No sir, just some of the boys i met, they can boost their flamboyance and machoism with each other, but when they meet us, they look like a mouse..Originally posted by THE ANALYST:Angel 7030, are you saying that I am one of those who like to whine and be timid in front of the gal?
cause they look at u.Originally posted by angel7030:No sir, just some of the boys i met, they can boost their flamboyance and machoism with each other, but when they meet us, they look like a mouse..
No i am not kidding.Originally posted by Gedanken:Tell me you're kidding.
No i am not clueless.U are wrong. Going solo i am game for it. In fact i agree. However, my respond is not about wooing girls now. Its trying to bad mouth them , or anything gender related in anything ranging from arguments to generalising them , they will stand together. THAT was my point. Unfortunately many have misunderstood.Originally posted by ScottishBeef:You are absolutely clueless.
It's EASIER and more challenging to approach a group of women as a single guy, it shows a high level of confidence/self awareness.
Chances are, if you approach a group of women, at least one will be interested in you, because women feel more comfortable in groups, and are less defensive than when they are by themselves, expecting every guy that comes up to them to hit on them.
Nothing sadder than a whole group of single guys roaming around looking for easy pickings.
but it's getting more and more ridiculous lehOriginally posted by EarlNeo:Why close the thread? It is very entertaining and enlightening at the same time. Its always great to have a view of other people perspective at time. Make u look at the world a whole new way again. Else life is just going to be way too bore to even worth living.
moiOriginally posted by angel7030:No sir, just some of the boys i met, they can boost their flamboyance and machoism with each other, but when they meet us, they look like a mouse..
Well, i thot army boys must parade themselve smartly to face the public, how can u go up a bus or MRT smelling like shit, look at those US army, when they check out the camp, they are so smartly dressed decorated with medals and guy's perfume ready to embrace their love ones.Originally posted by Gedanken:Say what?
Going shopping in uniform? WTF happened to this man's army?!
To point out something obvious enough for Stevie Wonder to see, officer cadets are called cadets because they've still got their training wheels on - they're not real soldiers yet. For all of your nattering about what SAF stands for, you seem to have GQ in mind instead.
Not all of us are REMFs who have the luxury of prettying themselves up for the ignorant public's benefit. When I've just spent five days out in the field eating canned slop and taking cover in the least damp spot I can find, the first thing I'm going to do when I get back to barracks is drop my gear, get an order list from all the lads of what they want to eat and head down to the nearest hawker centre to get it. If you happen to be in the neighbourhood when I'm there, rest assured that your olfactory sensibilities sit right at the bottom of my list of priorities, if they make the list at all. I've got absolutely no problems about how I smell because I've gotten that way doing real work, useless concessions to Miss Manners' code of hygiene be damned.
What do you know of how other countries' populations treat their national servicemen? When we were in Taiwan, we stank to high heaven after trudging over hill after hill throughout the day, and civilians still came up to us and offered us shelter in their own homes so we wouldn't have to spend the night freezing our nuts off. It's a far cry from your call for a pretty, sweet-smelling, spit-and-polish army - them folks had a clear idea of what soldiers do, which is more than I can say for you.
Until you get a clue of what soldiering's about, I suggest that you steer clear of the topic - frankly, you're too ignorant to have any business telling anyone what a soldier should do. There's no demand for absolute deference to NS men, but this sort of sanctimony is ludicrous, especially when coming from someone who obviously lacks the first clue.
Do u know the meaning of "us", not me only ok.Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:cause they look at u.
see a cat
I dun hold anything, it sound dirty to me to hold on to something.Originally posted by THE ANALYST:I do agree that while soldiers are out there doing hard training in the field, they should make the effort to look clean and decent once they are out of camp.
In that respect, Angel 7030 has a point.
And to Angel 7030, I already made my most sincerest apologies if I sounded confrontational, do you still hold it against me?![]()
Oh, so now you're an expert on American military affairs, are you? How much time have you spent stateside, and how many American soldiers do you know? Do you know any army wives, Singaporean or otherwise, and how they view their husbands' jobs? If not, what can you claim about knowing about the successful women behind the successful soldiers?Originally posted by angel7030:Well, i thot army boys must parade themselve smartly to face the public, how can u go up a bus or MRT smelling like shit, look at those US army, when they check out the camp, they are so smartly dressed decorated with medals and guy's perfume ready to embrace their love ones.
If your seniors never teach you about hygiene and serve the public well, i think most of our taxes paid to SAF must hv gone to waste. For every successful soldier, there stand behind a successful woman with him thru thick and thin.
