Ya, diggin my nostrils now.Originally posted by fymk:Ai yo what's your fascination with digging holes. Your hole not dug enough issit?
Like I said Singapore has her pros and cons , just like any country. Why do you think people in Speaker's corner are talking about migration? Because most of them see more cons like me , that is why I migrated.Originally posted by richong 3216:Pt 1. If u read my post carefully what I said was "to me am r am nothing more, nothing less" which to me is visible, specific & measurable & not a generalization as u have commented. You said u know of a few am who r multi lingual but in sg almost all of us r at least bi-lingual.
Pt 2. What is the reason behind the so called conformity as stated by u? I think the main reason the conformity is that everything is going & working well for sg & many r satisfied with the status quo otherwise why should the people keep on voting in the present govt term after term?.
Regarding the airport & seaport standings I said that "for being 1st (if not 2nd)" & not saying that sg is always 1st in the world. You said sg is not the best seaport but the busiest sea port - dont u think busiest is something as good as the best?.
Sorry have to go for 'happy hour ' with my buddies - already late half hr.
Will catch up with u after I am back this evening. Happy posting to all.
Originally posted by Jem777:Funny, that when I was working with Bangladeshis (for you PC freaks), I called them Banglas day and night and they were not even affected by the term. Sure it may carry a little negative connotation amongst the general public, then again it's a common local colloquial.
Oh yeah, so I'm a racist now because I discuss about a racist term. Sweet.
different people different choices laOriginally posted by angel7030:Alamak, in terms of talking and comparing about infrastructures, social economy and cultures, there is no ending, there are advantages and disadvantages in all countries conern, some are better in certain ways, while other are better in another way.
So, Uncles, Aunties, Kor kor, didi, jie jie and mei mei, it no use aruging and defending oneself here. Just be practical like me, i go for human comparison with the opinon that ang mos are big and romantic , no issue about it, i think my aunt fymk will agree with me.
Right or not Aunt? u same same me seeing ang mos ya.
totally different from your happy forumOriginally posted by gigabyte14:different people different choices la
and flame until 60+ pages
lol
why lehOriginally posted by eagle:totally different from your happy forum
Correct lor! then why someone ask people to stop posting, peoples hv choices mah, that is why got Aunt, Uncle, young ones, fat, thin, sexy, ugly, handsome, big, pretty, normal, etc etc. You just respect that choices made by people and u will be safe and cool.Originally posted by gigabyte14:different people different choices la
and flame until 60+ pages
lol
then why do you continue replying themOriginally posted by angel7030:Correct lor! then why someone ask people to stop posting, peoples hv choices mah, that is why got Aunt, Uncle, young ones, fat, thin, sexy, ugly, handsome, big, pretty, normal, etc etc. You just respect that choices made by people and u will be safe and cool.
Aunt, u migrated that is your choice lor, but me and uncle very happy here, got lots of happy hour here, it's my motherland, my singapore, I love singapore. For you info, the speakers' corner now nobody talk liao, hope u are not conned. Ah..maybe u migrated because of love for ang mo, dun worry, i may follow yr footstep soon. But i love singapore foods, pubs, ah peks, aunties, uncles, boys, disco and the kopitiam where i can dig nose anytime.Originally posted by fymk:Like I said Singapore has her pros and cons , just like any country. Why do you think people in Speaker's corner are talking about migration? Because most of them see more cons like me , that is why I migrated.
Singapore makes a great port because she is well located due to natural geography. It doesn't mean that she is the best port in the world. She is busy because of the necessity for ships to pass through her location. Now even Shanghai has overtaken her.
In Quebec, most are bilingual and they have 7 million people. So what is so great about bragging about bilingual languages? How about Finland ? Finland they are at least bilingual and most of the well educated finns are tri lingual. One is a province of canada and the other is a country , both of which have major am population and larger than Singapore. Another fine example of a country which has the one of the highest literacy rates in the world is Sweden - swedish curriculum is bilingual - they learn swedish and they learn english.
