me too. The thing is, majority of those who claim themselves to be "English speaking" and dont give a damn to Chinese, speak only Singlish or English with an unmistakably heavy Singlish accent. Honestly, I cant help feeling ashame of them - losers. btw, by majority, I mean >99%Originally posted by patdog112:if i dun knoe how to speak english i wun be ashame.. if i dun know chinese i will feel ashame....
i am intersted in chinese all the way... failing any other subject i wont feel a thing but anything less than 65 for chinese i will feel sad..
hmm, it comes with the environment too. when everyone around you speaks broken english, you are bound to pick up bad habits that is thrown around.Originally posted by passerbyJIA:me too. The thing is, majority of those who claim themselves to be "English speaking" and dont give a damn to Chinese, speak only Singlish or English with an unmistakably heavy Singlish accent. Honestly, I cant help feeling ashame of them - losers. btw, by majority, I mean >99%
Unfortunately, I am dealing with these hopeless losers day in and day out who can hardly finish a sentence, both spoken and written, without making serious gramatical mistakes. Whenever there is a chance, they will proudly say that their Chinese is poor because they want to imply to others that their English is good. I dont think anyone needs to know English well enough to tell that they aint "qualified" to be "bananas" as their English is too inadequate to be "white inside". How can they be "white inside" while they inherantly have no culture of any kind they can truly call their own! Asian culture? Please dont give Asian culture a bad name!!!
What we are saying here is those Singaporeans who think that they are English speaking would stereotype Chinese speaking people as low class. Those who are truly English speaking typically are more tolerant.Originally posted by trendz:Why do English-speaking people stereotype Chinese-speaking people as low-class? Please take a look at your lovely Chinese Ah Bengs. Do you wanna unconsciously wear their cheena tags?
Good point. Environment and people can affect the way you carry your behaviour and your language. So unconciously, you will be 'influenced' in a way that you speak like your friends. e.g. your friends are mostly english-speaking ppl so you follow them and speak like english more often in your daily conversations.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm, it comes with the environment too. when everyone around you speaks broken english, you are bound to pick up bad habits that is thrown around.
likewise, some of my friends who studied in UK, their english improved a great deal, and came with an accent too haha.
so in the end, its not really our fault
same views as u, just that if i dun have A grade in Chinese i would be depressed liao siaoOriginally posted by patdog112:if i dun knoe how to speak english i wun be ashame.. if i dun know chinese i will feel ashame....
i am intersted in chinese all the way... failing any other subject i wont feel a thing but anything less than 65 for chinese i will feel sad..
beng beng! mai an ni kuan leh.Originally posted by passerbyJIA:What we are saying here is those Singaporeans who think that they are English speaking would stereotype Chinese speaking people as low class. Those who are truly English speaking typically are more tolerant.
Do I wanna unconsciously wear their cheena tags? No! I want to CONSCIOUSLY be one of them![]()
hahaha, I thought of this long time back, just never get around to post my thoughts, nice one. And may I add, some people got degree damn how lian lor, they look down on others lor, I am quite du lan lor, coz last time I don't study one, so when people give that kind of "i got degree you dun have" kind of attitude, i feel very du lan.Originally posted by Spartans:I noticed some Chinese youngsters nowadays take pride in not knowing how to speak Mandarin. Why is this so? And they feel pride and elite about it, ie only know how to speak English.
They think those who speak Mandarin more often are Cina people, lower class than them. WTH?
If you are a Chinese and you dun know how to speak your mother tongue language, that is a very sad thing. The least you can do is to start to learn, step by step. And not mocking around. "oh gosh, I dun know Mandarin at all. Gee... I only speak English. Speaking Mandarin so Cina."
zzzzz. cannot really understand their mindsets. There tend to be more "banana man" in Arts Faculty. Just my observation.
of course, man! i give only the best pointsOriginally posted by pokkagreentea:Good point. Environment and people can affect the way you carry your behaviour and your language. So unconciously, you will be 'influenced' in a way that you speak like your friends. e.g. your friends are mostly english-speaking ppl so you follow them and speak like english more often in your daily conversations.
lol omgOriginally posted by euc:my indian friend can sing beyond songs...in cantonese![]()
This depends on how u define 'cheena/cina". In the past, I thought cheena refers to the language slang and behavior of Chinamen. Only later did I notice that cheena refers to people who are more Mandarin/Chinese orientated, ie speak Mandarin, listen to Mandarin songs etc. This is the general view I got from around my campus.Originally posted by The Libertines:i thought cina ppl are those with a certain type of behaviour/character, (u can tell by the way the behave, dress and speak) and they tend to speak chinese more, not people who speak chinese. u can speak chinese and not be cina.
I know of such a person.Originally posted by thoreldan:u call them banana for a reason
white on the inside, yellow on the outside..
have you heard of a japanese who couldnt speak japanese?
When did Chinese Ah Bengs come into the picture? I thought we are talking about ordinary Singapore youngsters, some as young as primary school kids.Originally posted by trendz:Why do English-speaking people stereotype Chinese-speaking people as low-class? Please take a look at your lovely Chinese Ah Bengs. Do you wanna unconsciously wear their cheena tags?
read the sentence again LAH!Originally posted by Spartans:When did Chinese Ah Bengs come into the picture? I thought we are talking about ordinary Singapore youngsters, some as young as primary school kids.
yea..haha a disporportionally large amount of people here uses english in conversations for some reason..Originally posted by Spartans:![]()
I heard from my SMU friends that quite a large percentage of SMU students couldnt speak Mandarin. But their English are excellent.
But you can communicate with them in English rite. Nothing wrong in using English if the need arises.
agree x 2!Originally posted by motoway:i tok bout those who reali ARE acting Gantang. Those who are brought up from an Eng family ok lar.. Those who speak english for the sake of acting high class.. i cannot stand..
as a matter of fact, it's not about the accent. Let's just say when such people speak clear and concise English, you would have the notion that they're bragging or showing off. So you deemed the angmoh's English is way better than Asians and if that particular Asian fella is able to speak pretty well, your brain would be tuned to detecting that 'invisible accent.'Originally posted by Plastic Bag:Its not a nowadays trend. it has been like that for some time liaoz. and the worst of the kind are those having fake accents when they've been spending all their lives in Singapore.