Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:A lot of students at my school in my year and the year below me (sec 4 and 3) usually go clubbing on friday nights and some of the teachers have been listening in to our conversations about it and maybe have even received reports from outside sources about it as well. Now, some of the teachers have decided to hang around the club frequented by the students from our school to catch them in the act and get them in trouble. I think this is totally unfair because what a student does outside of school is none of the school's business and they shouldn't interfere with students' private lives and this kind of 'spying' is a major breach of privacy. I know that engaging in activities such as clubbing, drinking and smoking at this age is against the law but that should be the parents' concern not the school's. Please post comments or thoughts on the matter thanks.
Those are the worse kind of people around.Teachers are not baby-sitters and it is a shame when parents start to think that way.We assume that Children would be learning basic discipline and common sense at home first.We are always ready to lend a helping hand in educating but to carry the s-h-i-t load for Irresponsible parents who were once also spoilt brat themselves is not fair.Originally posted by baby hunter:isnt it happen offen as today, alot of parent start to blame the teacher & school for not doing the gd job to guide & teach their children.....
teacher & the school are under more pressure as b4...so, I understand y certain teachers & the school for doing that....
lol..i think the teachers shldnt do such things lor..it's none of their business on wad their students do when their students are not in their uniform..Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:A lot of students at my school in my year and the year below me (sec 4 and 3) usually go clubbing on friday nights and some of the teachers have been listening in to our conversations about it and maybe have even received reports from outside sources about it as well. Now, some of the teachers have decided to hang around the club frequented by the students from our school to catch them in the act and get them in trouble. I think this is totally unfair because what a student does outside of school is none of the school's business and they shouldn't interfere with students' private lives and this kind of 'spying' is a major breach of privacy. I know that engaging in activities such as clubbing, drinking and smoking at this age is against the law but that should be the parents' concern not the school's. Please post comments or thoughts on the matter thanks.
well its best to be cautious and stop it. in the time to come, more stricter rules will apply, same goes for the law. more people will most likely be caught for it, and its a severe offence. its best you stop doing it, because it brings dire consequences.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:well thanks for the advice but I can sure you the likelihood of that happening is indeed slim. the students who are now of legal age have been doing this for many years before they were 18 and this goes on a lot not only with the students from my school but with those from others. i've met a lot of students from other school at clubs who are underaged and i'm friends with quite a number of them
you shouldn't bother about them, they want to do it, their problem,not your business, don't do it yourself. if you can, call them to stop.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:i'm relating this to australia as i study in the australian international school and the majority of my friends are australian. australia does have the rule but many teens ignore it and do it anyways. im sure this isnt the case with australians alone as i know a lot of people from the british international school and french school who do the same
Originally posted by sirAdrian:don't you bother to read? the teachers overheard what jon was saying
wah only sec 3 and 4 club liao ah......Sti|| got sparKs meh??? tat allows kids to go in? I though closed down super long ago. Reopen again??
I dun think teacher is tt hard working 2 follow u all to those kind of places and try to peach to u tat going such places. This will happen in dramas.
[b]Ur teachers may happen to be there. and u suany met them, than at sch00l punish u all.
If u are the teacher will u follow ur student to the place student go just to get them punish? They have their own life 2.
the teachers overheard his conversation with someone.Originally posted by cApitaland:i gt the impression that ts is small kid tryin act like grown up liao. tink dat clubbin makes you more mature etc.. unless realli wan enjoy urself la.
aniways de teacher i tink is in the right. who ask you so obvious on siren tell teacher wan go club lol.
nobody outtalk you, i found a flaw in your saying so i shall say this. please prove this, is getting caught by teachers and being up for disciplinary action BETTER THAN BEING CAUGHT BY THE BOUNCER AND BEING ARRESTED AND MOST LIKELY PAYING A FINE/GOING TO JAIL AND HAVE A POLICE RECORD?Originally posted by DrAlienology:true, but camping outside the club just to catch students and get them into trouble. is that really concerning for the kids?
well, he understand, but speaks in a wrong way.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:FINALLY someone who understands
See, we DID give you opinions.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Ah good question...why follow the majority?
Aren't our deeds dictated by what society deems as the orthodox and tradition? Same applies to schools, the majority of people doing it makes it normal and acceptable (maybe not among adults but to us it is).
I'm not asking for advice here, if I were this would be in Aunt Agony, I'm asking on your opinion on whether teachers have the right to investigate into the personal lives of students. I'm not looking for sympathy, I'm looking for empathy.
well, he did ask for empathy AND sympathyOriginally posted by Xephone_xenon:See, we DID give you opinions.
