Originally posted by pierre^^:....
fresh grad get 2.7k???
wth.. i am sooo jealous
Nothing to be jealous. Engineering field market rate is around this range. ;-). But i say if you have engineering degree, its better to work for DSTA, you can command a pay very close to 3K. Of cz, i don't think curryman can make it there in DSTA. Haha
Originally posted by New Creation:Nothing to be jealous. Engineering field market rate is around this range. ;-). But i say if you have engineering degree, its better to work for DSTA, you can command a pay very close to 3K. Of cz, i don't think curryman can make it there in DSTA. Haha
why u so anti him?!
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
why u so anti him?!
Because i cannot stand the deliberate tone of curryman i.e. he seems to start this thread to show off that he is good; he merely wanted to prove that he getting 2.7K is reflective of what FTs(on SG government scholarships) can command. He is also implying that given his slack results, he already can command 2.7K. If he worked harder, he can surpass and command a higher pay.
For God sake, he already knows he is getting the market rate salary for engineering. (2.7K is comparable to what Keppel Land offers). He just want to taunt us and seek pleasure in us expressing our envy for his salary. <Yawn>.
Like i say, given he did not serve NS, he shd be pretty darn YOUNG and immature. So, he shd have kept his mouth shut.
Originally posted by New Creation:Because i cannot stand the deliberate tone of curryman i.e. he seems to start this thread to show off that he is good; he merely wanted to prove that he getting 2.7K is reflective of what FTs(on SG government scholarships) can command. He is also implying that given his slack results, he already can command 2.7K. If he worked harder, he can surpass and command a higher pay.
For God sake, he already knows he is getting the market rate salary for engineering. (2.7K is comparable to what Keppel Land offers). He just want to taunt us and seek pleasure in us expressing our envy for his salary. <Yawn>.
Like i say, given he did not serve NS, he shd be pretty darn YOUNG and immature. So, he shd have kept his mouth shut.
ur post sounds familiar leh!
oh u posted the same one on the previous page ![]()
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:ur post sounds familiar leh!
oh u posted the same one on the previous page
haha ya lor. Cz i reckon, you missed it. For your sake.. i repeat again ;-)
2.7k.. not bad.
Anyway fresh grad, you need to start somewhere and get work experience.
malaysian earn $2700 a mth still wana hiam..
go back to ur hometown is abt $5400 leh.
sometimes really dun get it.. how can malaysians earn more than singaporeans in singapore?
Originally posted by browniebaobao:malaysian earn $2700 a mth still wana hiam..
go back to ur hometown is abt $5400 leh.
sometimes really dun get it.. how can malaysians earn more than singaporeans in singapore?
Hmm clarification is needed here. FYI: He is a Asean Scholar studying in SG, and in return he has a 3 years bond in SG.
By all acounts, his employer probably hired him and offered this pay grade because he is simply put an Asean Scholar.
Did you for one second believe a normal Malaysian Grad who studied in a God-forsaken lousy Malaysian Uni can command an equivalent pay of RM$54oo? no way!! Unless, if curryman here is a bumi who will benefit under the bumiputra protectionism.
Originally posted by New Creation:Hmm clarification is needed here. FYI: He is a Asean Scholar studying in SG, and in return he has a 3 years bond in SG.
By all acounts, his employer probably hired him and offered this pay grade because he is simply put an Asean Scholar.
Did you for one second believe a normal Malaysian Grad who studied in a God-forsaken lousy Malaysian Uni can command an equivalent pay of RM$54oo? no way!! Unless, if curryman here is a bumi who will benefit under the bumiputra protectionism.
so im mistaken? my apologies curryman.. coz i saw 'truly asia', i tot u are malaysian.
in my line, malaysian fresh grad can get abt S$2K at entry level.
Originally posted by browniebaobao:
so im mistaken? my apologies curryman.. coz i saw 'truly asia', i tot u are malaysian.
