Because you are pretty!Originally posted by Cool-gal:i always got mistaken as msian, filipine, vietnam & thai.![]()
maybe u shd behave n talk more like ah lian to differentiate from prcs lorOriginally posted by maggiemee11:This is a seriously IRRITATING phenomenon that started happening in recent years (maybe due to the influx of PRCs in Sg).
Basically, any 100% Singaporean female who happens to be:
- taller than 165 cm
- fair
- not typical spaghetti+jeans style
gets mistaken for a PRC.
And how do u know someone is mistaking u for a PRC?
- super sleazy taxi drivers who keep asking u where u from, even when u've repeated a gazillion times u r born n bred in choa chu kang
- aunties always staring at u like u killed their whole families
- go hawker centre n the uncles/aunties shout at u with very gei(fake) or forced mandarin "ni yao sherrrrr merrrrrrr?"
- go takashimaya n sometimes salesgals will whisper amongst themselves "aiyer, china girl also know how to shop here ah? hahaha....."
Wah lao, really kao bei kao bu kanasai man!! This is my country too ok! I m 4th generation peranakan somemore.
If u r a Singaporean guy n this happens to ur mother, wife or sister juz coz' they happen to not look typically S'porean, how would u feel?
Anyone here ever had similar experiences?
I get the opposite reaction! I am not Chinese and can't speak mandarin. Majority of the people think I am Chinese and will insist on speaking to me in Mandarin. When i ask them if they can speak English, they give me a look like I'm trying to be what I'm not! A few times, some PRC people make fun of me.Originally posted by ozon:everywhere i go, people will ask if im a singaporean.
whenever i speak mandarin to the service staff. Some will give a "fucking chinaman look/reply" to me.
knn!! Am i in my homeland or what?!
some more...Originally posted by New Creation:[quote]Originally posted by maggiemee11:
[b]This is a seriously IRRITATING phenomenon that started happening in recent years (maybe due to the influx of PRCs in Sg).
Basically, any 100% Singaporean female who happens to be:
- taller than 165 cm
- fair
- not typical spaghetti+jeans style
gets mistaken for a PRC.
YOu know in addition to above traits, PRC ladies exihibit other traits like
1) Usually very lousy dress sense, In Poka Dot top,
2) Carry really Lok-Kok Bag
3) The facial features.. just that PRc-ish look
4) their accent.
So basically.. i guess you just need to make sure u dress more high class, and speak singaporean english!!!.. Nice to wear some perfrume too!
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:no la.
got mistaken for a girl.
Originally posted by Kachui:Because you are pretty!
i do agree some PRC girls are quite nice..Originally posted by LancerVII:most of the singaporeans are biased against PRC girls.. I do agree that some PRC girls are s lu t t y and wanna go after guy's money.. but not every PRC girls are slutty or prostitute kind.. some are really those who come here and study and hope to have a better future.. and yet they got criticised by our fellow singaporeans.. I myself is a singaporean.. but put ourselves in their shoes, wad if u are really those decent type of PRC, came alone to spore to study, with no family with u and yet u got scolded as s lu t t y women, how will u feel?
yeah.. and your behaviour too..Originally posted by joilin:TS, I really understand how you feel.... I always mistaken for one too. Especially I go to wet market and hawker centre to buy food. The uncles will talk to me and stare at me. very irritating. Even I dun look at them, some will make funny noises just to grab my attention. Many people commented that I look very Cheena.
Just have to tahan it. Dressing properly really helps alot.
Good for u...Originally posted by MyParentsDunWanMe:I got mistaken for an AV Idol.![]()
latest statistic: 1 in 4 people here are PRCs!!!! going to faint..see and hear them everywhere I go..Originally posted by adetet:I get the opposite reaction! I am not Chinese and can't speak mandarin. Majority of the people think I am Chinese and will insist on speaking to me in Mandarin. When i ask them if they can speak English, they give me a look like I'm trying to be what I'm not! A few times, some PRC people make fun of me.
I also wonder if I'm in my homeland as since when we become like a bleedy PRC colony.
r u sure??Originally posted by TXian:latest statistic: 1 in 4 people here are PRCs!!!! going to faint..see and hear them everywhere I go..
there will be time dat we might be minority.Originally posted by udontknowme:r u sure??
cos if that's the case, then i think half of the people in singapore are PRs and foreigners...?
wow. so only 50% of the people in singapore are actually singaporeans??
Can I buy you drinks, dinner and a movie!!!!!!!Originally posted by MyParentsDunWanMe:I got mistaken for an AV Idol.![]()
that's what i hear.Originally posted by 798:there will be time dat we might be minority.
actually i can understand why the government is importing prc here. cos the chinese birth population is declining comparing to malays. they r worrying dat one of these days we r outnumbered by malays n let's not forget we r sandwiched by countries whom r malays too.
sure, if they are zhen cai shi liao, they are good to come. But what are most of them? I don't doubt there are good ones. But all it takes is just a few black sheeps. Many come here to bait for "rich" singaporean men. How many families have been destroyed by them?Originally posted by nehpyh:Wa....
As long as you are Chinese, your heritage originates from China what...so what's all these mistaken for PRC cr*p about? (ok la, ranting. I know...)
There are also SG girls who goes after money, freelance as pros, etc...so same same la...
End of the day, treat others as you wish how others would treat you ok liao lo...
Ever thought of how the PRC think you us then??? Can't speak proper mandarin without resulting to singlish to proof upmanship, poor master of language, poor sense of customer service compared to other asian countries, money culture, no heritage, etc...sigh...
I'm a 'Teo-Kien' - father Teo Chew and mother Hokkien, and both my grandparents are from China. Then, only the successful Chinese stays in China! So that make me descendant of CMI Chinese migrants?!! Look at Little India every Sunday...just like the 30s what...coolie workers everywhere....some will stay behind, get married and their kid will become a laywer or Bollywood celebrity.... !
Please be open minded and objective lo....I went for an interview at an US MNC recently and guess what? The HOD is a Shanghai lady in her 30s!!!!!!!! Her Shanghai-nese accented english was strong but she's smart and aggressive....
Wah lau, like that think also sianz 1/2.