It is so negative to think about what if "the engagement gets called off" even before you have proposed, aint it? If that is what is in one's mind, guess he should really reconsider the proposal.Originally posted by jojobeach:Yes Jezmeister, in the US of A.
It is rather impractical, isn't it ?
If the engagement gets called off, who gets to keep the ring ?
Nowadays wedding rings are made of platinum/other hardy metals. No longer the softer metals like pure gold.
If the wedding band is the one that gets most worn, isn't it better to make THAT one more nicer than the engagement ring ?
And since the wedding band is the one that is more significant since it is the one that symbolize forever union, isn't it more sensible to spend more money on the band than the engagement ring ?
If you ask any girl which would they prefer to wear everyday, they'd choose the nicer ring.
I don't know about New York, but where I live, they wear the Engagement ring AND the Wedding band together. Everyday.
In Singapore, we are partly western and partly Asian.
The traditions and practices has evolved over time to suit the needs of modern Singaporean.
During my mother's time, there's only ONE ring.
The proposal/betrothal is done with offers of gifts to her family.
There are 4 pieces of gold and wedding dowry involve. The tradition is very different from Westerners.
My Asian friend had a hard time getting her American husband to accept the idea of a dowry as it seems like the family was selling their daughter to him. But in fact, it was an offer to thank the parents for the effort in raising their daughter.
If you want to understand more, you'd need to do some research.
Here's a link for your reference and for TS too.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/features/custom1.htm
The practice will vary depending on their dialect group.
Ofcors, newer generations have forgone most of the more elaborate procedures and opted for the simpler westernized wedding.
Yah lah, but lets be realistic lor.Originally posted by blu_sky:It is so negative to think about what if "the engagement gets called off" even before you have proposed, aint it? If that is what is in one's mind, guess he should really reconsider the proposal.
Anyway, practice in Singapore is really different from whats stated above. Engagement rings usuallly come with diamond and wedding rings are usually simpler as they are worn on a daily basis.
And if you are afraid no one knows your fiance has already been 'booked', well, you can always buy him a ring too.![]()
it's not negative thinking, it's called planning for eventualities and being realisticOriginally posted by blu_sky:It is so negative to think about what if "the engagement gets called off" even before you have proposed, aint it? If that is what is in one's mind, guess he should really reconsider the proposal.
Anyway, practice in Singapore is really different from whats stated above. Engagement rings usuallly come with diamond and wedding rings are usually simpler as they are worn on a daily basis.
And if you are afraid no one knows your fiance has already been 'booked', well, you can always buy him a ring too.![]()
It is sad that your kind of relationship is so commercialised. Then dont blame the gals for being realistic and talking dollars and cents to you.Originally posted by hisoka:it's not negative thinking, it's called planning for eventualities and being realistic
commercialised? what are you talking about? in what way does planning for eventualities and planning for the worst become commercialised?Originally posted by blu_sky:It is sad that your kind of relationship is so commercialised. Then dont blame the gals for being realistic and talking dollars and cents to you.
Of course the gal who loves the guy wont reject the proposal just cos there is no rocks on the ring. But im sure a guy who loves and dotes on his gal will give this ring to her if it is within his means.Originally posted by jojobeach:Anyway, the engagement ring thingy is really a western practice. Mostly the newer generations one will practice this lah.
Most of my friends gets only one ring, because the husband gives the dowry and 4 pieces of gold.
And c'mon lah, so what if the engagement ring is not as showy.
If the girl loves the guy, she's wouldn't reject the proposal just because the ring is not encrusted with diamonds lah.
If she does, then it's lucky not to marry her leh.
contingency planning in relationship? how feasible is this?Originally posted by hisoka:commercialised? what are you talking about? in what way does planning for eventualities and planning for the worst become commercialised?![]()
then if like that the guy wana get an engagement ring to propose need to go and choose the engagement ring together with the gf? like that will spoil the surprise element of proposing ??Originally posted by jojobeach:Uh , one of my bf proposed to me before, almost got married.
But hor he proposed with a ring that look very obiang... so sad.. almost an insult to my taste.
Then we had to go down to the store and request for exchange...it was really pai seh.. cus the designs i like are more expensive.. end up never exchange...
But in the end.. we didn't get married lah... and boy it was an awkward experience. And he refused to take back the ring lor...
the last time my friend proposed to her gf, he consulted her sisters whom she is very close to. he did buy the ring the she likes! if she has no sister, you can consider what shrodingerscat suggest above!Originally posted by nuub1987:then if like that the guy wana get an engagement ring to propose need to go and choose the engagement ring together with the gf? like that will spoil the surprise element of proposing ??![]()
Having a diamond engagement ring is commercialized liao.Originally posted by blu_sky:contingency planning in relationship? how feasible is this?
with this kind of attitude, will you love someone lesser just in case the relationship will not work out?
Anyway, lets not digress. Stick to the topic.
In that case, many things are! like wearing the gown, taking wedding pictures and etc and etc, so are you going to do away with all of them? then just ROM and move in lor? that will save you lotsa money!Originally posted by jojobeach:Having a diamond engagement ring is commercialized liao.
So your new hubby not going to give dowry and the jewelry ah ?Originally posted by blu_sky:In that case, many things are! are wearing the gown, taking wedding pictures and etc and etc, so are you going to do away with all of them? then just ROM and move in lor? that will save you lotsa money!
HAHA! thats you you are talking about! to me, all are important!Originally posted by jojobeach:So your new hubby not going to give dowry and the jewelry ah ?
Well, if we can afford, why not?Originally posted by jojobeach:So your new hubby not going to give dowry and the jewelry ah ?
Don't tell me you want the BEST of BOTH worlds hor.
Gold digger alert !Originally posted by blu_sky:HAHA! thats you you are talking about! to me, all are important!![]()
haha! you've gravely mistaken! i mean I can affford that lavish life too. Geddit?Originally posted by jojobeach:Gold digger alert !
So greedy.
Originally posted by blu_sky:Hur, so you pay for the engagement ring yourself ah ?
haha! you've gravely mistaken! i mean [b]I can affford that lavish life too. Geddit?[/b]
Dont be jealous of my success and financial stability!Originally posted by jojobeach:Gold digger alert !
So greedy.
Really ah ? wait wait.. I got a list of friends looking for girl like you.Originally posted by blu_sky:Dont be jealous of my success and financial stability!![]()
One-carat diamond rings dont cost that much you know? Dont be so micro and petty.Originally posted by jojobeach:Hur, so you pay for the engagement ring yourself ah ?
Harlow.. I also know.. but you don't care the grade meh ?Originally posted by blu_sky:One-carat diamond rings dont cos that much you know? Dont be so micro and petty.![]()
you want to learn more about diamonds, you can PM me. dont spam the thread please.Originally posted by jojobeach:Harlow.. I also know.. but you don't care the grade meh ?
You think i will be interested in your cheap skate friends who eat soft rice?Originally posted by jojobeach:Really ah ? wait wait.. I got a list of friends looking for girl like you.
But you have to pay for everything ok ?
How you so sure you wouldn't be ?Originally posted by blu_sky:You think i will be interested in your cheap skate friends who eat soft rice?![]()
Dont even dream about it!![]()