Originally posted by 798:human right huh? lame excuse to cost someone lost of his job wif a petty issue such as reporting to MOE who view the word "fat" as insulting?
thats why i said that most of the time the students lose the case becoz their reasons weren't reasonable enough and 100% becoz of the fact that most of the class would've given proper eye witness accounts instead of making false accounts just to side their friend.......i'm sure the other students know better....
unless its some corrupted private school where the principal's main priority are the students rather than keeping things balanced.....coz in this case the students would be the one paying their pays....
Originally posted by Deino:telling the kid to do rounds is his job yes but does calling him names like "eh, Fat Guy!, get into the line" definitely is not part of educating him.......
we cannot know his true vocal tone when he said this but there may have been two scenarios....
one is a harsh tone and the other being a friendly tone like how you would call your friend.......
if it was the first then he might have been abusing his power.......most people who use the first must definitely feel big headed thus giving himself his own reason to call em fat.....
if its the latter then he should probably learn to not address his students liddat........
there r a bunch of students around there n since the DM did not know the fat kid's name, den how the hell the DM is going to tell him without letting other kids think he is shouting at them?
the kid should be thankful dat the DM not using words such as "fatso" or "fat toad".
Originally posted by 798:there r a bunch of students around there n since the DM did not know the fat kid's name, den how the hell the DM is going to tell him without letting other kids think he is shouting at them?
the kid should be thankful dat the DM not using words such as "fatso" or "fat toad".
he could've just said "hey you there"....
Saying the word "eh" alone shows that he is trying to call someone inferior to him with low degree.....
Fat is a physical description. It's as insulting as calling a skinny man "skinny man" and a pretty girl "chio bu".
If you feel offended then maybe should lose some fats?
Then next time the DM will say "Muscular guy! get into the line!"
Hey Mr... please get into the line..
HEY THAT FAT ONE, GET INTO THE LINE!!
Which one works more?
798, kudos, i agree with u.
and wtf, if the guy is fat, wads wrong? DM is just being honest. ppl who do not agree cfm is nv go army, or is just abt to enlist into the current gu niang army.
with weaklings tat are hurt by just some mere "fat" words, i doubt future sg can go any further.
if our dear PAP decides to get more FT based on above reasoning - sgaporean are getting to be weaklings, i will vote for them. i rather see PAP than losers who cannot even take some simple scolding.
hmm . 798 , i can't deny that i agree with you .
yea, i believe you're right .
seen people when teacher want to slap, he hold the forearm, then turn still the bone crack
then the teacher scream
best is hold the arm, turn, then pull the teacher to hit the wall.
i heard that in my school, a teacher is suspended from teaching for a few days when she slapped someone.....
for pple who minor things kpkb to MOE, i certainly hope good luck for ur enlistment next time. n hope u will not land up like this ex-actor who cost his principal to lose his job:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/302001
challenge authorities will get u no where.
Originally posted by Deino:If i got DM liddat i will report it to the MOE.......its not reasonable to punish someone when they has done nothing wrong.......thats called abusing of power......
sometimes, some kids cannot give soft treatment, must give hard treatment then they can learn.
this is a very good example already, calling him fat, and you want to get the DM out of his job?
are you joking??? then next time go to workforce, everybody dun fren him, does it means hes going to ask his boss to tell his colleagues to make frens with him?
what happened to just whacking the kid on his head? ![]()
kids are so guniang nowadays.
Originally posted by ChingAlvin:Hey Mr... please get into the line..
HEY THAT FAT ONE, GET INTO THE LINE!!
Which one works more?
eh PUA CB, I ASKED U TO RUN NOT WALK! CCB, WALK SOMEMORE!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:eh PUA CB, I ASKED U TO RUN NOT WALK! CCB, WALK SOMEMORE!
this one will work more... but only in army camp.![]()
Originally posted by 798:for pple who minor things kpkb to MOE, i certainly hope good luck for ur enlistment next time. n hope u will not land up like this ex-actor who cost his principal to lose his job:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/302001
challenge authorities will get u no where.
its a totally different case altogether.......
we cannot similarise education with National Service.........
we pay for education but not ns.........
a teacher's job is to make sure that they educate the students properly.........calling people names does no good in educating them this is the reason why there are loads of dropouts and rebels........
whilst in NS you are breeding a whole new goup of people to be soldiers.....soldiers have no choice....they do wot is commanded unto them.......being exposed to vulgarities is inevitable in ns
this reminds me of the case where the boy kena smack on the head with a textbook........
in this case we can never know for sure how rude the two were to each other........
Originally posted by Deino:its a totally different case altogether.......
we cannot similarise education with National Service.........
we pay for education but not ns.........
a teacher's job is to make sure that they educate the students properly.........calling people names does no good in educating them this is the reason why there are loads of dropouts and rebels........
whilst in NS you are breeding a whole new goup of people to be soldiers.....soldiers have no choice....they do wot is commanded unto them.......being exposed to vulgarities is inevitable in ns
this reminds me of the case where the boy kena smack on the head with a textbook........
in this case we can never know for sure how rude the two were to each other........
well thanks for bringing in the "boy kena smack on the head with a textbook" topic which the case was mch worse comparing to this case:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/301361
wat does dat tell us again? students nowaday r nothing but a bunch of crybabies. n i'm afraid when they become parents, they will spoilt the child n bring sg to new low.
Originally posted by 798:well thanks for bringing in the "boy kena smack on the head with a textbook" topic which the case was mch worse comparing to this case:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/301361
wat does dat tell us again? students nowaday r nothing but a bunch of crybabies. n i'm afraid when they become parents, they will spoilt the child n bring sg to new low.
i think one of the many reasons for this is also modernisation........
kids get more pampered then older generations.......
lifestyles nowadays and during and a few decades after ww2 was different then now......
i remember my grandad telling me they ate bread that was so hard that it won't break even if they throw it against the wall.....
my grandma in indonesia also told me of a scenario where jap warplanes were flying low to attack villages.....
i think if this was ww2, things would definitely be different.......
personally i kena slapped by teacher my teacher once when i was in primary school but i dun think i ever regretted not doing anything coz i was aware of myself being kinda rude and all.....
some poeple cannot just say blame it on parents for pampering them.......they must also take note of the environment that they live in......if this was a third world country i dun think the kid would even think of asking the DM for an apology