Originally posted by sniper_xp:The human brain forgets a new word if it is not repeated in the mind in the next 3 minutes so dont worry it is normal.To remember you have to repeat the words learned at certain intervals...the time span for the interval gets longer with each time.
Those with strong english vocab here lip lai!! Pls give ur 2 cents worth on how can i improve my vocab retention rate? I've come across many words via reading but can't seem to retain them in my memory, tend to forget them easily when i see them a 2nd time, or can't recall that word i wanna use
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u hw old oladi.
me small small dat time, oladi read thick thick books leh.
dats y me oways tell ppl... let ur kid read...
u 2 late oladi lah.
yupz. me had advised him oladi. thks fer the mention.Originally posted by sunny3510:ask Hello Kitty or Nismogal
Once you come across a chim chim word, check the meaning in a dictionary and use them.Originally posted by sniper_xp:Those with strong english vocab here lip lai!! Pls give ur 2 cents worth on how can i improve my vocab retention rate? I've come across many words via reading but can't seem to retain them in my memory, tend to forget them easily when i see them a 2nd time, or can't recall that word i wanna use
oh yesh!Originally posted by TehJarVu:read...
if u dun like reading, can start with the Life section of the straits times, and J.K. Rowling's books... these are light and fun reading...
if you don't know any word, CHECK THE DICTIONARY
and not just skim through...
read books recommended by mayi jie jie.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Write it down.