Originally posted by Ah Cek:
can't agree anymore. if students are smart, why need a teacher?
you think everyone wants a teacher meh?
think theres parent-teaching-kid scheme etc...that no needs for the kid to go to govt schs.
u think that SG accept home-schooled levels?
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:u think that SG accept home-schooled levels?
of coz. sg only look at the paper. if you can home study for olvls, alvls then go ahead. no one will bother.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:u think that SG accept home-schooled levels?
people see CERTS not whether you go schs or not
i think ure lagging...hahaha
the way the teacher did is wrong n uncalled for. but the way the moe sack her is really kinda harsh without hearing the explanation from the teacher n giving her a chance.
tis is again so one sided n really teach us pple a lesson. nvr to catch in the act by those stompers or post out any of ur real life information which may be of harm to u on internet. cos some pple may blow until so big dat it may affect ur life.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:EDMW is the real cause.
Some guy same church of the teacher was jealous and hence posted it on EDMW.
Some kaypoh EDMWer thinks that the teacher was wrong then go send it in.
Hence now all papers.
heard dat one edmw netizen exposed the 'whisper blower' his photo taken from friendster n now they were spread out in the forum.
tis one is really karma sia. ![]()
yaas...
ah_hup ar? lengzai...hahahahahas
i believe that the teacher actually posted these on his blog basically to vent his anger and frustration when marking or teaching the primary school kids. i can see them in some of the teachers. its really tiring and it makes them feel better if they shout out loud or actually write their experience on their blog. it just makes their day better. well of course im not sure whether the teacher have no ill intentions of laughing at the kids but rather used his blog as a tool to vent his anger and solve his frustrations.
Originally posted by urock:i believe that the teacher actually posted these on his blog basically to vent his anger and frustration when marking or teaching the primary school kids. i can see them in some of the teachers. its really tiring and it makes them feel better if they shout out loud or actually write their experience on their blog. it just makes their day better. well of course im not sure whether the teacher have no ill intentions of laughing at the kids but rather used his blog as a tool to vent his anger and solve his frustrations.
Then he must be one heck of a fool.
Lmao good for the teacher lor if want flame student at least just say no need to let people read a primary 3(correct me if i'm wrong) composition its like too much info
it's horrible to humiliate your students like that la! and his english very good meh? where are his capitals? english teacher even more shameful right. he deserves it.
oh and he spelled nonsense as "nonsesne". at least 50% of singapore teachers suck at their job and yet dare to mock their students.
Originally posted by lololololx2:it's horrible to humiliate your students like that la! and his english very good meh? where are his capitals? english teacher even more shameful right. he deserves it.
oh and he spelled nonsense as "nonsesne". at least 50% of singapore teachers suck at their job and yet dare to mock their students.
dat one is typo error lah.
here we are at blog issues again. i think stomp may have really taken it too far. i don't quite it is necessary for stompers to actually go around singapore and catch tiny little bits of embarrassing moments in people's lives and then miracluloeousy turning them into controversial and humiliating issues(most of the time) just because of their strong grasp in language. uncalled for
wah piang what is this man
kena sacked the teacher will get compensation hor. If he resigns halfway through his bond, he has to pay bond fees.
He deserved it, the punishment and the shaming in STOMP. This should teach a lesson to all who blog irresponsibly, thinking nobody will give a hoot to what you write, so you write all sorts of rubbish. I've seen so many blogs talking about stuff without even verifying what they say. And all it takes is a simple google.
His attitude towards teaching is clearly a wrong one, so I don't think there is anything to his defence, at all. Venting frustration online is just an excuse.
Shame on him.
There are many good point of views here (as well as craps)...good thing everyone has an opinion...
The issue for me is the extent of punishment:
- Jon is silly enough to blog and associate himself with the school.
- The school managed to 'track' him and take action
The BIG question is, is the action taken against Jon justifiable?
We are not talking about whether Jon deserves it or not - we know he deserved to be punished, but how/what/when/why...
We are not talking about shaming or mockery because this is not a valid point to begin with IMHO - no names were published.
( no need those 'imagine your doctors' or 'your child's teacher'...these are hypothetical, and I'm not really a big fan of Samsung ads anyway...)
We are not talking about whether Jon is good or bad teacher. At least for me, I cannot make that judgement call base on a silly blog. It's a blog for goodness sake.
To me, it's all about justice, being forgiving, and being able to laugh at life.
Justice - sacking of Jon with ambigous excuse and subcumbed to pressure is not just.
Forgiving - I feel that the school was not forgiving...yes, a school is not a monastry. It is a institute of learning. And to me, I learn more through mistakes than rightness.
Laughing at ourselves - To some forumites here, if you happened to be my doctor, and you think that my condition is funny enough to brighten your day, I hereby grant you my personal consent to joke about it. Do keep it anonymous like Jon (he does have THAT decency to...) and you may mention your clinic's name I dun give a damn.
