Ermm.. i beg to differ. Last laugh? That's where you are wrong. But I won't deny the importance of Chinese though.Originally posted by TYING:My class last time full of this people. Chinese duno how on earth they get only a single digit. It really shows their intelligence cause frankly, the chinese paper standard in singapore is already considered very low, it IS possible to pass it even if you do not study. Dont say chinese, even the english also kns. Both language also cannot make it. Jia lat.
Everytime they try to use cheem cheem eng talk, i will always reply them in chi, they only know how to show me a blur look say what i talking, why i so chinese...
But in the end, other people in the world would have the last laugh at them.![]()
I am not sure how old you are...Originally posted by Spartans:I noticed some Chinese youngsters nowadays take pride in not knowing how to speak Mandarin. Why is this so? And they feel pride and elite about it, ie only know how to speak English.
They think those who speak Mandarin more often are Cina people, lower class than them. WTH?
If you are a Chinese and you dun know how to speak your mother tongue language, that is a very sad thing. The least you can do is to start to learn, step by step. And not mocking around. "oh gosh, I dun know Mandarin at all. Gee... I only speak English. Speaking Mandarin so Cina."
zzzzz. cannot really understand their mindsets. There tend to be more "banana man" in Arts Faculty. Just my observation.
better prepare ur flame shield.Originally posted by Seth35:Different Background people cannot get along....
I am from a Engish Ed school and family from young to old.....I cant get along with my Friends which are more chinese ed....
The Interests just dont click...
Whenever they ask me out for an outing....But i got to go to church to help out...They always think what i am doing is a Waste of time....But they just dont understand...
Worst of all is when they ask me to go KTV....And that is totally outta my Interest....
No offense but one thing about Chinese Ed people or my Those friends is...Their Kinda Stupid...
They know i dont go places like they do...And still they get worked up about it....
Hmm... sound ironic. "no offense" and "kinda stupid" usually dun mix together. Anyway I understand your point. KTVs are mainly Mandarin/Cantonese songs. Thus it wont be suitable for you if you only listen to English songs. Just tell your friends straight that you are not interested in KTV. Everything will be solved.Originally posted by Seth35:No offense but one thing about Chinese Ed people or my Those friends is...Their Kinda Stupid...
They know i dont go places like they do...And still they get worked up about it....
hahaha! I was wondering if u'd respond!Originally posted by Ferret:![]()
actually ok wad.. go ktv can sing Ang moh songs. although the MTV abit turn off..Originally posted by Spartans:To clarify, my initial post refer to people who speak English for the sake of acting high class while looking down on their own culture and language. This is a flawed mindset. It does not refer to English speaking people who grow up in English environment unless they got the above mentioned flawed mindsets.
Take Kbox for example. Their English songs are old, fake MTVs and very limited. Nobody will want to go there with e sole purpose of singing English songs right?Originally posted by motoway:actually ok wad.. go ktv can sing Ang moh songs. although the MTV abit turn off..![]()
I beg to differ...everyday i see ppl conserving in mandarin...on the trains, buses...office....and i see ppl rushing for the "My Paper" crap...Originally posted by Spartans:I noticed some Chinese youngsters nowadays take pride in not knowing how to speak Mandarin. Why is this so? And they feel pride and elite about it, ie only know how to speak English.
They think those who speak Mandarin more often are Cina people, lower class than them. WTH?
If you are a Chinese and you dun know how to speak your mother tongue language, that is a very sad thing. The least you can do is to start to learn, step by step. And not mocking around. "oh gosh, I dun know Mandarin at all. Gee... I only speak English. Speaking Mandarin so Cina."
zzzzz. cannot really understand their mindsets. There tend to be more "banana man" in Arts Faculty. Just my observation.
Agreed. I thought Mandarin is all the rage nowadays in Singapore, Hong Kong, and in the West as well. Read that Chinese Language is offered even in some American High Schools as an elective.Originally posted by In_Between_Days:I beg to differ...everyday i see ppl conserving in mandarin...on the trains, buses...office....and i see ppl rushing for the "My Paper" crap...
So no i don't think that's happening...even if they did speak english...it's not superb either....
So u are Jack of all language?Originally posted by Zarks:i talk mandarin a bit, cantonese a bit, hokkien a bit, hakka a bit, indian also a bit, even japanese and korean also a bit.. sigh.. not any language is a master