Ain't the last two, that is, writing skills and analytic ability, needed for Eng Lit as well?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Wrong.Literature and GP require different skill sets.
If you are not well-read about current affairs, lacking in writing skills, or generally not analytical enough, you might not do well for GP.
I did, and it's somewhat different. One may do badly in GP because it is more systemic than Lit. Anyway, our syllabus then, and now, is vastly different.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Ain't the last two, that is, writing skills and analytic ability, needed for Eng Lit as well?
Paiseh, never took Lit at A levels.![]()
You don't need to decide then. Just choose something you like and can more or less excel in it.Originally posted by Rock^Star:It's just not right to class young Singaporeans in such an unfair way. A student's path is decided right from the time he chooses his subjects combination in Sec 2. How would a 14 year old kid know what he/she wants in life?
pls lah he is a man not auntieOriginally posted by Deino:this auntie is too much...she expects too much and now look at wot she gets....please lah dun pressure your own daughter....let her choose her path...dun brag about wot happen...everything happens with a cause....
NUS is ranked 18 ANU is ranked 16..not as bad as u think.....Originally posted by Mewlove:Ok Im from the dragon year applying to university this year.
I got ACD - A for maths , C for Physics and D for Chemistry and I was rejected by all the universities.
I chose subjects in NUS some of which are - Arts and social science, industrial design, computing, computer engineering, materials science, chem eng... But all of them are rejected.
I chose these courses in NTU --- Arts design media, materials science, computer science... But all are rejected as well.
I didnt apply to SMU because I was sure I wouldnt be able to get in due to the high demand in its business courses (and I was right - My friend with ABC couldnt get in either).
So now what? Spend tens and thousands on overseas university? Dun say ABE is bad. It "might" not be above average but it definitely is average and surely not below average. My results can get me into Australia National University accountancy, computing, software engineering courses... ranked at least 30-40 ranks higher than NUS in the International university ranking in the world. And the professor whom I talked to told me my results were quite good. Quite good to Australia's top university, not considerable to NUS or even NTU... Seriously???
Seems their cut off point for NUS is ABC or lowest ACC and C for GP and NTU cut off point is ACC.
News in Straits time mentioned that a girl who wasnt even accepted in NUS accountancy was accepted in UK for Law... Cant use CPF for payment, even banks wouldnt even allow her to take a loan to study there. Something is seriously wrong with Singapore's education system. Only limited people mostly tip of the top students get into the course they really want.
The circumstance now is like saying there are too many people trying to get a job and thus let people with a degree do factory work and diplomas sweeping the floors and those from ITE have no job at all. And if someone complaints that people from ITE are above average and should get a job, are you going to rebutt them and say ITE where got above average? And so he shouldnt have a chance for a job? So what happens to those from O levels? People with talents are greatly misplaced! And Singapore have no idea why their talents are all flowing overseas and losing local talent... Seriously...
Originally posted by Mewlove:And the professor whom I talked to told me my results were quite good.
im a foreign student actuallyOriginally posted by kristovorus:dun forget that in some places its actually easier for foreign students to enter the university as compared to local students because a certain number of spaces had been set aside for foreign students which are not really in demand. i know for a fact its easier for singaporeans to get into bei da and qing da in beijing becoz we know chinese, an added bonus
er... Ur grades.. definately cant go into Arts media and design.. Btw, ur grades are as good as a BCC, which is not veri good btw..Originally posted by Mewlove:Ok Im from the dragon year applying to university this year.
I got ACD - A for maths , C for Physics and D for Chemistry and I was rejected by all the universities.
I chose subjects in NUS some of which are - Arts and social science, industrial design, computing, computer engineering, materials science, chem eng... But all of them are rejected.
I chose these courses in NTU --- Arts design media, materials science, computer science... But all are rejected as well.
I didnt apply to SMU because I was sure I wouldnt be able to get in due to the high demand in its business courses (and I was right - My friend with ABC couldnt get in either).
dude cool down,Originally posted by Mewlove:Yeah... All you could probably be right. MAYBE NUS will take over ANU, MAYBE the professor really just does not want to break my heart, MAYBE ANU is not as good as NUS in some sectors, MAYBE some things I said may not be true in the future... But what you cant deny is that:
1: They have a guide (cut off point) of those applying (ALL STUDENTS including their own local students) and I am qualified to enter about half of the courses there but for courses like law and medicine or pharmacy, their required grades are at least AAB and ABB correspondently. Hence its not about being easier to enter due to the 10% statistics. You have to meet the requirements. Their 10% could well be those who meet the cut off of the australians have to compete to enter and at the 10% mark, the rest will be cut off. If the requirements are not met, the numbers could well be less than 10%. And being higher rank because it has longer history is not in the calculations in the THES system I presumed you used as a guide.
2: This year is really competitive even if the officials thinks otherwise. There is something wrong that Singaporeans who are offered a place in law in UK university not allowed even in Accountancy in Singapore. Lets take her results to be ABB since her mother says she got A's and B's. She cant even get into accountancy? But is able to get in law in UK university? No matter how flexible the system of the university is, there should not be a university in UK that allows people with crap or even ordinary results to get into a highly sought after course like Law, but she was offered a place.
By the way, curryman, your friend cant get into engineering with 3A's and 1B for engineering course? What engineering course did he apply for? Local universities only calculate the admission score with 3 GCE 'A' levels, but with another one is only an advantage with 'S' paper is an even added advantage. Means your friend has a perfect score?
Im from a mid tier JC and this year there were more than 200 students with AAAs. Now ABE will not be considered an average anymore would that? Things change every year.Originally posted by motoway:U reali live up to ur name don't you?![]()
Thats not true. Med school accepts students with 3As as well. The fact is almost all the students accepted into Med school have 3As at least. Prolly the same for those shortlisted for interviews. NUS Med school will not reveal why we didnt make it into med school. Simply put, it is more likely that he didnt do well for his essay and interview.Originally posted by fudgester:Then in that case, I would say that her Geog and GP messed up her chances of getting in.
It sucks, but at the end of the day there are still too many people fighting for limited places. As much as I would like to say that grades are not necessarily a perfect measure of a person's skills, ceteris paribus, a person with better grades would still be given higher priority over one with lower grades.
Hell, as I've mentioned before, a friend of mine who got AAAB couldn't get into NUS Faculty of Medicine because of that single B he got for Biology. As a result, he was forced to give up his childhood dreams of becoming a doctor couldn't afford to go overseas for his studies.
eh.. I from badge last yr.. My sch is AJC.. and btw HCJC 3 in 4 ppl get 3 As and above..Originally posted by Ashearo:Im from a mid tier JC and this year there were more than 200 students with AAAs. Now ABE will not be considered an average anymore would that? Things change every year.
There's an entrance test and portfolio submission involved as well.Originally posted by motoway:er... Ur grades.. definately cant go into Arts media and design..
3As B3..Originally posted by 798:motoway, wat grades u got for entering nbs?
ya ya correct forget to say also.. I tink if u are veri talented but ur grades so so maybe they will let u in on a case to case basis..Originally posted by Kuali Baba:There's an entrance test and portfolio submission involved as well.