i tot tt time the us tax thingOriginally posted by venny:economy so gd shld be very high lehz....![]()
Now your sister need to work during weekends?Originally posted by Meat Pao:New applicants without experience...usually start as a process engineer....my sister started as a process engineer several years ago.....SSMC...
Got OT pay...and sometimes got shifts...but only occasionally.....and initially...now she has no more shifts..just normal day hours...
Pay is good....OT pay is good...and bonus is good....everything is good, I recommend u all to apply...
About stress level....it is relative...Im sure anyone who is serious about working...can withstand any stress....especially young people...shouldnt be a problem...
Btw my sister studied an unrelated field....civil engineering degree....but end up in semicon. So I believe they accept unrelated degrees.....just try..
Meat Pao.
being able to speak good mandarin would serve as an advantage when communicating with ur other colleagues who are from China... and trust me, majority of ur colleagues are not Singaporeans... and other of these ppl, majority of them are from China... so good to know how to speak mandarin...Originally posted by Phatboy:err...no one has answered me my previous question,
a) do i need to be able to speak/write in mandarin to join these fabs? as from what i heard from my pals, it is a requirement for one to be able to speak/write in mandarin as all the instructions will be in mandarin as it originates from taiwan/china.
can anyone confirm this?
Why is taiwanese more difficult to work with? Thought the same, we asian?Originally posted by angelza:both are full of politics. ssmc more 'ang mo' politics and umc more cina politics.
Both work you extra hard ,round the clock and you climb higher with more paper qualification.
umc , you get to travel more asian route while ssmc sends u on more ang mo biz trips. i personally prefer ssmc to umc environment. I think its easier to work for white people than taiwanese.
regards,
angel ZA
you can find me on frdster: Angel za
unlikely even if so, the following day should be an off day for uOriginally posted by peychinhwee:If for example u working 12hrs shift, do u still need to do OT after the 12hrs shift?
not really to do OT after the shift, but to come back during your off days.Originally posted by peychinhwee:If for example u working 12hrs shift, do u still need to do OT after the 12hrs shift?
The semiconductor industry may not stay in singapore for long mah. So I'm thinking if I really work in this industry quite long and suddenly all or most the semicon company shifting to china, then how mah. Thinking if the equipment and process engineer got any transferable skills or not mah and if the long term prospect good or not.Originally posted by venny:i think if u work in a certain field long liao, u get experienced there, dun change field leady.