For those who managed to catch me prancing in my pokka dots undergarment, you may blog about it, I dun care either. But if you dare take one picture and feed it to hungry Stomp claiming that I am indecently dressed in MY house, in front of your eyes, and that you are worried that your hypothetical spastic neighbour's childen (not even your own) will be morally affected, and grow up to become an illogical bloke or blokette like you who does not have the guts to face up to issue personally AND directly, only to hit below the belt and take lousy composed pictures via your weak camera phone secretly like the same voyeur of your alter ego....well, frankly...there's nothing much I can do, can I? You are just so low.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/1110/When-bad-writing-becomes-funny
Originally posted by urock:i believe that the teacher actually posted these on his blog basically to vent his anger and frustration when marking or teaching the primary school kids. i can see them in some of the teachers. its really tiring and it makes them feel better if they shout out loud or actually write their experience on their blog. it just makes their day better. well of course im not sure whether the teacher have no ill intentions of laughing at the kids but rather used his blog as a tool to vent his anger and solve his frustrations.
It is not wrong for the teacher to vent his frustration after a hard day's work. It is the way he vent it that cause him to be sacked. He could have vent his frustration and let off some steam by punching a sand bag, going to the gym for a workout, confiding in a close friend over a drink etc. etc. but no, the teacher has to put these into his blog, which is in puiblic domain for all to see. But what strikes me as unforgivable above all, is that the blog entry smacks of malicious glee. I would even go on and say that this amounts to a breach of fiduciary relationship between a teacher and a student.
The teacher fully deserved to be sacked.
aiyo...tht's my school ..graduated from there 15 years ago.
The teacher should be more constructive in his blog, particularly toward a Pri 3. Shouldn't he be more worried about the kid's work?
But the school is too harsh. Shouldn't the teacher be counseled first?
The people, especially those who dug out the identity of the teacher and who blew this matter up are worst of all. damn bo liao. jbbsb
Like the student hitting bus driver incident, separate forgiveness from punishment. The offender deserves to be forgiven as much as he needs a penalty for his misdeed.
Originally posted by nehpyh:There are many good point of views here (as well as craps)...good thing everyone has an opinion...
The issue for me is the extent of punishment:
- Jon is silly enough to blog and associate himself with the school.
- The school managed to 'track' him and take action
The BIG question is, is the action taken against Jon justifiable?
We are not talking about whether Jon deserves it or not - we know he deserved to be punished, but how/what/when/why...
We are not talking about shaming or mockery because this is not a valid point to begin with IMHO - no names were published.
( no need those 'imagine your doctors' or 'your child's teacher'...these are hypothetical, and I'm not really a big fan of Samsung ads anyway...)
We are not talking about whether Jon is good or bad teacher. At least for me, I cannot make that judgement call base on a silly blog. It's a blog for goodness sake.
To me, it's all about justice, being forgiving, and being able to laugh at life.
Justice - sacking of Jon with ambigous excuse and subcumbed to pressure is not just.
Forgiving - I feel that the school was not forgiving...yes, a school is not a monastry. It is a institute of learning. And to me, I learn more through mistakes than rightness.
Laughing at ourselves - To some forumites here, if you happened to be my doctor, and you think that my condition is funny enough to brighten your day, I hereby grant you my personal consent to joke about it. Do keep it anonymous like Jon (he does have THAT decency to...) and you may mention your clinic's name I dun give a damn.
For those who managed to catch me prancing in my pokka dots undergarment, you may blog about it, I dun care either. But if you dare take one picture and feed it to hungry Stomp claiming that I am indecently dressed in MY house, in front of your eyes, and that you are worried that your hypothetical spastic neighbour's childen (not even your own) will be morally affected, and grow up to become an illogical bloke or blokette like you who does not have the guts to face up to issue personally AND directly, only to hit below the belt and take lousy composed pictures via your weak camera phone secretly like the same voyeur of your alter ego....well, frankly...there's nothing much I can do, can I? You are just so low.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/1110/When-bad-writing-becomes-funny
I kind of agreed what you said here...
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:kena sacked the teacher will get compensation hor. If he resigns halfway through his bond, he has to pay bond fees.
wait long long
Acutally, since the Jon has been sacked, I think he should / can post those compos up again!!!
Why?
Cos he's no former relation to the student nor the school already.
Cos there's no stated confidentiality clause for ex-teachers.
Cos the compos are anonymous like the url link I posted in previous post.
Cos he already received his 'punishment'.
umm....
ha....the teacher deserve that
.A teacher job is to guide the student along.........how could he mock at someone who needs his guidance ..... worst still.... someone that is much younger then him............that is bullying ya
....lolz at all this talk abt preventing students from falling victim to bullies ....in the end the threat came frm teachers![]()