That might be the case, but if you really wanted to use a taxi to get to the hospital as quickly as possible, wouldn't you flag one down, have it take you there, and then worry about getting the money to pay the fare after your loved one is admitted, rather than waste time running around asking for money to pay the fare before the ride? Besides, if it were a real emergency, the taxi driver might even waive the fare.Originally posted by royston_ang:You are wrong, it is much faster to borrow some money, get a taxi and go straight to the hospital then wait for the ambulance to come.
You are being very optimistic to assume that the taxi driver will waive the fare. Remember, this is SINGAPORE after all, where everything is about money (even our ministers need to be well-paid to be corruption free).Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:That might be the case, but if you really wanted to use a taxi to get to the hospital as quickly as possible, wouldn't you flag one down, have it take you there, and then worry about getting the money to pay the fare after your loved one is admitted, rather than waste time running around asking for money to pay the fare before the ride? Besides, if it were a real emergency, the taxi driver might even waive the fare.
It might be dangerous to move the victim in some medical emergencies, in which case it would probably be more prudent to wait for the ambulance to arrive and the paramedics to stabilize the victim's condition.
Originally posted by royston_ang:You are being very optimistic to assume that the taxi driver will waive the fare. Remember, this is SINGAPORE after all, where everything is about money (even our ministers need to be well-paid to be corruption free).
This once I had an indian lady with a kid asking for a dollar eighty so she could take a train back to jurong from city hall.Originally posted by New Creation:A fortnight ago, i encountered a new kind of scam. It was 12mn, and i was sitting in my living room, reading my newspaper. My wooden door was opened, (but the metal grille was locked lar), because i wanted to enjoy the natural breeze. Then suddenly, a malay lady approached me. And she appeared really distraught and at a loss.
She said that her husband is working in the late shift, and that her baby infant is running a severe fever. She says she has run out of cash at home, but she urgently needs the money to bring her baby to A&E. Somemore, she stressed that she lives one unit above me. (I am indeed aware that my neighbours upstairs is a muslim family, so i never doubted this part of the plot).
Out of sympathy, i gave her a $50 note, and she said she will return the money to me. within the night itself or the next day when here hubby returns from work. But yeah, in the end, u know.. i didnt get the $ lar. I went up one level to speak to my muslim neighbours and they denied having any persons with a baby infant in the household.
The cheater's plot is credible because
1) Some muslim families are indeed so poor that at times, there will be no $ at home one.
2) It is common, that Muslim Men are really hardworking people, and they will work late shifts to earn more $ to support their family.
3) The cheater already knows that the neighbours living above me are muslim family, so it was easy to lie the premise of her story that she lives upstairs.
4) Manipulation of a mother's love for her infant child. Wah this really got to me. My heart jz caved in to this.
so Yeah. kudos to such a Brillant plot. KNN.. I admit defeat ler.. ;-(
cuz its at 12 mnOriginally posted by applesweetgirl:it sounded like a ghost story to me.
No matter how alert u are.. in times of emergency u will still fail to response rationally. My Prof is a clever person but kena "con" for 50k by stock. Therefore, this tells u that no matter how alert or clever u are, u will bound to response in a irrational wayOriginally posted by New Creation:Actually, u know what after reading ur reply,, Shucks!!!! I realized that the best remedy, is to Ask her to show me her NRIC Card, cz the NRIC CARD will state here address.. and i will know if she is indeed staying one unit above me!!!!.
Aiyah!!! Why i so stupid!!!1 ;-(
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:err...may sound trivial...but ambulance for emergency is 995...
And that part should have been the [b]dead giveaway that you were being scammed.
Think about it: if you had a family member at home in dire need of emergency medical attention, would you be wasting time running around the block asking for money to transport said family member to the hospital, or would you be on the phone post-haste calling 999 for an ambulance?[/b]
maybe kacau kacau.Originally posted by huiz:pontianak cheat his money for what? can they spend sg money?![]()
Originally posted by newcomer:u from new creation ah? christina rite?
orh hor..... u say bad word. u say knn... jesus don't like u anymore.
what is kacau kacau?Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:maybe kacau kacau.
distub distubOriginally posted by huiz:what is kacau kacau?