X2Originally posted by unclebutcher:many singaporeans can code switch.
when i'm with my friends, i speak with lah and lors etc
what talking formally, i speak pristine english.
GOT A DAMN PROBLEM WITH THAT, DORMITO GIRL ?
she will shoot you one big roundOriginally posted by yong93:X2![]()
This is s'pore tradition so please do not look down on that , not every other country people has the ability to do tt , take US for an example , have u seen the people frm the street speak good english or do you hear the prof. speakin street talk to the streeties ??
Nvm tt if u dun get it ...
Yup!Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Evasive answer? Your juvenile logic and eagerness to link race to this issue simply reflects your childish and racist mentality. Don't be a sore loser just because you can't outargue someone. Race has got NOTHING to do with this. Instead of refuting arguments, you bring in race. Heh. Such impeccable reasoning simply evades me.
By the way, it's DUBIOUS, not DOUBIOUS... And don't tell me like you misspelt it on PURPOSE, like the other chap. Steadfastdly? LOL.
This is hilarious... Commenting on one's standard of English doesn't necessarily make me an 'ang mor wannabe'. I seriously fail to understand how these 2 separate issues are linked into one. So if I am currently residing in Singapore, I would be entitled to make that comment without such lashback? No one's turning one's back on one's own kind.Originally posted by unclebutcher:There are many people in Singapore able to speak clear and pristine queen's english. So don't turn on your own kind, you ang moh wannabe.
As what he said, he despises the way in which GP is graded, as it is easy to get an A1. Well, according to your statement, that 'there are many people in Singapore who are able to speak clear and pristine Queen's English', then it would be reasonable to infer that they would have a pretty strong command of the English Language; and if that's the case, there should be a lot of people with excellent GP grades around, am I right? But that's not the case, isn't it?Originally posted by S.KCH:The whole paragraph about how easy it is to get an A1 in GP is exactly why I despise the manner in which it is graded. Because people who mug and stick to rigid formats stand a higher chance of scoring as opposed to people who truly have a flair for writing.
You're welcome.Originally posted by mancha:Yup!
Personality disorder.
Hypocritical obsessive-compulsive disorder.
You're mentally ill.
You manifest it yet again.
Oh BTW, thanks for the correction.
I don't have any compulsion for perfection.![]()
Like I said, you don't know the traits of this forum.
You're sick, kiddo.
My childhood is totally irrelevant to the issue at hand. But to satisfy your curiosity, well, I had a wonderful childhood, thank you. =)Originally posted by wxboi:farking hell. can't you just show some respect?
so what if many singaporeans speak bad english?
do you feel happy when you win in a quarrel or smth?
how was your childhood like?
Ya I didn't get A1 for GP..... A2 only.....Originally posted by Dormito_ger:As what he said, he despises the way in which GP is graded, as it is easy to get an A1. Well, according to your statement, that 'there are many people in Singapore who are able to speak clear and pristine Queen's English', then it would be reasonable to infer that they would have a pretty strong command of the English Language; and if that's the case, there should be a lot of people with excellent GP grades around, am I right? But that's not the case, isn't it?
On the other hand, if there aren't many who manage to obtain A1s in GP, where does that lead us to? Only a handful of people with good English? Only a few who can type/speak properly?
Of course you may argue that grades aren't exactly good indicators of one's standard of English. Well then, if so, I rest my case.
By the way, everyone has his/her own definition of clear and pristine English. I suppose your definition of Queen's English would be a mix of Singlish and Broken English? Or perhaps less broken English? Tsk, I doubt you even know what you're talking about dude.
eagle, no one said anything about speaking in clear and pristine Queen's english... I certainly did not. I would agree that, being able to switch between Singlish and standard English gives one an added advantage. And yes, the advent of the SMS culture and internet lingo has certainly caused a drop in English standard...Originally posted by eagle:Ya I didn't get A1 for GP..... A2 only.....
I wouldn't say I can speak clear and pristine Queen's English. Why should I? Our MM once said that the main purpose of a language is to make others understand you (statement with regards to Mandarin).
I have personally viewed, experienced, and did this:
1) When talking with Singaporeans in a foreign country, I used Singlish. We understood each other perfectly. However, foreigners do not understand us.
2) When communicating with foreigners, including students and professors, we used standard English. They understood us perfectly well. I can safely say that for the many Singaporean friends I know, most can switch between standard English and Singlish.
In addition, Singlish has it own sentence structures. Although it is "broken" English, it can also be viewed as something unique to us Singaporeans. The main advantage of Singlish I have experience so far is, being able to communicate fast between Singaporeans in a foreign country without foreigners understanding a large portion of what we said.
Being able to switch between Singlish and English also gives you an added advantage of being able to understand and communicate with almost everyone in Singapore, from Singaporeans with the lowest education to foreigners with a strong English background.
Just for interest: This same case of switching between proper and broken language is also present in Japan. This is largely due to the sms culture over there.
Great answer.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:You're welcome.
yeahOriginally posted by mancha:Great answer.
Get well soon.
Well, if my attitude/comments somehow offended your fragile sensitivities, that's too bad then. =)Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:LOL it's ironic how I'm not a Singaporean yet I'm extremely offended by her comments. Pretentious b*tches like dormito_ger shouldn't be allowed to live. Well I guess bagging out your own race makes you an ang moh now doesn't it? Congratulations on trying to become someone you're not!
Anyways you really should seek help, I think you're having an identity crisis. Well done in letting your friends influence you to such a point that you begin to hate your own race and pretend you're not who you really are.
What an analogy. Wow!Originally posted by gigabyte14:a singaporean trying to throw away her roots and be an angmoh when living in overseas...
and turns against her own country
no wonder we have wars
humans against humans![]()
how ridiculous
you're australian right? i remember that some time agoOriginally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:LOL it's ironic how I'm not a Singaporean yet I'm extremely offended by her comments. Pretentious b*tches like dormito_ger shouldn't be allowed to live. Well I guess bagging out your own race makes you an ang moh now doesn't it? Congratulations on trying to become someone you're not!
Anyways you really should seek help, I think you're having an identity crisis. Well done in letting your friends influence you to such a point that you begin to hate your own race and pretend you're not who you really are.
Originally posted by Dormito_ger:What an analogy. Wow!
Well said... Unfortunately, some people here THINK that the world revolves Singapore...Originally posted by hohaha:while Singlish connects among us Singaporean and reflects our identity, it does not gives us an edge in the business and multi-national world since we are dealing and have to deal with people of all nationalities.
Originally posted by mancha:Actually Singapore do not revolve around the world, but the world do revolve around Singapore.