Originally posted by tigersushi:As you all may know, I graduated this year and am starting out my so called fresh graduate term in this company. Well, and my line of industry is in the market research industry.
I feel really sad at work. I feel like I am merely a glorified clerk with a university degree. The work that I am given is menial, repetitive and dull. And the agonizing thing is when I have really this ANAL-ytical senior who is ANAL with nitty gritty items. SHE is ANAL that I conform to her ridiculous work format, like for e.g. questionnaire formatting. The font must be this size, the page margins must be this specification, the spacing and column width in the spreadsheet must be this and this specification. In my opinion, these ANAL-listic requirements are redundant as long as the questions are clear, formatted with correct page view and respondents can see the questions reasonably well.
There are other incidents of intrusions made by HER. For e.g. SHE has to interfere with the way I checked certain analysis in the spreadsheet. For Jesus sake, each person has his/her own style of checking as long as the findings are correct. But no, she will literally take over the mouse and show me step by step, on how to calculate the findings and present it in a manner which is easy for her to check. Please do not treat me like a 3years old kid. Common, I have to spend twice the amount of time in the calculations because I have to do extra manipulations to the spreadsheet to show her my working. This is really uncalled for; if she wishes to impose these standards on me, she might as well do the work herself. And if it is not insulting enough, she would check and recheck every piece of work done by me. That is insulting to me because it seems like she can never trust me to do a good piece of work. This is very agonizing.
In such duress conditions, I have been taught to be ultra-cautious; and that taking risks is a taboo. I cannot do this my way, even if it meant a way which is more efficient because of her ANAL-listic nature. And yet, in my work performance feedback, she can criticize that, I have no mind of my own, and that I am always just a “YES” man. Common woman! YOU clamped my mouth shut!
In retrospect, I know where I stand as a fresh graduate. I understand the need to start from the bottom, to do the so called shit work and slowly earn my credibility and all. But why must it be done according to HER ANAL-listic way, according to HER stupid style? If I can achieve an end result which is the same, why canÂ’t I do it my way? I feel I am becoming more and more stupid with each passing day. I feel like a wild lion, being captured and thrown into the cages in the Zoo. You know how lions over prolonged captivity lose their fighting spirit and shine in their eyes? I am feeling this right now.
Should I move on and change to another company? I like this market research industry. But it seems that my company is the only MNC agency willing to hire me. I have applied to other MNC agencies but they turned me down. Anyway, to the fresh grads out there, any such similar experience to share?from your writing, really reminded what was happen to me 8 yrs ago.....
moreover...I'm a ' LEO'so....i understand how u feel...
I was think & hehave what u r now.....
ended up...i had to struggle for the 1st few years.... trust me...just absor whatever u can now...dun care rite or wrong, dun input ur own commend....till you have enough of exp....
I'm not a fresh grad but I can tell you this....this happens everywhere...whether it be in market research or in the finance or biomedical industries.....sound to me it behaves more like a gahmen outfit rather than an MNC...but then again...not much difference....an MNC, being big, would have clearly defined paths and set procedures to follow....your superior, being a woman...tend to be more ANAL ytical..Women are known to be more detailed and that's why women make good finance bosses....they got a thing for figures....men make better businessmen as we are more open and bigger in our outlook...so you cannot really blame anyone....its just how the way the working world is......Originally posted by tigersushi:As you all may know, I graduated this year and am starting out my so called fresh graduate term in this company. Well, and my line of industry is in the market research industry.
I feel really sad at work. I feel like I am merely a glorified clerk with a university degree. The work that I am given is menial, repetitive and dull. And the agonizing thing is when I have really this ANAL-ytical senior who is ANAL with nitty gritty items. SHE is ANAL that I conform to her ridiculous work format, like for e.g. questionnaire formatting. The font must be this size, the page margins must be this specification, the spacing and column width in the spreadsheet must be this and this specification. In my opinion, these ANAL-listic requirements are redundant as long as the questions are clear, formatted with correct page view and respondents can see the questions reasonably well.
