got offered a job. starting pay sgd2700 + other benefits such as healthcare, insurance etc etc (the usual stuff).
good company and good training provided for 1 year.
Im still in my final semester of studies so the job is waiting for me when i grad a few months later :D
Im studying in a local uni currently but im an FT from a country called Truly Asia. hehe. too bad lah, not much opportunities there.
I think the pay a bit low sia alothough my results are just average.
as an FT, I need to spend at least sgd700 a month to rent a HDB room (plus utilities and broadband) and need to pay off loan monthly (around sgd400 a month)
and I eat alot plus transport plus etc etc around sgd1200 a month and nid to give parents....left nuthin liao
so should i accept it? pay a bit low sia.
How come food and transport will cost you so much a month? O_O
I think SGD2700 is alright... which industry?
Besides, a job is not just about the pay but also the opportunities it will open up for you in the future.
engineering....
i eat alot sia......maybe i got worms....transport is around 250sgd amonth sia...coz sometimes must take taxi...the workplace at some ulu ulu place but not in tuas or jurong island lah
y ... ?
2700 for a starting pay for fresh grad is very good. Go grab it and stay on to gain experience. Once you have experience it is easier for you to ask for more pay in your next job. Times are getting bad, if you can grab whole of a job without even finished your uni you are lucky. If you don't grab now you may have difficulty looking for job after your grad.
No need come here la... Singapore got too many FT from China oready... So many FT, flooded with FT again . Wait Singapore sink liao... too many ppl... My suggustion to you is go back to ur country and be happy there... So u wont be us singaporean's problems.
why dun like FTs ![]()
?
That is the norm starting pay for graduates. If you had served NS here, perhaps you might have gotten more.
Usually, the first job will give you the exposure and experience required to take on a better job in the future.
Do you take cab to work everyday? Think $1.2k for food & transport expenses is a bit steep.
dun take the offer..
u go home sleep the best.. everyday enjoy. no stress , no anger . everyday live in wonderland.. shiok wor
take public transport lah...but sometimes maybe work till late or rain like hell..
sgd1200 for expenses is ok ar. now also i eat 600 bucks a month. clubbing. take girls out etc etc wil add up to sgd1200.
Originally posted by curryman:take public transport lah...but sometimes maybe work till late or rain like hell..
sgd1200 for expenses is ok ar. now also i eat 600 bucks a month. clubbing. take girls out etc etc wil add up to sgd1200.
Clubbing...no wonder. Well, you can try your luck waiting for a better job to come down the pipe. In the meantime, what are you gonna survive on?
Originally posted by curryman:take public transport lah...but sometimes maybe work till late or rain like hell..
SGD1200 for expenses is ok ah... So is it still okay if you have nothing left at the end of the month?
FT... why do you refer to yourself as FT when you've not even started contributing to our economy... =X
Pardon my rudeness but methinks your attitude needs some tweaking...
now surviving on brother's money and loan. abit of dad's money also.
i study in singapore local Uni what. tats not FT meh?
got contribute a bit to singapore also although not much.
last time went exchange i got promote singapore instead of my home country.....
1st job is always a bit of struggle.
If you go back MY and work, will get the same pay as in, (x2 in MY ringgits) or still the same?
i tink u go bk msia betta.
Accept 1st, work hard, gain experience, eat less curry, save more $
mai hiam la 2.7k.
U said u haf average grades so if u haf 2.7k as startin pay is tou xiao alr. Unless u first class lo. First class + good company can go up to 8k.
go back malaysia work maybe RM3.2k lah.
but foreigners are bonded to singapore for 3 years mar.so cannot go back.
if not i look for job in US or europe di.![]()
Originally posted by curryman:go back malaysia work maybe RM3.2k lah.
but foreigners are bonded to singapore for 3 years mar.so cannot go back.
if not i look for job in US or europe di.
thank God there is a 3 years bond; otherwise such FTs leech simply go like you say US or Europe after graduation. (Anyway, with your average grade, i doubt US or Europe side is keen on you <yawn>....)
2.7K is very high already but i personally do not think you deserve this much. Stop complaining. For a very young immature FT who has not served military training, who has not been subjected to the rigours of national service, i would say you are too young and tender.
And did you mention you take girls out to club? Hmm are u sure? Maybe those girls are frm your homeland, maybe those modest innocent and easily satisfied factory female workers.
Anyway like you said, you can earn about RM 3.2K, that is fair enough, considering the cost of living in truly Asia is lower accordingly. Return to your truely Asia after you end your bond. Meanwhile, in this 3 years, you may want to note the CPF contributions which you make. Because, there is no way, you can get them back at the end of 3 years.
Good luck and take care.
Just make do with wad u haf since u cant get a better pay one.
fresh grad get 2.7k???
wth.. i am sooo jealous
new creation so fierce. anyways,i feel $2700 is very good for a start alrdy . esp engineering field. if i were u i take it alrdy. i think u have to save up on ur transport la.taking cabs these days drain ur money toooooo fast.
taking girls to club also waste money. seriously. if u really need it go geylang la.one time downpayment. no need buy drinks and entrance fee la. lol
Originally posted by buffered:new creation so fierce. anyways,i feel $2700 is very good for a start alrdy . esp engineering field. if i were u i take it alrdy. i think u have to save up on ur transport la.taking cabs these days drain ur money toooooo fast.
taking girls to club also waste money. seriously. if u really need it go geylang la.one time downpayment. no need buy drinks and entrance fee la. lol
Yeah my reply was fierce because i cannot stand the deliberate tone of curryman i.e. he seems to start this thread to show off that he is good; he merely wanted to prove that he getting 2.7K is reflective of what FTs(on SG government scholarships) can command. He is also implying that given his slack results, he already can command 2.7K. If he worked harder, he can surpass and command a higher pay.
For God sake, he already knows he is getting the market rate salary for engineering. (2.7K is comparable to what Keppel Land offers). He just want to taunt us and seek pleasure in us expressing our envy for his salary. <Yawn>.
Like i say, given he did not serve NS, he shd be pretty darn YOUNG and immature. So, he shd have kept his mouth shut.