hahahaOriginally posted by BrUtUs:win liao...![]()
You want a decent job with a decent pay? Its a must.Originally posted by jesschen28:But isn't tat wat S'poreans r always doin? Just follow watever ppl do in hope of achieving wat ppl achieved...It's Sad but its reality..
Anyway, r there any foreigners here who would like 2 give their thoughts on what they feel abt this paper chasing syndrome in SG?
me me me~!Originally posted by smartboy4:got who share same thinking as me no qualification type one? pm me hor![]()
that stroke of luck can sometimes help alotOriginally posted by FireIce:sadly, yes.
but i know of many ppl who are still doing very well w/o those papers.....
if u believe it is luck, then it's luckOriginally posted by de_middle:that stroke of luck can sometimes help alot![]()
So it boils down to whether you are a risk taker or risk averse person. Jus like investments. The higher the risk, the better the returns and at the same time, the chances of failure is also higher.Originally posted by Kyndred:The way i see it everyone in society has two options when choosing to map out their life.
1st would be the most obvious....push yourself in academia.....reach for as high as you can go...and by this i mean, in terms of individual lifestyles and when a person feels that enough is enough and he needs to begin his career...or a popular deviation to this would be multi tasking the two....study and work...and improve yourself by targeting the market that is catered to the neediness of paper qualifications.
the 2nd option is to pick a trade...and to develop skills by practicing that trade..many think this to be a highly risky and tedious path...but i've known alot of people who succeed in this path....they are normally people who have found their calling or passion in life and paved a way for themselves through hard work and determination focused in that direction.
Example: A friend of mine is totally hopeless at academia....he hasn't the patience or time...but since young he has always liked to do this particular trade....so he enrolled in a course....practiced on his own....and pushed his way to be next in line for a creative director promotion....and he's only 23 this year...he started 3 years ago.
Another example would be myself....I could never stick to one interest so i couldn't pick a particular trade to immerse myself in....so i'm paving my path through studies....hoping to get by on paper qualifications.
since when ah beng got cert. ah beng finance ah?Originally posted by Belarin:American company = degree needed for executive post
Japanese company = emphasize on technical certs
Singaporean company = pai ma pi to climb
Your own company = ah beng ah seng cert oso can