There are other incidents of intrusions made by HER. For e.g. SHE has to interfere with the way I checked certain analysis in the spreadsheet. For Jesus sake, each person has his/her own style of checking as long as the findings are correct. But no, she will literally take over the mouse and show me step by step, on how to calculate the findings and present it in a manner which is easy for her to check. Please do not treat me like a 3years old kid. Common, I have to spend twice the amount of time in the calculations because I have to do extra manipulations to the spreadsheet to show her my working. This is really uncalled for; if she wishes to impose these standards on me, she might as well do the work herself. And if it is not insulting enough, she would check and recheck every piece of work done by me. That is insulting to me because it seems like she can never trust me to do a good piece of work. This is very agonizing.
In such duress conditions, I have been taught to be ultra-cautious; and that taking risks is a taboo. I cannot do this my way, even if it meant a way which is more efficient because of her ANAL-listic nature. And yet, in my work performance feedback, she can criticize that, I have no mind of my own, and that I am always just a “YES” man. Common woman! YOU clamped my mouth shut!
In retrospect, I know where I stand as a fresh graduate. I understand the need to start from the bottom, to do the so called shit work and slowly earn my credibility and all. But why must it be done according to HER ANAL-listic way, according to HER stupid style? If I can achieve an end result which is the same, why canÂ’t I do it my way? I feel I am becoming more and more stupid with each passing day. I feel like a wild lion, being captured and thrown into the cages in the Zoo. You know how lions over prolonged captivity lose their fighting spirit and shine in their eyes? I am feeling this right now.
Should I move on and change to another company? I like this market research industry. But it seems that my company is the only MNC agency willing to hire me. I have applied to other MNC agencies but they turned me down. Anyway, to the fresh grads out there, any such similar experience to share?
I guess your last paragraph really struck me. To Look Outside of the box. Anyway, in my opinion, the research business has to be about passion and enjoyment. But when, the style of your senior is imposed on me as if she expects me to be like her clone, that becomes unbrearable and suffocating. And she llikes to talk to me like im a 3year old kid, and would at times, just tkae over my mouse at my work station and in a bearing tone say, "Look, i WANT YOUTO DO IT THIS WAY". I was like "duh", common this piece of work aint even for the client yet;its just an internal piece of work for checking and report generating.Originally posted by Coquitlam:I'm not a fresh grad but I can tell you this....this happens everywhere...whether it be in market research or in the finance or biomedical industries.....sound to me it behaves more like a gahmen outfit rather than an MNC...but then again...not much difference....an MNC, being big, would have clearly defined paths and set procedures to follow....your superior, being a woman...tend to be more ANAL ytical..Women are known to be more detailed and that's why women make good finance bosses....they got a thing for figures....men make better businessmen as we are more open and bigger in our outlook...so you cannot really blame anyone....its just how the way the working world is......
My point to you is being a fresh grad, you do not have much bargaining power and therefore you should give yourself 2-3 years working for others first, unless you want to make the big jump and be your own boss.....hey the freedom is there for you when you are your own boss.....
The other thing is that you do not need to work in what you have studied for....you might want to take a step back and see what other sectors you can work in....key thing in 21st century working world is to be flexible....you do not know what I have done that are not related to what I have studied....you want more advise?
Yes i agree with you, Formatting reflects the integrity of the agency. OF course, i have no qualms in doing that. But there is a fine line between Agency standards and her overtly ANAL-listical format. And she likes to pass off her ANAL-listical format as the agency's standard. That kind of pushes the limit.Originally posted by soul_rage:Its a whole new ballgame after graduation
Back when I was a student, its easy to grade my performance (just score all the As in my modules).
Now, its not so simple. People EXPECT you to perform your job you are paid to do, and to excel, you must do MORE than what you are paid to do.
By the way, I am against her micro-management, but I would like to tell you that formatting IS important, coz it represents how professional an agency is. An example, when the newspaper types a word wrongly, or the format is not generic throughout, usually its professional image gets a hit.