I may be not be a soldier, but I had been a school brownie before, we had 2 sets of uniform, and we were told after training to clean ourselve up, wear the new uniform nicely to give a good impression upon the public that we are discipline and ready to serve.
As far as this is concern, soldier should hve a good image in the public, for your training, of course you can be dirty and smelly, if not you aint a good soldier. And lastly if not the least, good soldier don't whine, respect the ladies and carry on with his job.
If that was the full extent of Angel's point, I'd never have taken exception. On the other hand, if someone's going to go saying stupid things, I've got no qualms about setting them straight.Originally posted by THE ANALYST:I do agree that while soldiers are out there doing hard training in the field, they should make the effort to look clean and decent once they are out of camp.
In that respect, Angel 7030 has a point.
I appreciate the sentiment, but rest assured there's nothing confrontational or "emotional" about this - I'm just telling it the way it is.Originally posted by THE ANALYST:Gendaken,
while Angel 7030 might not be right in every way, please do not sound too confrontational. Relax and take things easy! We can all resolve our differences and come to consensus as long as we use our head instead of just slagging each other off and becoming emotional.![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:All we've heard is the threadstarter's side of the story. We don't know if:
1) The three girls in question are Singaporeans
2) Said three girls are from university
What we do know is that the TS is a whingy little piece of work who blames parents NS and anything he can get his hands on to blame for his failures. All Singaporean males are subject to NS, and many, if not most, Singaporeans experience parental pressure. Why does this guy fail when many other Singaporeans succeed? Let's face it - if any one of us came across someone who loves whinng about everything under the sun instead of getting his act sorted out, would we want to associate with such a sad and sorry individual?
Let's take a reality check here, folks. It's not about Singaporean girls or guys, it's not about whether anyone is from university or not - it's just about this one loser.
MR. Gedanken? I find you very ungentleman, and so what that i admit with a 'no' for your enquries in whether i have been thru army hardship, I am a gal ok, why should i go thru that, and you keep whining here about your hardship and pain in the army. COme on men! you are a guy ok. Take the hardshp and endure with it, haven't you learn tolerance???.Originally posted by Gedanken:Oh, so now you're an expert on American military affairs, are you? How much time have you spent stateside, and how many American soldiers do you know?
Ooooh, school Brownies - I guess that makes you a twenty-star general, doesn't it? Wake up and smell the coffee. Did you have to stay out for weeks at a time without resupply, much less amenities such as showers? Have you been stuck in the middle of a 6-hour downpour with no hope of even a change of socks for the next week? Have you carried 55kg of gear on your back up and down thickly-forested hills for 35 kilometres, then make sure your post is hidden not only from your surroundings but from the air as well, and then uproot everything the next morning to do it all over again day after day?
If the answer to the above is no, then get a grip and stop trying to pretend that you know what you're talking about.
Your ignorance is astounding. Your pitiful tax dollars don't go to creating pretty boys who strut up and down MRT stations smelling like a bunch of roses - your tax dollars go to making sure your ungrateful arse is kept safe.
I'll concede that when booking out, soldiers are expected to maintain a minimum of bearing and presentation. What I have a problem with is your sweeping generalisation that soldiers need to be prettied up like OCS cadets, clean-shaven, dressed in long sleeves and (gag) looking handsome.
Yes, I've done the whole prettied-up routine as part of the guard of honour at the NDP. The fact is that it's got bugger-all to do with being a good soldier - give me a sloppy, stinky bugger who can shoot straight and cover my back anytime.
Hell, I'm well out of the game these days so I don't have a vested interest. I've traded in camouflage gear for merino wool, Egyptian cotton and hand-woven silk, but having been on the sharp end on national policy, I'll always give the respect that our lads in uniform deserve instead of harping on about irrelevant BS.
Then perhaps you should phrase your replies more clearly.Originally posted by BadzMaro:No i am not clueless.U are wrong. Going solo i am game for it. In fact i agree. However, my respond is not about wooing girls now. Its trying to bad mouth them , or anything gender related in anything ranging from arguments to generalising them , they will stand together. THAT was my point. Unfortunately many have misunderstood.
Ahhhh, OK.Originally posted by angel7030:MR. Gedanken? I find you very ungentleman, and so what that i admit with a 'no' for your enquries in whether i have been thru army hardship, I am a gal ok, why should i go thru that, and you keep whining here about your hardship and pain in the army. COme on men! you are a guy ok. Take the hardshp and endure with it, haven't you learn tolerance???.
