Life ain't about grades.Originally posted by yellowtofuwarrior:Auntie....your daughter's grades really suck. She either didnt put in the effort or she is naturally stupid but with a big ego like you. She being a Dragon baby should have realised long ago that competition is tough, not to mention Singapore's Education system is stringent.
Auntie. Your son honestly speaking ain't too bright either. With a second class honours in arts and social sciences, do you really think he'll get far in life? Ok maybe he's good in other things or charismatic, but with that kind of grades he can't go far.
Auntie. Sorry to burst your bubble, but your kids are dumb. Please wake up and get a reality check ok?
Take care Auntie : )
to the auntie, her child grade is above avg leh. hmm... then my friend with 4 As is super above avg liao lor.Originally posted by ctstalin:ABE above avg meh?![]()
Hmm, GP A1, MT A2, and AAE. I would consider that above average.Originally posted by coolgeek84:I know of people who got C C D and got into Unis.. So most likely its that E. And how can any student be considered above average if he/she has a E in her A Level cert?
And yes, the auntie got it wrong in the sense that grades aren't everything. I just graduated from NTU, and I am getting quite a fair bit of interviews because of my leadership roles in CCA (was president for some society in ntu for 2yrs).
Blah.. Poor auntie is just a bit worked up that her daughter didn't get in to a uni. =)
Fair competition...let the best students get in. With an 'E', the student would be better off repeating her A levels again. She might be able to get in 20 years ago with ABE. Nowadays student get far better grades at A levels. Surprised the father would dare publicize his daughter's grades....an 'E' is nothing to be proud of.Originally posted by laoda99:If she has got ABD mebbe she will get in
The E is to be blamed
U reali live up to ur name don't you?Originally posted by pah-jiao:ABE is definitely an above average grade in terms of the cohorts performance NOT admission average. It is at least a grade that would ensure u a place in U in other years.
So all u cock-heads who believe tat the girl is stupid ought to be shot dead and bleed profusely to death.... u guys have NO freaking idea about the A level average grades.
Though i do believe that in branded or more established colleges, ABE is like extremely mediocre, it fares rather well in mid-tier colleges, and needless to say, tail-end colleges.
In fact, in school likes NY and CJ, such grades are considerably praise-worthy.
However, the dad consoled by the fact that even my friend, who has ABD, is declined a place in all three institutes....
The number of applicants for medicine with three As for exceed the number of places availableOriginally posted by CoolMyth:Maybe the person applied for law or medicine?![]()
39% of applicants in SMU have AAB or better. What chance is there for ABE? The (E)lephant in the room cannot be ignored. There are limited places and they should go to the better persn.Originally posted by sir sickolot II:AAE, A1 and A2... i think one can get into a course which requires perhaps a stronger command of linguistic skills?
Personally I feel that's just slightly above average score. Then again, there are alot of people getting B's and C's at A levels. Nothing new. Just have to live with what life throws at ya.
My advice to the ABE gal... try applying next year. should be a better chance of getting in. Meantime one can work to gain some money to finance her education and some very good work exp.
Then in that case, I would say that her Geog and GP messed up her chances of getting in.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Today's ST further elaborate on her case.
A in Eng Lit
B in Economics
E in Geography
C in General Paper
Not retaking because it will be new syllabus, not the old syllabus she studied under.
Applied for NUS/NTU/SMU's arts and social science but rejected.
Too lazy to type out everything.![]()
Agreed, but............Originally posted by LazerLordz:Life ain't about grades.
My A-level grades would be deemed as lousy and skinned alive today, but I still get to regularly attend policy focus groups and international academic conferences, and present papers.
Are grades everything? Nada.
One thing I wondered is how did she get a C for GP when she can get an A for Lit? Aren't people who are good in Lit naturally good in GP?Originally posted by fudgester:Then in that case, I would say that her Geog and GP messed up her chances of getting in.
dun out of topic leh.. of coz we noe grades are not everything.. but the unker like to KPKB to the newspaper so we fan the flames lar..Originally posted by frederikan:life isn't about grades. although grades can get u somewhere but the place of interest where one desires to go to is what's more important i guess.
passion will give one the desire to study hard and do well for the subjects.
if no passion to even live one's life, don't even borther studying lor. study for wad?? go be hawker earn lots of money also mah...
eh, hawker can drive mercedes lehz..![]()
there is nothing wrong with asking your kid to be the best...but expecting too much from someone is wrong...there are two kinds of people in this world who become more well to do or rich after a bad life.....Originally posted by CSM:got anything wrong with asking ur kid to be the best meh?
maybe the auntie last time dont have good life mah..
Wrong.Literature and GP require different skill sets.Originally posted by CoolMyth:One thing I wondered is how did she get a C for GP when she can get an A for Lit? Aren't people who are good in Lit naturally good in GP?It's all about writing what.