Good to have Singaporean pride , however with your statements , it just seem a tad too arrogant for me.
my choice mah?Originally posted by gigabyte14:then why do you continue replying them![]()
Dear sirOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:Hope you had a good lunch. I've got a few points of my own:
1. I've lost count of the number of pages that have passed since I asked someone to define how white people are overrated. What are they made out to be so capable of? No one has answered that yet.
I shall infer from your post that you would define that false notion as 'white people are better than Singaporeans'. Now I'll address your points:
2. Many white people can speak and write in both English and French/Dutch/German/Italian/Spanish/Portuguese/Swedish/Finnish/Norwegian/Danish/
Polish/Hungarian/Czech/Estonian/Latvian/Lithuanian/Russian/Welsh/Greek/etc, and some can communicate in Mandarin.
3. Sure, we can be proud of some of the things we have achieved, but we aren't among the top in lots of other things also. Other countries have things to offer too us too (space, proximity to nature and outdoor activities, an environment conducive to creativity, etc), which migrants might value more than what you've mentioned, in the same way that some white visitors adore life here.
4. Many of the white people who come here are friendly, well-travelled and open-minded. I rarely have problems striking up conversations with them. Of course that doesn't always apply to those who haven't been out of their countries other than in cyberspace - but such people still exist in that mix.
I don't agree with you. I am seeing a jew and they are not exactly ang moh since they are actually semitic people.Originally posted by angel7030:Alamak, in terms of talking and comparing about infrastructures, social economy and cultures, there is no ending, there are advantages and disadvantages in all countries conern, some are better in certain ways, while other are better in another way.
So, Uncles, Aunties, Kor kor, didi, jie jie and mei mei, it no use aruging and defending oneself here. Just be practical like me, i go for human comparison with the opinon that ang mos are big and romantic , no issue about it, i think my aunt fymk will agree with me.
Right or not Aunt? u same same me seeing ang mos ya.
Now Shanghai first in cargo tonnage. Anything else to say? Singapore already lost alot of first places - let's see - SIA not first anymore, Changi not first anymore. Actually I would place the blame on million dollar ministers who cannot think ahead like CEOs.Originally posted by angel7030:Aunt, u migrated that is your choice lor, but me and uncle very happy here, got lots of happy hour here, it's my motherland, my singapore, I love singapore. For you info, the speakers' corner now nobody talk liao, hope u are not conned. Ah..maybe u migrated because of love for ang mo, dun worry, i may follow yr footstep soon. But i love singapore foods, pubs, ah peks, aunties, uncles, boys, disco and the kopitiam where i can dig nose anytime.
My family run a trading firm here, i used to go PSA to see that our containers get loaded and downloaded, wow! very fast and efficient, our port workers work 24/11, the wharf is so clean and the water is deep enough for even the biggest Merchant ship. PSA is the interchange cargo port for the region, ship owners told me despite the high cost here, they still come here, because here things get done effectively and efficiently than port pelapas and other indonesia ports. The next port i had been to is in Holland, Rotterdam, a major port for Europe, they are effective but not that efficient, cos they alway got workers' union problem. Rotterdam and Singapore PSA currently are the only 2 best ports in the world. At time PSA is 1st and sometime Rotterdam is first, what the ship owners judged in this 2 ports is Rotterdam have a good storage system, lot of wharfs for a big market euro trading and good deep water. What singapore is good is the people, the Port workers of singapore, 3 shift non stop, well managed, no strike, good tripartism and most importantly, good infrastructure, quick and fast loading. If we only got the space, we can alway beat rotterdam. And mine me, Holland is also the centre of drugs smuggling in Europe, and their port tell it all.
Shanghai first in cargo tonnage. Meaning their export import volume? or trans-shipment activities ? Tonnage can be due to high export/import trading.Originally posted by fymk:Now Shanghai first in cargo tonnage. Anything else to say? Singapore already lost alot of first places - let's see - SIA not first anymore, Changi not first anymore. Actually I would place the blame on million dollar ministers who cannot think ahead like CEOs.
I am not as dense as you to migrate because of the reason you have given. Where there is a dream to fulfil and money to be made , who gives a crap about whether it is China or Australia or even India.