Since history, men are suppose to take care of womenfolks and childrens, and right here, you are whining about all the difficulties in the army and asking me to compare with it, ya, MR. you very good, worked so hard, trained so hard, but so are all the others, it is a Call of DUTY ok! A duty you can uphold and check out nicely to embrace by your love ones.
For you info, about those US army uniform, I only watched it on movies.
Your whining self do confess that you need to check out of you hotel camp at least be presentable enough not to stink the MRT or other public places, I am not asking soldiers to be on par with cadets, but at least smell normal ok. And if the SAF soldiers cannot discipline themselves to stay clean and nice in the public, i dun think they are going to shoot straight as one lack the discipline of being a soldier but rather just go thru the motion to complete his NS only.
1) Army boys cannot smoke in public in their No.4 and that's all I know. When i 'm in reservist now, i smoked like nobody's business in my no.4. And I think u had watched too much TV liao. If you stayed near Tanah Merah, you will know that at Tanah Merah MRT station, there's always alot of saliors from US Navy. They book out in CV (if u understand wat is CV). And some of them stink. yes they do. Cos they are human too.Originally posted by angel7030:Well, i thot army boys must parade themselve smartly to face the public, how can u go up a bus or MRT smelling like shit, look at those US army, when they check out the camp, they are so smartly dressed decorated with medals and guy's perfume ready to embrace their love ones.
If your seniors never teach you about hygiene and serve the public well, i think most of our taxes paid to SAF must hv gone to waste. For every successful soldier, there stand behind a successful woman with him thru thick and thin.
I may be not be a soldier, but I had been a school brownie before, we had 2 sets of uniform, and we were told after training to clean ourselve up, wear the new uniform nicely to give a good impression upon the public that we are discipline and ready to serve.
As far as this is concern, soldier should hve a good image in the public, for your training, of course you can be dirty and smelly, if not you aint a good soldier. And lastly if not the least, good soldier don't whine, respect the ladies and carry on with his job.
First, I hope u quit smoking, bad for health, secondly, u smoke with uniform on is quite a disrespect of the arm forces. Thirdly, am i correct to say that SAF after training so hard was not even tested. What happen if there is going to be an invasion? And fourthly as most of u are just passing time, if there is really an invasion, are all of u going to migrant out of singapore first or maybe the colonel run first??Originally posted by oldkid:1) Army boys cannot smoke in public in their No.4 and that's all I know. When i 'm in reservist now, i smoked like nobody's business in my no.4. And I think u had watched too much TV liao. If you stayed near Tanah Merah, you will know that at Tanah Merah MRT station, there's always alot of saliors from US Navy. They book out in CV (if u understand wat is CV). And some of them stink. yes they do. Cos they are human too.
2) FYI, u r correct, it is a waste but then, to some working adults, going reservist is like a holiday. And by the way, its not us who wasted the tax payers' money, i'm a tax payer too! We're merely answer the call of duty from gahmen. Think properly, US is a country that will always go to war or conflict. Sg is not.
3) What i remembered from my NSF time is that we had 4 sets of uniform, one of them will be the smartest 4. You are brownie during your ECA where you are not confined in a location for long period of time. Imagine been a brownie for 5 days straight from the moment u wake up til u sleep, Mondays to Fridays Imagine been like this for 2 yrs... for every single day (except weekends and public holidays). So for us guys, we already bo chap. Even female regulars also bo chap. I used to serve 5.5 days for 2.5 yrs.... sad.
4) I think the general public has quite a good understanding of wat the SAF is all about. And about good soldiers don't whine? I dun think so. Seen alot of high fliers whining about cookhouse food sucks.
And yes. I agree. Most if not all NSF are going through motion to complete NSF. For those garang one, they usually end up quite sad. haha
Perhaps I've mistakenly ascribed an unrealistically high level of abstraction to you. If so, I am remiss in expecting you to conclude that the problems that I have highlighted need to be addressed.Originally posted by OneWithTheForce:And Gedanken,
It sounds like you must have life fully under control, with a veritable harem of Jamie Yeo caliber ladies.
Since you sound so sophisticated, classy, intelligent and educated, perhaps you wouldn't mind showing your copious Singaporean generosity and help me become a better person, like yourself?
I mean, it's easy for everyone to be a critic.
But it takes style, class and maturity to go beyond just abusing people, and being generous with your time and knowledge, to be someone who inspires others, to be a great as you possibly can,...and you are such a person, yes?
Yours sincerely,
OWTF.