday, she complains that I am poor. Stock market bull, she also blame me that I did not invest more. I am really stress out by her. You see, if I can predict future, I will be richer then Bill Gate. I believe in prudent investment and never follow the crowd. But she prefer speculation, and always put all the blame on me for not doing enough. She will take all the credit when things turn out well.
I am stress just looking at her!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wat should I do?