Would it be the Lee Family? Because $200 for a plate of Chicken rice is "peanuts"Originally posted by CoolMyth:Nah, I believe there'll be at least "one" Singaporean family by 2050.
But then whether they are living in Singapore or not is another matter.
lol one can easily tell the diff between PRC and local chinese......remember.....singapore is unique.....without another race here were are merely that unique......Singapore owes it to all races of cultural background....besides....if china were to claim it as theirs, won't you think malaysia wouldn't step in?Originally posted by khk:70+% of the population is Chinese wat, of course u see n hear chinese lah...
another point...
no offence though, but it seems very much like the Peranakans in S'pore. if wat is described realli happened in 2050, the definition of "Singaporean" wld haf been changed to describe the "majority" (seems to refer to PRC Chinese). by tt time, there will be assimilation just like the Peranakan popn being assimilated into the Chinese popn.
take a look at S'pore's past, there was an immigratn flux in the early 1900s, n there where different categories of Chinese, n different definitions of "Straits Chinese". onli the British subjects (includes some peranakans) where considered local.
when the early elections where conducted in the 1940s/50s, most of the population where immigrants, n ppl started to register for citizenship. the concept of "local" resident in Singapore is everchanging. the culture tt defines "local" is olso everchanging. S'pore used to haf similar culture to tt of Malaysia, but independence has added distinctive elements such as NS, even the lingua franca has changed over the times. the influx of new immigrants will add new elements to wat constitutes "Singaporean". Unless we completely shut ourselves off like N Korea, the landscape here will undergo huge changes. like it anot, globalisation has shaped this place for centuries, we, as decendents of immigrants, must learn to adapt like our forefathers, n not go soft in the present comfort zone tt we haf for the past few decades.
who noes, u may find urself married to a PRC or "new immigrant", or ur children will... (den "the singaporean" will cease to exist in 2050).
FTS also not like 500,000 of them or something....lol.....they only bring in FTs that has potential to bring up the Singapore name.....i.e. athletes and entrepreneurs......singapore lack these coz we all like to enjoy life rather then contributing to the county. thats why we NS is necessary and such......Originally posted by qwerys:theres no choice really, singapore does not have any natural resources, in order to remain competitive, they have to bring in FTS, its their only desperate solution
Who knows the price tag of the meals that they are enjoying now may be more than the price tag that TS brought up......Originally posted by Short Ninja:Would it be the Lee Family? Because $200 for a plate of Chicken rice is "peanuts"![]()
but i'll giv a D for his eng & A for reality. economists r nt ruling out the possibility dat spore will, one day, cease to exist if we continue to progress at dis rate. bt of coz no one dares to put it dwn in print lah.Originally posted by qwerys:A for writing skills D for reality![]()
lol i din noe dere were eng teachers here oso. anw thanks 2 all u guys 4 readin e "article". hope u enjoyed it as much as i enjoy writin itOriginally posted by qwerys:A for writing skills D for reality![]()
Wonder what would be the actually currency by 2050.Baht,Rupiah, Ringgit or RMB?Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Who knows the price tag of the meals that they are enjoying now may be more than the price tag that TS brought up......![]()
Interesting thought.In fact I propose domes to be built over groups of buildings and fresh oxygen to be circulated in them.HDB areas remain same -lah because peasants can tong all kinds of weather conditions and health hazards unless you have people like Chiam ST in your constituency who knows how to stretch your dollar...sorry getting off topic here.Originally posted by oomla:with the rate of global warming heating up earth, we should worry about the weather condition by 2050, maybe our walk ways will all need air-conditioning
Why do you think GOD created Bangladesh for?Originally posted by tintinspartan:Hai, then if birthrate going down, who's going to keep our economy up? Who's going to build our houses and who's going to drive buses, taxis, trucks, MRTs etc...
Intersting Imagination!
Not with all the pollution.Originally posted by jojobeach:In the year 2050,
We will be immigrating back to China.
China at her current rate of development will surpass many countries in 2050.
Becoming one of the world super powers.
Technologically advanced with well developed infrastructure.
Please don't be narrow minded.
Some of you should go visit China and take a look yourself.
Do not forget, they have vast resources.
They have plenty of land.
They have the brain powers, many times superior than many countries.
Back in those days, they built the great wall.
Now, they built super trains that stretches into the mountains and across great plains.
They are not to be underestimated.
My friends who lives and work there, tells of "everything under the sky is in China ". They don't want to come back.
Singapore will just be a little sunny island.
In year 2050, which country will be free from pollution ?Originally posted by seow:Not with all the pollution.
nice 1Originally posted by Short Ninja:Why do you think GOD created Bangladesh for?![]()