Hmm, you have brought up a very interesting point;my social skills. I think i did engage in fairly amount of socialization, by going for team lunchs; well actually i didnt like those team lunches, because literally can u imagine what is it like to eat with a bunch of damn-busy-gungho people? it stressful man. An hour lunch break is our entitlement, but yet when you are out eating with your team, my senior and her director usually finishes eating by 20minutes, and expects the whole team to return to the office to continue to "SLAVE" for the company. It grew so out of hand that for the entire last month, i just joined other colleagues in other teams for lunch, or simply ate alone. At least, i get to enjoy one FULL hour of my own time. And heres the Aunt AGONY part, whenever, i didnt join my team, my SENIOR will ask me in a INTERROGATION manner, "hey where did you go for lunch?. You know, you should eat with the team because it CULTIVATES TEAM BONDING". I was like common, who wants to bond with you, you ANAL-listical B*I*T*C*H.Originally posted by EarlNeo:Try improving ur social skill. Normally ppl pick on u for a reason. They dun like the way u talk or the way u dress..... etc... try to see where the problem is... Not always is the fault in your work.... Try giving a positive and welcoming to learn kinda attitude. Dun even bother to talk back if u know it is going to bring u more disagreement or going to solve anything.... there is alot of way to reach the destination, often straight line, the shortest distance isnt the best way there. Be hummable and never fail to admit ur error. It is a fine line between up holding ur principle and your ego. You dun have to bootlick juzt to get into someone good book. Just show them the side they like to see, and hide those that will push their button.
But sometime, u really are in a sh!t hole and had basta4d one on top of u... in that case, by all mean move on.![]()
Well, I seriously would suggest you leave.Originally posted by tigersushi:Yes i agree with you, Formatting reflects the integrity of the agency. OF course, i have no qualms in doing that. But there is a fine line between Agency standards and her overtly ANAL-listical format. And she likes to pass off her ANAL-listical format as the agency's standard. That kind of pushes the limit.
Most importantly, i cannot tolerate the way she speaks to me like im a 3yrs old retard. I believe on my end, i have been as Good a worker as i can be already. I was burning 12-15 hours work day, each day since i joined the company. But if u asks me, how many % of the time spent was on Growing myself and enriching myself? Absolutely Zero Hours...
There are mixed views in the replies. Some urge me to stay on, so say move on. What do you suggest?
Thanks! ;-)
Hi quite frankly to tell u the truth, if you have zero work experience, Honors or Masters stil makes no difference. If you are talking about established market research MNCS, you are still considered entry level grade meaning, u will go through what i go through. As a matter of fact, i have a few MBA grads(with zero work experience) who are going thru the same struggles and pay grade with me now.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:i am currently studying in monash taking marketing and management as majors. thinking of going into market research industry as well. i only have 2 more months to go to grad. but a close lecturer in my sch (the lect. who taught me market research module), encourages me to take up honors, where u have more real life experience in doing some kinda research project.
i heard tat if u take up an honors, will give u higher chances of getting job offers from market research companies.
thought of doing honors?
i cant agree with you more on this issue; especially when the micro-management escaltes to being overly ANAL-listic management. You see they are really afraid of taking risks. Despite the company's slogan being _"Research Revitalized", it aint really revitalied, because they still use very old ancient software, unlike in their U.S offices.Originally posted by laurence82:very singaporean work culture lar
meticulous, kiasee, scared of making decisions, micro manage
Hahaha ya ya , including blow job.Originally posted by Ah Gong:just QUIT
there are plenty of jobs out there
Originally posted by tigersushi:I thot u are a tiger, why feel like lion???
As you all may know, I graduated this year and am starting out my so called fresh graduate term in this company. Well, and my line of industry is in the market research industry.
In retrospect, I know where I stand as a fresh graduate. I understand the need to start from the bottom, to do the so called shit work and slowly earn my credibility and all. But why must it be done according to HER ANAL-listic way, according to HER stupid style? If I can achieve an end result which is the same, why canÂ’t I do it my way? I feel I am becoming more and more stupid with each passing day. [b]I feel like a wild lion, being captured and thrown into the cages in the Zoo. You know how lions over prolonged captivity lose their fighting spirit and shine in their eyes? I am feeling this right now.
Should I move on and change to another company? I like this market research industry. But it seems that my company is the only MNC agency willing to hire me. I have applied to other MNC agencies but they turned me down. Anyway, to the fresh grads out there, any such similar experience to share?
