no wad, some uni cut time if u go poly, cause poly do some modules dat uni already done....Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:but going poly waste 1-2 years if you going university route...
cut at most 1 year.Originally posted by hiphop2009:no wad, some uni cut time if u go poly, cause poly do some modules dat uni already done....
not true for the high pay part...Originally posted by selfobliged:JC: Can go uni easily. But once ur grades are not good enough, u are stuck and can't go anywhere.
Poly: Must have GPA of at least 3.5 to enter Uni. But with a diploma cert, u can go to the workforce easily with high pay.
Even now single graders go to poly because there's more lab work. Unlike JC whereby they only study by the book.
who say dont have these two in poly?Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:no stupid PE lessons
no stupid CCA
no stupid PE lessonsAsking for a death wish.
no stupid CCA
High Pay? This is a misconception. No doubt there is a group that the poly uses to boast that by having their cert, the people can earn a lot but in reality, it is not true. As long as your qualifications is not as high as a degree, in most job lines, you're basically stuck at a certain level. If you have a degree, boundaries are endless.Originally posted by selfobliged:JPoly: Must have GPA of at least 3.5 to enter Uni. But with a diploma cert, u can go to the workforce easily with high pay.
some truth....given that most JC has extremely low entry point....also not interest in academic any more...Originally posted by cyberr1981:I heard from ppl around me and younger friends, most of them are choosing to go poly instead of JC.
dun realli understand, why they dun want to go uni. tried to persuade but to no avail.
I second that.Originally posted by simnatic:High Pay? This is a misconception. No doubt there is a group that the poly uses to boast that by having their cert, the people can earn a lot but in reality, it is not true. As long as your qualifications is not as high as a degree, in most job lines, you're basically stuck at a certain level. If you have a degree, boundaries are endless.
And replying to the threadstarter, this isn't really a trend. As a student, i've noticed that most people at the start of Sec 3 or Sec 4, say they want to go poly but a huge majority will change their minds (to JC) by the time the O Levels are near the corner.
Not easy to throw everything here and go overseas.Originally posted by fymk:It doesn't matter whether you go to JC or poly. I went to poly and went overseas for my bachelor degree. Now I finished my masters degree and going on to further study. However I have to get out of Singapore to accomplish what I have now.
It is what you make out of your life that matters. It is depends on your interest and your determination to make your way out into the world, or else you just end up in a dead end job just earning enough to pay the bills.
you is talking wad ?Originally posted by whereismyrib:While in my 3rd and final year, I also have this thought of regreting going JC, thinking go poly better. But grad liao, feel that I did not make the wrong choice.
it's not slack at all...well depends on your course. I used my hols to do my projectsOriginally posted by dbowie:well
most of my classmates want to take the poly route
more slack
no wad.Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:cut at most 1 year.
JC students can go uni at age 18lei....poly needs to go in at age 20. lag by 2 years....then cut by 1 year if same course as uni.
maybe whereismyrib re-coursed??Originally posted by spadeTwo:you is talking wad ?
jc 2 years only leh .
poly 3 years.
mi also at most 3 years.
you stardi where got 4 years de ?
poly needs to wait for O level results then can get in july.Originally posted by hiphop2009:no wad.
go jc:
2 years, den uni 3 years = 5 years
go poly
3 years, den uni 2 years (cut one year) = 5 years.
very much depends on the course u are taking in uni.
i can tell u time taken is very much the same.
you mean the sports and wellness module?Originally posted by Vigelic:who say dont have these two in poly?
poly got stupid ccas but up to u whether u want to join
ngee ann poly got stupid compulsory PE lesson
They purposely make you think they are all not studying hard but in the end, they secretly study hard and get into jc, leaving you in the dirt.Originally posted by dbowie:well
most of my classmates want to take the poly route
more slack