Of course, some of us are not as lucky as u are to depend on family owned business with containers . If your family is rich and can own containers , of course Singapore is a haven for you. Some of us have to actually work and not depend on parent's money , you know?
Talk to the hand - Terminator.Originally posted by Hello Kitty:kao bei lah.
And that would change the situation how? It'd just be a wrong term imo, akin to calling everyone from the Middle East an Arab when there are other ethnicities there (Kurds/Jews/Persians). It's just like the time where I called my Sri Lankan friend an Indian (ethnicity, not nationality), and he seemed quite peeved.Originally posted by gigabyte14:![]()
try saying that to an indian![]()
I went back, mate, and this is the post I found:Originally posted by richong 3216:Dear sir
"What are they made out to be capable of? No one has answered that yet"
Please read to my post on page 41 dated 27.12.08 in which I gave my take on why ang mos are overrated.
What is this image? I presume that the underlined is your answer to that. Do you want to add anything else to it?Originally posted by richong 3216:From what I can see thru all the years, I believe as a generalization, most sgreans have a slight to moderate overrating of the ang mohs for the folowing reasons:
1) The am in sg r usually the cream or elite from all the am countries - they r successful, urban, suaze, well dressed & mannered etc (the young ones r not exactly what's just be said, but many of our locals regard them as 'hip & cool').
You dont see a am hawker, am coffee shop asst, am cleaner etc & so over a period of time the aforesaid images are psychologically embedded in one's thinking.
2) Most sgreans must communicate in the am language i.e. English & this will further enhance & reinforce the 1st reason listed above.
Personally my take is that I'll treat/interact any am as any am but of course u must have some compatibility in terms of communication/language skills, knowledge & similar wavelengths for a effective & meaningful 2 way dialogue.
Sorry I could continue last night because I was a little tipsy (only 1.5 glass of beer!!!) when I came back after I gave my buddies a treat because I just got a small windfall on No. 3585 (3rd prize on wed 4 d draw).Originally posted by Kuali Baba:What is this image? I presume that the underlined is your answer to that. Do you want to add anything else to it?
Like I said before , use your brains before you speak. Richong referred to Singapore being the best because it was the busiest . So if Shanghai is the busiest now - won't it be the best in his definition?Originally posted by jojobeach:Shanghai first in cargo tonnage. Meaning their export import volume? or trans-shipment activities ? Tonnage can be due to high export/import trading.
Considering almost everything is "Made in China" nowadays due to exchange rate.
But it does not means the port is high in efficiency ratings.
So why you choose Australia leh ? Because there's Jews there ?
I thought Israel has the most Jews ????
See see, there you go again.
Why so sour grapes about others having it easy ?
Just because you don't have well to do parents, means you must chide those who do ? Please lah.
You seen too many nuah nuah Ah xia kia , that's why.
Lady stop making yourself look stupid, ok?Originally posted by fymk:Like I said before , use your brains before you speak. Richong referred to Singapore being the best because it was the busiest . So if Shanghai is the busiest now - won't it be the best in his definition?
Not sour grapes - ever heard of humble pie coz you need to eat one . I have well to do middle class parents - their money is theirs , the money I earn is mine. Unlike you , I don't depend on their money like a piece of cancerous tumour or you boasting about having someone washing your undies. I prefer people who can strike it out on their own and make it.
Or are you just another Wee Shu Min wannabe with the "go wash my elite underwear" twist?
Once again , I repeat and let me make it clearer - the statement was to richong - if you don't open your mouth , no one know if you are dumb.Originally posted by jojobeach:Shianghai is busiest, but not the best. If you ever been there and tried using their service before, you'd KNOW they are not efficient AT ALL.
You have well to do middle class parents. But they don't want to gib you their money. Too bad lor.
Since they want you to earn your own keeps, no need to be bitter about it what.
Wee Shu Min ? HAhahahah.. that ugly rich kid ? Nah, I'm better looking than her. And got elite underwear meh ? Where ? No such brand wor.