TEll her u have your own efficient way of doing and that each individual stye of approach will be different.Originally posted by tigersushi:Hey sorry to hear about your nasty experience. Perhaps, you are right, i should treasure what i have now, and stop whinning like a kid. Your last line is really meant a lot to me. Thanks for the sharing. ;-)
Hey why are conforming to the non written rule of 20mins when u are entitled to 1hr?Originally posted by tigersushi:Hmm, you have brought up a very interesting point;my social skills. I think i did engage in fairly amount of socialization, by going for team lunchs; well actually i didnt like those team lunches, because literally can u imagine what is it like to eat with a bunch of damn-busy-gungho people? it stressful man. An hour lunch break is our entitlement, but yet when you are out eating with your team, my senior and her director usually finishes eating by 20minutes, and expects the whole team to return to the office to continue to "SLAVE" for the company. It grew so out of hand that for the entire last month, i just joined other colleagues in other teams for lunch, or simply ate alone. At least, i get to enjoy one FULL hour of my own time. And heres the Aunt AGONY part, whenever, i didnt join my team, my SENIOR will ask me in a INTERROGATION manner, "hey where did you go for lunch?. You know, you should eat with the team because it CULTIVATES TEAM BONDING". I was like common, who wants to bond with you, you ANAL-listical B*I*T*C*H.
Perhaps she is sore at me for not joining the team for team lunches? But they are also contradictory at times. There will be on times, that im so SWARMed by their SAiKang, that i chose to eat in office, and She would like, "NO, NO, u Join us for lunch"; and this occurs when she is Bleedly free and when im bleedly BUSY (of course, how can she be busy when all the Brainless saiKang is passed to me?" Despite my intense protests and decline of offer that i will just eat in office, she will say, "Can you finish this in the next 10minutes? if not, u MUST COME with us".
Alrite, this is another e.g. of her ANAL-listical micro management. She is more concerned about projecting a "unified""Bonded" and "together" team to others to everyone. She wants her own face saving grace to ensure that no renegrade rOokie fresh grad rebels against her chain of command and all.
Cheez, so do u stay i should stay or not stay on?
I see, Hi there. I hope you understand my position that im not saying female bosses are all like that. My point of case is that, i jz happen to bump into one real shitty female boss. ;-). Yah its an employees' market, thank god for it. Ha, err.. frankly your last sentence.. really shocks me, because i dont think i can get physically aroused with a lady who has caused me much anguish ;-)Originally posted by angel7030:I thot u are a tiger, why feel like lion???
The way you anal her, guess it is better to leave, as the chinses say, rather to die then to be torture. So what degree, everyone also have degree mah.
some honor, some bachelor, some wear spectacle also hv degree mah.
Current Unemployement rate 2% only, last year created 100,000 jobs, this year by first half already 80,000 new jobs created, and most are knowledge based jobs. It is an employees market now, it time for you to ask for more...switch jobs for better pasture.
As a lady myself, i know lady boss is the most hard to follow. Go get any job you want, but make sure the boss is a guy. Learn to tolerant and endure her analing of you. Slowly look for job. Until you find a new job, then leave her, and sex her if you wish.
hi there!!!..Originally posted by BufPuf:u not the only 1
i am a overpaid clerk in the office also
hahaha
Hmm, i feel that sometimes, employees stick to these norms, because of peer pressure?Originally posted by boka:Hey why are conforming to the non written rule of 20mins when u are entitled to 1hr?
Take your time and eat even if with them.
If they don't like it,then that's their issues because your company WRITTEN RULES says 1hr.
I take a module in enterprise and it says non written rules are not part of company rules,they are merely a set of standard which staff accord to for whatever reasons.
Say,many of them stay past certain hour when they can return home early but they don't.
Why?
It is their non written rules of wanting to suck up to the boss and hope the boss will notice them staying back late.
Don;t engage in mindless activities.
Complete your work and return.
yeah ..then i have been most unlucky..Originally posted by No9:not true leh. it all depends on the individual...n abit of luck.