china is king of pollution.....Originally posted by jojobeach:In the year 2050,
We will be immigrating back to China.
China at her current rate of development will surpass many countries in 2050.
Becoming one of the world super powers.
Technologically advanced with well developed infrastructure.
Please don't be narrow minded.
Some of you should go visit China and take a look yourself.
Do not forget, they have vast resources.
They have plenty of land.
They have the brain powers, many times superior than many countries.
Back in those days, they built the great wall.
Now, they built super trains that stretches into the mountains and across great plains.
They are not to be underestimated.
My friends who lives and work there, tells of "everything under the sky is in China ". They don't want to come back.
Singapore will just be a little sunny island.
wat can u do if u dun support, like i've mentioned, unless s'pore shut itself like N korea, foreigners will still come here by watever means, cos there's $$$ down here, lots of $$$Originally posted by cApitaland:i take it you support FTs coming into sinkapore?
sorry but i nv mentioned abt china (PRC) claiming s'pore as theirs...Originally posted by Deino:lol one can easily tell the diff between PRC and local chinese......remember.....singapore is unique.....without another race here were are merely that unique......Singapore owes it to all races of cultural background....besides....if china were to claim it as theirs, won't you think malaysia wouldn't step in?
Originally posted by khk:sorry but i nv mentioned abt china (PRC) claiming s'pore as theirs...
yah i forgot tt s'pore onli has "singaporean", s'pore has no chinese, no malays, no indians, no "others", s'pore onli has "singaporean", "foreign talent" n "foreign worker".
the singaporean's mother tongue is English, celebrate national day as the biggest festival (chinese new year is just a holidae to go overseas), n ancestors are frm... eh? oh no...where r "our" ancestors from? forgive the diaspora forgetting their roots.
ur "uniquely singapore" is set to change... ever changing until one dae u dun even recognise it, n u'll be rotting in some one room flat or national musuem as the sole surviving "singaporean". sorry but this is just an analogy, not a personal attack. u quoted "Singapore owes it to all races of cultural background", i tink fifty yrs down the road, the new culture tt FTs, FWs are bringing in will be part of it. most likely s'pore will be very cosmopolitan n diverse, like wat we c in major cities like new york n london.
politically i dun tink china has any reason to claim s'pore... n can malaysia do anything to such a major power? hard to say wat will happen in fifty yr's time.
well i did know that you didn't say china claiming spore as theirs.....i was trying to say an IF..........if that scenario happens.......china will for a surety loose due to the fact that singapore is part of the malay archipelago........the UN will step in and only through this fact that china otherwise cannot claim us as theirs....that is in this scenario......in the near future, not even china prcs can influence singapore......Singapore sells its culture to the world as its a multi-racial country........there is nothing else singapore could sell other than security and culture and thats wot tourists are most into......Security.....50 years time is too short.....i think even 100 years time is not enough.....but after reading about global warming, sea levels might have risen up to 6ms by the next 100 years if no action be taken.....singapore would become too small by then unless the government would go all the way to set up concrete barriers or something....lol....Originally posted by khk:sorry but i nv mentioned abt china (PRC) claiming s'pore as theirs...
yah i forgot tt s'pore onli has "singaporean", s'pore has no chinese, no malays, no indians, no "others", s'pore onli has "singaporean", "foreign talent" n "foreign worker".
the singaporean's mother tongue is English, celebrate national day as the biggest festival (chinese new year is just a holidae to go overseas), n ancestors are frm... eh? oh no...where r "our" ancestors from? forgive the diaspora forgetting their roots.
ur "uniquely singapore" is set to change... ever changing until one dae u dun even recognise it, n u'll be rotting in some one room flat or national musuem as the sole surviving "singaporean". sorry but this is just an analogy, not a personal attack. u quoted "Singapore owes it to all races of cultural background", i tink fifty yrs down the road, the new culture tt FTs, FWs are bringing in will be part of it. most likely s'pore will be very cosmopolitan n diverse, like wat we c in major cities like new york n london.
politically i dun tink china has any reason to claim s'pore... n can malaysia do anything to such a major power? hard to say wat will happen in fifty yr's time.
by 2050, many cities will be multicultural...Originally posted by Deino:well i did know that you didn't say china claiming spore as theirs.....i was trying to say an IF..........if that scenario happens.......china will for a surety loose due to the fact that singapore is part of the malay archipelago........the UN will step in and only through this fact that china otherwise cannot claim us as theirs....that is in this scenario......in the near future, not even china prcs can influence singapore......Singapore sells its culture to the world as its a multi-racial country........there is nothing else singapore could sell other than security and culture and thats wot tourists are most into......Security.....50 years time is too short.....i think even 100 years time is not enough.....but after reading about global warming, sea levels might have risen up to 6ms by the next 100 years if no action be taken.....singapore would become too small by then unless the government would go all the way to set up concrete barriers or something....lol....
we are talking bout a few million people here, its not like all will migrate wan....and not all countries will become multi-cultural singapore is not like western countries leh......my cousin whose in denmark became stucked up and never respect her parents wan....over here, we stress on moral and culture and these two is wot brings us together.......over there once the kids reach a certian age should be maybe 12 or so, they do wotever they like, if parents scold them they can report as verbal abuse etc.....so you should get my point by now......its not that easy to transform singapore.....Originally posted by khk:by 2050, many cities will be multicultural...
