Yes, engagement ring. No need diamond.Originally posted by GwenSilvz:I intend to propose some time this year.. and how do I go about doing it?
I heard there's 2 significant of rings needed? Engagement ring and wedding ring?
Engagement ring only need 1 to propose or do I need one as well?
Is it a must to have diamond on engagement ring? I don't intend to have one. Not that I'm cheapskate or not unable to afford but because I have a special and meaningful reason for not having it.
Say I've already proposed, what's next?
ROM? As good as legally married?
And when do we exhange vows?
And how many gatherings or ceremony I have to go through (Traditional chinese and Catholic)?
Please advice!
Attention seeker,is it? I will not preferred to have proposal with crowd around...Originally posted by Maith:just now at the countdown at vivocity,at the skygarden there,got one guy suddenly propose to her gf seh...with one small bunch of flowers,a little diamond ring,guts and sincerity. With all this,she sure yours liao...my gf said its very sweet somemore![]()
no idea about sg but certainly over here the traditional is usually diamond on the engagement ring and metal only wedding - mainly because the wedding ring is supposed to be worn all the time so it makes sense for it to be more durable and less easily damaged. the engagement ring is often only worn on special occasions once the marriage has happened so it can afford to be more showy and spectacular. the wedding rings a symbol of a promise and love not wealth imo.Originally posted by jojobeach:Yes, engagement ring. No need diamond.
Yes, wedding band, best have diamond or whichever kind of precious stone your new wife prefers. Because wedding band is the one that is more significant.
Yes Jezmeister, in the US of A.Originally posted by Jezmeister:no idea about sg but certainly over here the traditional is usually diamond on the engagement ring and metal only wedding - mainly because the wedding ring is supposed to be worn all the time so it makes sense for it to be more durable and less easily damaged. the engagement ring is often only worn on special occasions once the marriage has happened so it can afford to be more showy and spectacular. the wedding rings a symbol of a promise and love not wealth imo.
You only need the engagement ring to propose... I think a lot of people like to get the wedding rings together as part of the preparation for the wedding rather than with the engagement ring.
just remember ultimately what engagement ring you get should be up to your gf/fiance not you - it's her who has to wear it, so even if you get it without showing her make sure it's with what she likes in mind - the sorta stuff she usually wears would be a good place to get ideas
I don't know about New York either tyvm I'm British not American, from the original City of York in fact.Originally posted by jojobeach:Yes Jezmeister, in the US of A.
It is rather impractical, isn't it ?
If the engagement gets called off, who gets to keep the ring ?
Nowadays wedding rings are made of platinum/other hardy metals. No longer the softer metals like pure gold.
If the wedding band is the one that gets most worn, isn't it better to make THAT one more nicer than the engagement ring ?
If you ask any girl which would they prefer to wear everyday, they'd choose the nicer ring.
I don't know about New York, but where I live, they wear the Engagement ring AND the Wedding band together. Everyday.
1. I have 2 rings. 1 which he use to propose, the other which I wear as a wedding band. I differ from jojobeach in the sense that, i think the proposal ring shd be the one with the diamond, while your wedding band which you tend to wear day in day out, is a simpler one.Originally posted by GwenSilvz:I intend to propose some time this year.. and how do I go about doing it?
I heard there's 2 significant of rings needed? Engagement ring and wedding ring?
Engagement ring only need 1 to propose or do I need one as well?
Is it a must to have diamond on engagement ring? I don't intend to have one. Not that I'm cheapskate or not unable to afford but because I have a special and meaningful reason for not having it.
Say I've already proposed, what's next?
ROM? As good as legally married?
And when do we exhange vows?
And how many gatherings or ceremony I have to go through (Traditional chinese and Catholic)?
Please advice!
Opps, my bad.Originally posted by Jezmeister:I don't know about New York either tyvm I'm British not American, from the original City of York in fact.
And who said a wedding ring couldn't be nice? metals can be engraved quite intricately it's simply more practical. I honestly would prefer gold for that ring... err were i to ever be in such a position.
"But really there is no hard and fast rules to anything." This is very true.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:1. I have 2 rings. 1 which he use to propose, the other which I wear as a wedding band. I differ from jojobeach in the sense that, i think the proposal ring shd be the one with the diamond, while your wedding band which you tend to wear day in day out, is a simpler one.
Tip: BRING YOUR GIRLFRIEND TO BUY THE RINGS unless you really know her taste damn well.