Oh Curryman is indeed Malaysian. Im saying that he is a Malaysian Asean Scholar in SG, thats why employer is willing to pay him that amount. If he is just an ordinary Malaysian who completed his degree in M'sia, he probably. will only get peanuts. So, there is nothing proud about Curryman ;-)
i think u shld go for it.
Originally posted by New Creation:
Yeah my reply was fierce because i cannot stand the deliberate tone of curryman i.e. he seems to start this thread to show off that he is good; he merely wanted to prove that he getting 2.7K is reflective of what FTs(on SG government scholarships) can command. He is also implying that given his slack results, he already can command 2.7K. If he worked harder, he can surpass and command a higher pay.
Oh yea. All my frens think its really low coz most of my circle of frens getting at least 3.8k to 5k working in other fields as fresh grad.
Rent now is so expensive. need to fork out at least 600sgd per person sharing a 3 bedroom HDB
Oh Curryman is indeed Malaysian. Im saying that he is a Malaysian Asean Scholar in SG, thats why employer is willing to pay him that amount. If he is just an ordinary Malaysian who completed his degree in M'sia, he probably. will only get peanuts. So, there is nothing proud about Curryman ;-)
Im not a scholar. Scholar so what? most of them are only good with books and exams and in the working world, one would need much more than that.
My friend completed his degree in Malaysia and his starting pay was sgd4.7k
Originally posted by browniebaobao:
hmmm... what line u r in? oh yea...i from msia.hehe.
malaysia fresh grad means after grad in malaysia come singapore to look for jobs?
Originally posted by New Creation:Nothing to be jealous. Engineering field market rate is around this range. ;-). But i say if you have engineering degree, its better to work for DSTA, you can command a pay very close to 3K. Of cz, i don't think curryman can make it there in DSTA. Haha
DSTA is boring. give me 3k also dunwan coz do research only. not my cup of tea. I probably can surpass this pay range after a year coz governmental linked companies are less fluid when coming to appraisals.
Originally posted by kenizaton:i think u shld go for it.
thanks. I think i will grab it too. since recession is just around the corner although I have a few more interviews from other companies coming but these companies seem harder to get. eg:likes of temasek, edb, Standard chart etc
2.7k only? That's pathetic. Many of my friends are getting 4-5k as fresh grad. Should not accept anything less than 3.5k.
Originally posted by 333225520:2.7k only? That's pathetic. Many of my friends are getting 4-5k as fresh grad. Should not accept anything less than 3.5k.
Ello, are u sure 4-5K? Hmm, which industry are your friends in? For a fresh grad, there is no way.. employers will even pay you. more than 2.5K... unless you are like SUPER DUPER DEANS list, PERFECT GPA with GLORIOUS CCA records. Such anomalies are far and rare.
Our Government employs foreigners?
And DSTA at that? O_O
Some Asean scholars are crap. They just did well for exams equivalent to the A levels and apply for scholarship. Some Asean scholars cant even get 2nd class upper.
For TS, i would suggest he take up this job if the company is reputable.
Some Asean scholars are crap. They just did well for exams equivalent to the A levels and apply for scholarship. Some Asean scholars cant even get 2nd class upper.
For TS, i would suggest he take up this job if the company is reputable.
my colleague can get a supervising job for 3k...need work only for a week......some confrence thingy overseas....flights all kena paid for sia....
Yeah my reply was fierce because i cannot stand the deliberate tone of curryman i.e. he seems to start this thread to show off that he is good; he merely wanted to prove that he getting 2.7K is reflective of what FTs(on SG government scholarships) can command. He is also implying that given his slack results, he already can command 2.7K. If he worked harder, he can surpass and command a higher pay.
Originally posted by curryman:
hmmm... what line u r in? oh yea...i from msia.hehe.
malaysia fresh grad means after grad in malaysia come singapore to look for jobs?
service line.
why do u wana come sg and look for job?
bcos of the pay and prospect right?
more than half of my colleagues are malaysians.
dun think DSTA will want to hire foreigners esp those from Truly Asia.
cos the security is too tight n they certainly will not want their neighbour to know bout it.