Its just that the opinion we gave you is not what you wanted.
You made this thread, in hopes of people agreeing with your ideas and opinions.
Admit it.
Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Felt a need to reply to the words in bold.
[b]Ah good question...why follow the majority?
Aren't our deeds dictated by what society deems as the orthodox and tradition? Same applies to schools, the majority of people doing it makes it normal and acceptable (maybe not among adults but to us it is).
I'm not asking for advice here, if I were this would be in Aunt Agony, I'm asking on your opinion on whether teachers have the right to investigate into the personal lives of students. I'm not looking for sympathy, I'm looking for empathy.[/b]
agreed. he has overreacted, but you should not say that not majority of the sg kids which are aged between 15-16 goes to clubs,drinks and smokes, you NEVER know.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Felt a need to reply to the words in bold.
Yep, you are right, our deeds are dictated bywhat society deems as the orthodox and tradition.
But please stop spamming the word majority if you do not have evidence.
I dont think majority of the sg kids aged between 15~16 go to clubs ,drink and smokes. Get your facts right.
Please do not judge the overall sg society just by looking at the friends around you. Please.
And this is SG. Not some kind of europe country.
I did not.Originally posted by BusSpeeder:agreed. he has overreacted, but you should not say that majority of the sg kids which are aged between 15-16 goes to clubs,drinks and smokes, you NEVER know.
Ok I should rephrase then, the majority of kids NOT IN SG drink and smoke. And yes I used the word majority again coz that's what I gather from my own knowledge. It's the same with everyone, everyone's opinion is derived from their personal knowledge or understanding of something, not from a whole bunch of graphs and statistics. And, unless you're part of the 15~16 year olds you wouldn't know as much about it as someone who is (me). So please stop being so assertive about your own ideas and disregarding my comments based upon my knowledge of things. I could even say the same thing about you; you don't have any evidence that the majority of teens DON'T smoke and/or drink.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Felt a need to reply to the words in bold.
Yep, you are right, our deeds are dictated bywhat society deems as the orthodox and tradition.
But please stop spamming the word majority if you do not have evidence.
I dont think majority of the sg kids aged between 15~16 go to clubs ,drink and smokes. Get your facts right.
Please do not judge the overall sg society just by looking at the friends around you. Please.
And this is SG. Not some kind of europe country.
how about thailand?Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:And thats precisely the problem why are countries like aus,usa,france and other europeans country are more unsafe then most of the asian countries.
It all started from bits and pieces like these.
MOSTOriginally posted by BusSpeeder:how about thailand?
think i typo, i should was supposed to say "you should not say that not majority of the..............." i'll edit it.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:I did not.![]()
yes, MOST, does it mean that most are unsafe? there are also most european countries which are quite stable.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:MOST
in any way, just stop what you are doing.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Ok I should rephrase then, the majority of kids NOT IN SG drink and smoke. And yes I used the word majority again coz that's what I gather from my own knowledge. It's the same with everyone, everyone's opinion is derived from their personal knowledge or understanding of something, not from a whole bunch of graphs and statistics. And, unless you're part of the 15~16 year olds you wouldn't know as much about it as someone who is (me). So please stop being so assertive about your own ideas and disregarding my comments based upon my knowledge of things. I could even say the same thing about you; you don't have any evidence that the majority of teens DON'T smoke and/or drink.
I am 15 currently.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Ok I should rephrase then, the majority of kids NOT IN SG drink and smoke. And yes I used the word majority again coz that's what I gather from my own knowledge. It's the same with everyone, everyone's opinion is derived from their personal knowledge or understanding of something, not from a whole bunch of graphs and statistics. And, unless you're part of the 15~16 year olds you wouldn't know as much about it as someone who is (me). So please stop being so assertive about your own ideas and disregarding my comments based upon my knowledge of things. I could even say the same thing about you; you don't have any evidence that the majority of teens DON'T smoke and/or drink.
Well thanks for your contribution to the topic but I don't think someone telling me to stop over a forum is going to do much lolOriginally posted by BusSpeeder:in any way, just stop what you are doing.
Name me some.Originally posted by BusSpeeder:yes, MOST, does it mean that most are unsafe? there are also most european countries which are quite stable.
Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Poser, talking about his happening life again. yay
Well thanks for your contribution to the topic but I don't think someone telling me to stop over a forum is going to do much lol. [b]But yeah, I've got a concert to go to so I'll talk more about this later when I get back. Cheers![/b]