If you are expecting some gratitude of thanks from helping others, you better dun help. Help expect no return. In giving a seat, you credit yourself a good deed, internally you feel happy without remorse. Whether others acknowledge or not, is another matter. Be logic.Originally posted by forumer84:Anyone encounter giving up their seats to pregnant lady on the train and not even an acknowledgment or word of thx was said?
when i give up my seat to senior citizen, at least they will acknowledge or thank you, heck some even reject the offer nicely. But pregnant lady,and mind you these r educated, working class women,they seem to take it for granted that pple MUST give up their seats to them.
Y like dat ah?
You must be the boy living in a guilty concious world. Be true to oneself, dun act.Originally posted by Technomage:i jus act sleep or play my psp, non of my buisness
Originally posted by forumer84:Anyone encounter giving up their seats to pregnant lady on the train and not even an acknowledgment or word of thx was said?
when i give up my seat to senior citizen, at least they will acknowledge or thank you, heck some even reject the offer nicely. But pregnant lady,and mind you these r educated, working class women,they seem to take it for granted that pple MUST give up their seats to them.
Y like dat ah?
All the time.Originally posted by forumer84:Anyone encounter giving up their seats to pregnant lady on the train and not even an acknowledgment or word of thx was said?
Y like dat ah?
she's crazy / siao oneOriginally posted by FireIce:got once i gave seat to old lady
she keep on thanking me from serangoon to little india.........so freaking paiseh leh
Maybe she oso pregnant wat!Originally posted by FireIce:got once i gave seat to old lady
she keep on thanking me from serangoon to little india.........so freaking paiseh leh
Maybe she oso want to get pregnant wat!Originally posted by sand king:That time on the crowded bus, i one more stop go down, stand up give seat to this old old old ah mah, she hold my hand (at the wrist) and thank me![]()
lao pang sheng zhu??Originally posted by Short Ninja:Maybe she oso pregnant wat!
Giving up your seat to those in need is already more than a word of thank you to yourself so if people are shy to say thank you or just down right ungrateful ok wat!Originally posted by jedditte:maybe it's time to bring back the singa lion?
a part of me believes that with graciousness comes courtesy. i do get irritated if i give up my seat and not a word of thank you. cos those people think that i'm obligated to make such a gesture.
In my oipinion people who have to travel from one end of SIngapore to the other on public transportation are fully excused from being courteous (this spelling corright ar not?)Originally posted by sinicker:i take mrt frm tamp to boon lay 5 days/week.
towards boon lay, by bedok, i'd be asleep.
towarads tamp, by commonwealth, i'd be asleep.
but got one time i saw this woman, dono whether she is fat or she is pregnant.
i thought wanna ask her, "harloe, is you pregnant or is you fat? if you is pregnant, you can take my seat. if you is fat, stand and burn them."
but i thought better not and just continued being seated.
I dont give up seats expecting them to bow or thank me as if im their saviour or wat.But thats not the problem. The problem is this is BASIC MANNERS.Imagine this: If there was no notice on the MRT telling pple to give up seats to pregnant women and yet pple do it, im sure they will appreciate the gesture. But because of this notice or "law" as they may see it, they take it for granted someone must give up their seat to them no matter what.Originally posted by angel7030:If you are expecting some gratitude of thanks from helping others, you better dun help. Help expect no return. In giving a seat, you credit yourself a good deed, internally you feel happy without remorse. Whether others acknowledge or not, is another matter. Be logic.
Your saying this is like saying as long as you cross the road only when the green man appears, you have the absolute right of way and all vehicles surely will come to a stop. Hence when green man appear, you can even close one eye and cross the road. You have played your part as a model pedestrian and hence you shouldnt get into any accidents. Be logical.
On the other hand, they never ask you for the seat nor do you need to grant them a seat, it is your social well being and good brought up that give way to the needed. Praise to your parents and the education of social responsibility.
Well, welcome to singapore, that is the culture breeded by our society, like it or not, we are to be blame, but then, we take it as per normal, remember all this ladies are singaporean's wife, sister, daughter, mother, nieces and so forth or one of your relatives. It the way we live, you want gracious society, go japan or maybe some part of europe, but within those gracious society hide the most notorious crime, sins and discrimination.Originally posted by forumer84:I dont give up seats expecting them to bow or thank me as if im their saviour or wat.But thats not the problem. The problem is this is BASIC MANNERS.Imagine this: If there was no notice on the MRT telling pple to give up seats to pregnant women and yet pple do it, im sure they will appreciate the gesture. But because of this notice or "law" as they may see it, they take it for granted someone must give up their seat to them no matter what.
This is the wrong mentality that im trying to address.