Well said. What I am refering here are Singaporean teenagers and young adults, not ABC. In Singapore, we have a lot of opportunity to learn both English and Mandarin whereas in America they might not have it.Originally posted by dahliamorie:is it very hard to be bilingual? why choose to learn one language only when you have the opportunity to learn both?
That is a bloody funny clip!!!Originally posted by digicharat:this is just like when a ang mo trying to flirt with chinese girl with their broken chinese. they will laugh and find it cute.
but if an asian guy tries to flirt with them with broken english, they will find it disgusting.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOyRWuklsiQ
Originally posted by motoway:u come SMU alot.![]()
Esp those u tok to dem in chinese den they retort " wo bu hui jiang hua yi"
Den i was like wtf? Isn't that Chinese? Den i just say sayonara and walk away.
i tok bout those who reali ARE acting Gantang. Those who are brought up from an Eng family ok lar.. Those who speak english for the sake of acting high class.. i cannot stand..Originally posted by Spartans:![]()
I heard from my SMU friends that quite a large percentage of SMU students couldnt speak Mandarin. But their English are excellent.
But you can communicate with them in English rite. Nothing wrong in using English if the need arises.
Ya agree. For the sake of acting high class... lame reason for speaking English leh.Originally posted by motoway:Those who speak english for the sake of acting high class.. i cannot stand..
Ya, that is why when i talk to those potatos, I use to sit down, really cannot stand.Originally posted by motoway:i tok bout those who reali ARE acting Gantang. Those who are brought up from an Eng family ok lar.. Those who speak english for the sake of acting high class.. i cannot stand..
Originally posted by Spartans:I noticed some Chinese youngsters nowadays take pride in not knowing how to speak Mandarin. Why is this so? And they feel pride and elite about it, ie only know how to speak English.
They think those who speak Mandarin more often are Cina people, lower class than them. WTH?
If you are a Chinese and you dun know how to speak your mother tongue language, that is a very sad thing. The least you can do is to start to learn, step by step. And not mocking around. "oh gosh, I dun know Mandarin at all. Gee... I only speak English. Speaking Mandarin so Cina."
zzzzz. cannot really understand their mindsets. There tend to be more "banana man" in Arts Faculty. Just my observation.
Personally, I think being poor in English or Chinese in itself shouldn't be the issue. Issue is more of their attitude towards the language they are poor in. There are some who just don't make the effort, and will call and make silly comments about people who speak more of the other language.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i'm not really good in chinese, i'm better with english.
i think people who don't make an effort to improve their english is low class though. nothing to do with chinese pride or anything, but i've met people who just don't make an effort, saying stuff like "what's so good about english?" etc. only watch chinese movies, can't understand anything deeper than Finding Nemo, etc.
well that is my point. If you are poor with Mandarin, fine. But dun go mocking around.Originally posted by SumOne:Personally, I think being poor in English or Chinese in itself shouldn't be the issue. Issue is more of their attitude towards the language they are poor in. There are some who just don't make the effort, and will call and make silly comments about people who speak more of the other language.
I don't get it with all this segration based on the language a person is comfortable with. If you're poor with either language, fine. Just accept it. But don't go slamming the other just because you are bad at it.
This isnt an issue of English vs Mandarin. please dun be mistaken. It is more of an issue about the attitude towards Mandarin and people more comfortable with Mandarin by some 'English speaking only people'.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:haha. aiya, in the end.
english rulez.
i wish i was born an ang mo in uk or something.![]()
lol, i think i get what you mean. i've seen someone who mocks english and western food. lol. and he claims to be able to speak proper english, and his examples were telling some workers at his dad's hostelOriginally posted by Spartans:This isnt an issue of English vs Mandarin. please dun be mistaken. It is more of an issue about the attitude towards Mandarin and people more comfortable with Mandarin by some 'English speaking only people'.
I am comfortable with either languages. Just that some of their mocking sound so immature.
wow so extreme arh. very typical example of what I am trying to say here.Originally posted by Eternal-fire:I had a classmate last time who refused to speak Mandarin even though he is a chinese. He even go as far as to not speaking to people who speak Mandarin as their primary language. As a result he mix with those English speaking people only.
I wasnt wearing my reading glasses and I thought you said "I wish I was born in Ang Mo Kio"Originally posted by dumbdumb!:haha. aiya, in the end
i wish i was born an ang mo in uk or something.![]()
i used to stay in bishan ok. don't play play hahaha.Originally posted by Short Ninja:I wasnt wearing my reading glasses and I thought you said "I wish I was born in Ang Mo Kio"Why Bishan no good ar?
I know, I'm just supporting your stand. Just don't get it with these people, just because they are poor in it they must despise people who are not poor in it.Originally posted by Spartans:well that is my point. If you are poor with Mandarin, fine. But dun go mocking around.
hahaOriginally posted by digicharat:is this the right word?
post-colonial syndrome?
of cos, Hello Kitty was born in London.Originally posted by Hello Kitty:no! me is pro-Brit!
LOL what the hell...Singapore is like the only country that likes the American accent. It's probably the most hated accent in the world.Originally posted by Spartans:haha![]()
but nowadays people prefer American accent more than British accent.