like wat i've mentioned abt "the singaporean", singapore is losing its ethnic culture due to modernisation, ppl no longer practise the traditions, "chinatown" is onli vibrant during CNY etc.
security comes at a price of freedom, but many foreigners like it cos they dun haf to live here
s'pore can turn shit water in to edible water, surely it can learn frm netherlands to deal with rising sea levels (as long as s'pore has the $$$, nothing is impossible)
wah piang i toking abt foreigners coming to sg n changing the culture here... wat s'poreans migrating?Originally posted by Deino:we are talking bout a few million people here, its not like all will migrate wan....and not all countries will become multi-cultural singapore is not like western countries leh......my cousin whose in denmark became stucked up and never respect her parents wan....over here, we stress on moral and culture and these two is wot brings us together.......over there once the kids reach a certian age should be maybe 12 or so, they do wotever they like, if parents scold them they can report as verbal abuse etc.....so you should get my point by now......its not that easy to transform singapore.....
Ps
By 2050 maybe we all become TRANSFORMERS lol....
N1Originally posted by Cool-gal:yes??
Did i mention chinese? who also know that most of the singaporean are chinese... please read what i wrote before comment...Originally posted by khk:70+% of the population is Chinese wat, of course u see n hear chinese lah...
another point...
no offence though, but it seems very much like the Peranakans in S'pore. if wat is described realli happened in 2050, the definition of "Singaporean" wld haf been changed to describe the "majority" (seems to refer to PRC Chinese). by tt time, there will be assimilation just like the Peranakan popn being assimilated into the Chinese popn.
take a look at S'pore's past, there was an immigratn flux in the early 1900s, n there where different categories of Chinese, n different definitions of "Straits Chinese". onli the British subjects (includes some peranakans) where considered local.
when the early elections where conducted in the 1940s/50s, most of the population where immigrants, n ppl started to register for citizenship. the concept of "local" resident in Singapore is everchanging. the culture tt defines "local" is olso everchanging. S'pore used to haf similar culture to tt of Malaysia, but independence has added distinctive elements such as NS, even the lingua franca has changed over the times. the influx of new immigrants will add new elements to wat constitutes "Singaporean". Unless we completely shut ourselves off like N Korea, the landscape here will undergo huge changes. like it anot, globalisation has shaped this place for centuries, we, as decendents of immigrants, must learn to adapt like our forefathers, n not go soft in the present comfort zone tt we haf for the past few decades.
who noes, u may find urself married to a PRC or "new immigrant", or ur children will... (den "the singaporean" will cease to exist in 2050).
Originally posted by sirAdrian:he wld haf found the elixir n build the great wall of s'pore
wah chicken rice $200, china currency is it? Even so it is still expensive....
50yrs later who will be The last living original Singaporean tat will be put on exhibition??
[b]LKY!!!!!!!!!!!! He is Sti|| AliVe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The founder and the destoryer!!!!!!!!!!![/b]
yah lah got ur pt. wat i'm trying to say is tt though s'pore chinese r v diff frm the PRCs, but our ancestors olso frm china wat... 2 generations ago our grandparents did watever they can to save china during wwII, but why is our generatn treating fellow chinese with such hostility? just a qn to ponder, though many ppl wld easily haf the answer.Originally posted by zheshi:Did i mention chinese? who also know that most of the singaporean are chinese... please read what i wrote before comment...
i mention someone from china. either by the way of their speech or talking to them directly.. did i mention saying that when someone speak chinese, i'm say that he or she is from china?
netherlands had gone thru devastatin lessons b4 they learnt. n it's nt eben guaranteed dat they will prevail 4eber.Originally posted by khk:by 2050, many cities will be multicultural...
like wat i've mentioned abt "the singaporean", singapore is losing its ethnic culture due to modernisation, ppl no longer practise the traditions, "chinatown" is onli vibrant during CNY etc.
security comes at a price of freedom, but many foreigners like it cos they dun haf to live here
s'pore can turn shit water in to edible water, surely it can learn frm netherlands to deal with rising sea levels (as long as s'pore has the $$$, nothing is impossible)
ya most this world ah something wrong wan.....after the disaster happen then they wan take precautions.....just like the tsunami lah......after the was it 2004 tsunami then all the countries wan to set up tsunami and earth quake systems.....lol.....now at indo each time to earthquake alarm accidentally activated people run like hellOriginally posted by Hello Kitty:netherlands had gone thru devastatin lessons b4 they learnt. n it's nt eben guaranteed dat they will prevail 4eber.
And the reason? I respect Singapore and the way it is govern, its pragmatic which means we don't have to like it but it guarantee our sustainability.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Would really want to see Sillypore extinct.....no point for this little city state to go on existing....best solution would be for everyone to emigrate to bigger countries to enjoy economies of scale....
Sillypore looks good only on the surface, but peel away the veneer, we get rubbish, we all know that....full of campaigns here but people still do silly things....latest.....bash up their own bus drivers...pathetic