3. Most people ROM one year, then have their customary the next - thanks to HDB balloting and whatever needing an ROM cert but cannot move in together immediately. But really there is no hard and fast rules to anything.
a lot lah.. u tok to those chinatown aunties they tell u everything.
4. For ROM.. dont go ROM to ROM la... cos ... queue up and all. Can invite a JP to go anywhere to officiate one.. i got mine to go to changi beachfree location summore.
Waaa I say so much... cos nostalgic lah.
But.. serious.. How to get married? With sincerity and honesty - that will make the marriage far more than just the wedding. And its the marriage that matters - not the rings, the weddings, the parties.
that's what my hubby says tooOriginally posted by Jezmeister:I don't know about New York either tyvm I'm British not American, from the original City of York in fact.
And who said a wedding ring couldn't be nice? metals can be engraved quite intricately it's simply more practical. I honestly would prefer gold for that ring... err were i to ever be in such a position.
Originally posted by jojobeach:U can surprise her with a special proposal
[b]
But if the gf needs to choose the ring, then cannot surprise proposal leh.b]
yah lah.. can don't spoil the market ?Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:that's what my hubby says tooHe says he prefers to give me a gold ring, I can choose the design, because gold is traditional and u know..
At first I was a little unused to it cos gold for young folks in asia is kind of .. unfashionable cos of its 'traditional' usage - usually people use platinum or titanium or watever. We ended up with very simple almost 'lord of the rings' gold bands with engravings.
And it grew on me - the soft warm lustre of gold instead of the cold sheen of platinum.
yep the girls do. when they're engaged that is not in generalOriginally posted by jojobeach:Opps, my bad.
In USA, the wedding ring is the most elaborate. And the wedding band.. blah~.
I really wonder why. To hook the girl in at the "hello" I suppose
Anyway, men like simple ring, but women wants something more showy.
Now another question for you. Do guys in Brit wears engagement ring too ?
Uh , one of my bf proposed to me before, almost got married.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:U can surprise her with a special proposal
but.. uhhh.. very sian if the ring is not what you want - u know what I mean. Hurhur...
knowing men, i don't leave such things to chance. Anyway i think guys appreciate a bit of hints where gifts are concerned - or they end up getting you a vacuum cleaner.
What I do is just to browse shops and say "that's ugly, that's nice.. OOOH THAT"S VERY NICEE!!!.. that one also nic.. not bad.. ugly..." hurhurhur
So the guys walk around without an engagement ring.. how would other girls know that you are already taken then ?Originally posted by Jezmeister:yep the girls do. when they're engaged that is not in generalno idea what my gf would want... probably one made out of cake
generally by the fact he's walking round with a girl wearing an engagement ring lolOriginally posted by jojobeach:So the guys walk around without an engagement ring.. how would other girls know that you are already taken then ?
That's not very fairOriginally posted by Jezmeister:generally by the fact he's walking round with a girl wearing an engagement ring lol
however long the couple wants... i guess usually about a year... suppose it really depends on when they're in a position financially etc... weddings are always very big things over here lolOriginally posted by jojobeach:That's not very fair
How long does it take to get from engaged to Just married ?
hahah.. yaloh .. tt's why got to be specific ma... since we don't leave things like marriage to chance.. also cannot leave things like wedding rings to chance..Originally posted by jojobeach:Uh , one of my bf proposed to me before, almost got married.
But hor he proposed with a ring that look very obiang... so sad.. almost an insult to my taste.
Then we had to go down to the store and request for exchange...it was really pai seh.. cus the designs i like are more expensive.. end up never exchange...
But in the end.. we didn't get married lah... and boy it was an awkward experience. And he refused to take back the ring lor...
In USA, the brides pay for their own wedding, what about in Brit ?Originally posted by Jezmeister:however long the couple wants... i guess usually about a year... suppose it really depends on when they're in a position financially etc... weddings are always very big things over here lol
I did lah.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:hahah.. yaloh .. tt's why got to be specific ma... since we don't leave things like marriage to chance.. also cannot leave things like wedding rings to chance..
Bride/brides family is traditional... really depends on circumstance, it's not rare in later marriages (and i'll presume this applies for US too) where the brides family is less prevalent for the bride and groom to pay for it togetherOriginally posted by jojobeach:In USA, the brides pay for their own wedding, what about in Brit ?
Are the expenses paid by just the groom ? or both ?