I think this is debatable againOriginally posted by ShutterBug:If that is the case, then I say we blame it on the Education System for instilling ZERO values in the recent grandparents of Singapore.
Because the older generations who are less educated or illterate, can think clearer and possess better sense of values...!
Yes - you want the subservient ones?Originally posted by jianfish9:My friend always say that Sg girls is "Gua Qi Lai Mai". Which I find sorta true.
Whenever I travel to countries like China, Vietnam or even Malaysia, I find the girls there more approachable and possess more "wifey" qualities. Sure, they don't earn nearly as much but then if I wanted to find a partner becoz of their pay-cheque then a gay partner would be better.
In SG, the girls are " Don't approach me unless you are here to give me a LV bag and driving me home in that big car of yours." and/or "I don't cook for you, wash your clothes or look after you coz I am so busy earning my $$$."
Well, being independent and financially stable is all well and great for me but some having "wifey" qualities is even better.
I am not saying Sg women are totally lousy wives but then if you do travel abit around the region you know what I am saying when I make the comparison.
Still, I do hope to find a Sg gal as my wife in future.
Not all grandparents want to look after grandkids. This is a sweeping statement.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Really, which parents in this world will say NO to looking after their own grandchildren?
It is not easy to live with in-laws. Not all in-laws want to live with kids. It all depends.Originally posted by ShutterBug:And whether the parents lives with them or not, is a matter of 'asking', or wanting them to. IF they ask or insists, the parents will gladly do so. Problem is, I see that most young couples want to prove something - whether they can make it on their own...
It's good if they can, but will be hell for the children when they cannot and get screwed up financially and professionally..
Hokkien says; "Kiang chu ho... mai kay-kiang.."
Translation: If you are smart, good for you. But if you pretend to be, good luck.
Spinsugar deserves some cookies for being 100% correct.......... Sadly it's true.Originally posted by spinsugar:Hmm. OK here's my take.
Many SG guys I know want to act and spend like rich men, a, even if they are not rich or capable. They crave status and recognition from their peers/family, are typically arrogant and their material goals outnumber their non-material goals. Their views on the roles of male and female tend to be very rigid and old-fashioned. They can be very shallow, and overly concerned about how their partner's appearance / status will affect their own image. These sorts of men want their girl to look good at all times, yet they themselves don't bother to dress up, and their all-whine-no-action tendencies make them very unattractive. They can also get picky about a girl's body size and shape.. they enjoy passing judgement and trading bitchy tidbits on how this girl or that girl looks, even if they aren't very good looking themselves! It's almost a hobby for them. Face and body-wise, they like the typical "kawaii xiao mei mei" types (so cute) as opposed to the womanly type (their usual comment : ee-yer / dunno leh). They are slow to grow up and indecisive. They may even have lower libido than their girl because of their work stress. As a fellow forumer said here, they make good husbands, bad lovers.
Yet on the other end, many young SG girls I know want to act like princesses, and be wooed, lavished upon with gifts their bfs can't afford, and demand princess treatment, even if they themselves don't actually have much to show for. They are pampered, think they're very smart (regardless of whether they really are or not) and their goals can be shockingly material based even though they claim otherwise. They want the best of both worlds - rich boyfriend who can provide for them, make time for them in their busy schedule, but must also be sensitive, caring, funny, tall (not necessarily handsome), popular, charming, witty, intelligent, atheletic............ u get the picture. They are a big mystery - one moment they dream of being taitais and be "taken care of" by their man, the next moment they want to be strong career women types and decide that that nice unsuspecting guy opening the door for them is trying to be a chauvanistic b*stard. The poor guy who's trying to woo them is left confused, angry and eventually gives up because he thinks she's too hard to please. The thing is she can't decide what she wants and doesn't understand that she has to be clear-cut with guys. Good wives eventually, but bad girlfriends to start with.
Of course there are many expections to the above, too, but alas they often slip past the radar because many people tend to look in the wrong places for love...![]()
/bows before spinsugarOriginally posted by spinsugar:Hmm. OK here's my take.
Many SG guys I know want to act and spend like rich men, a, even if they are not rich or capable. They crave status and recognition from their peers/family, are typically arrogant and their material goals outnumber their non-material goals. Their views on the roles of male and female tend to be very rigid and old-fashioned. They can be very shallow, and overly concerned about how their partner's appearance / status will affect their own image. These sorts of men want their girl to look good at all times, yet they themselves don't bother to dress up, and their all-whine-no-action tendencies make them very unattractive. They can also get picky about a girl's body size and shape.. they enjoy passing judgement and trading bitchy tidbits on how this girl or that girl looks, even if they aren't very good looking themselves! It's almost a hobby for them. Face and body-wise, they like the typical "kawaii xiao mei mei" types (so cute) as opposed to the womanly type (their usual comment : ee-yer / dunno leh). They are slow to grow up and indecisive. They may even have lower libido than their girl because of their work stress. As a fellow forumer said here, they make good husbands, bad lovers.
Yet on the other end, many young SG girls I know want to act like princesses, and be wooed, lavished upon with gifts their bfs can't afford, and demand princess treatment, even if they themselves don't actually have much to show for. They are pampered, think they're very smart (regardless of whether they really are or not) and their goals can be shockingly material based even though they claim otherwise. They want the best of both worlds - rich boyfriend who can provide for them, make time for them in their busy schedule, but must also be sensitive, caring, funny, tall (not necessarily handsome), popular, charming, witty, intelligent, atheletic............ u get the picture. They are a big mystery - one moment they dream of being taitais and be "taken care of" by their man, the next moment they want to be strong career women types and decide that that nice unsuspecting guy opening the door for them is trying to be a chauvanistic b*stard. The poor guy who's trying to woo them is left confused, angry and eventually gives up because he thinks she's too hard to please. The thing is she can't decide what she wants and doesn't understand that she has to be clear-cut with guys. Good wives eventually, but bad girlfriends to start with.
Of course there are many expections to the above, too, but alas they often slip past the radar because many people tend to look in the wrong places for love...![]()
problem is are you up to their standard or not?..Originally posted by SpecOps87:I think I wanna find a Jap or Korean girl...if not a Taiwanese girl also not bad. Local girls...good as friends but the problems lies with the fact that their hearts tend to wander.
Originally posted by Rika Ishikawa:Actually we guys should be proud of oursleves. we no longer the MCP as wat the gals use to claim. we r the sensitive new age guys just that the gal take it 4 granted. (Just like my gf). Those foreigner alway have gd opinion on sg guys.
compare sg guys to most asia country like japan china korea taiwan hong kong. we consider the best lover and faithful to our pattern. So sg guys dun be dishearted from wat the eye stuck on the head girl said, sg guys r demanded around the world.
hello, TS, it takes 2 to clap OK!!! Don't just look and talk about the Singapore women.Originally posted by Tizi Melissa Othman:Are Singapore women too picky or too career minded that Singapore men are scared that they search for foreign wives?
POWER TO THE SG GUYS! WOOHOO!Originally posted by Rika Ishikawa:Actually we guys should be proud of oursleves. we no longer the MCP as wat the gals use to claim. we r the sensitive new age guys just that the gal take it 4 granted. (Just like my gf). Those foreigner alway have gd opinion on sg guys.
compare sg guys to most asia country like japan china korea taiwan hong kong. we consider the best lover and faithful to our pattern. So sg guys dun be dishearted from wat the eye stuck on the head girl said, sg guys r demanded around the world.
SGguys CMI!!!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by cApitaland:POWER TO THE SG GUYS! WOOHOO!![]()