I think if people are pissed by his blog, go up TO HIM, tell him to remove or apologise, have the integrity to confront him personally with their self-righteousness, and not cowardly slamming him, pressurizing the authority with ambiguous code of conduct to take action against J....
Luckily Jon is young and has not commitments....
Originally posted by nehpyh:I am sad.
I am sad because the relief teacher got sacked for something that is blown out of proportion.
I am sad because the 'punishment' meted out is too harsh and not forgiving.
I am NOT related to the relief teacher nor am I against anyone here...but here's mho.
Imagine Jay was chatting to 'Lucas', his good fren, about his work in a kopitiam. Little did he know that some ramdom stranger who happened to be slacking at the same kopitiam was snooping around, overheard and recorded their conversation. The stranger then reported it to the mgt and Jay got sacked for breach of corp confidentiality. And all the while, Jay did not mention actual names.
And then Jay case got aired in Stomp and some peeps in forums sayed Jay deserved it - that he should have known better...that if Jay was professional, he should not be chatting to his good fren Lucas about his work in a public area like kopitiam...and imply Jay did not deserved his freedom of speech and expression....and Jay got sacked without a STRONG reason is actually reasonable....
Sad...
nehpyh, the kopitiam scene in your example is different from that of a blog. As some of the other posters have pointed out, a blog is in a public domain and will be subject to scrutiny of others. On the other hand, a conversation between Jay and Lucas (regardless of venue) should be considered made in confidence and not subject to public scrutiny. On the other hand, one should always be careful when discussing such things in the public. You never know whether the walls have ears. Surely as a professional or an employee, an employer would have, as part of its training, warned that person never to disclose work details or breach any confidential information in the public. Freedom of speech doesn't mean you can blabber away confidential information without bearing any consequences.
My area of work demands that I maintain strict confidentiality over what I do. In that sense, I am not wholly sympathetic towards this guy.
I understand what you mean, bro Lennon. My vague analogy is after all, an analogy - nothing better than the real case.
My point is this:
Jon's blog belongs to him. Anyone can read. Anyone can comment. If someone is dissatified, complaint to Jon directly. Flame him. Spam him. I dun think we care.
What I am unhappy is that most peeps chose to b*tch about issues in indirectly Stomp, Whinehouse, etc (ungly Singapoleans this, ugly Singapolean that)....and then pressure the cmi authority to act. And our tan-chak Stomp still pick up such tabloid and seek comments from MOE. The best part, 38 MOE sacked the relief teacher for mocking 'anonymous' students! Sigh...
Jon didn't reveal the students name right? What shaming were they talking about?
And to sack Jon under 'confidentiallity guidelines'?
1. It's a guideline. Not law.
2. What confidentiality was breached? Name of school? Compos of students? Why? Got copyright meh?
The fact was Jon mocked his 'anonymous' students in a public channel. Punish him for mocking. Where is the breach of confidentiality?
And to me, a public apology is good enough. Extent of punishment is open for debate some other day.
Quoting a general comment I have gathered so far:
lousy student = lousy teacher
If I may infer and add to the above:
lousy student = lousy teacher = lousy school = lousy MOE = lousy garment = lousy nation
P.S. Teachers, since you cannot whack your students anymore, just scold them and complain to their KS parents. But with the 'confidentiality guidelines', please refrain from scolding them too loudly cos their peers will laugh, and the tuckshop 38 aunties will write to Stomp. And Stomp will address to MOE. MOE will be blurred and launch an investigation. Then the principle will feel stressed and sacked the teacher. Then no enuff teacher. Then MOE will spend taxpayers money and adverstise on TV and cinemas, 'inspiring' us to 'make teaching come alive'!
my 2 cents worth
Indeed, the teacher's actions were inappropriate, but is being inappropriate sufficient enough to sack someone? Wouldn't a warning be sufficient?
For those who defend the actions of sacking the teacher through the reason(excuse) of the kid feeling sorry for themselves (self-pity), I think its total crap.
Already, the standards of our education are dropping (I am not talking about academic results, I am talking about our morals), and you have people like these forumers who continue to think that by protecting the kids, giving them safe harbour (kids are forever never wrong because they are young), they are doing the kids good. You are the exact people that will result in kids becoming less and less able to take care of themselves.
For those who think the teacher should be sacked, let's see what you say about yourself when one day you get sacked because of a small matter (like taking home a pencil for example).
Oh ya, STOMP is rubbish and should be shut down.
Originally posted by soul_rage:my 2 cents worth
Indeed, the teacher's actions were inappropriate, but is being inappropriate sufficient enough to sack someone? Wouldn't a warning be sufficient?
For those who defend the actions of sacking the teacher through the reason(excuse) of the kid feeling sorry for themselves (self-pity), I think its total crap.
Already, the standards of our education are dropping (I am not talking about academic results, I am talking about our morals), and you have people like these forumers who continue to think that by protecting the kids, giving them safe harbour (kids are forever never wrong because they are young), they are doing the kids good. You are the exact people that will result in kids becoming less and less able to take care of themselves.
For those who think the teacher should be sacked, let's see what you say about yourself when one day you get sacked because of a small matter (like taking home a pencil for example).
Oh ya, STOMP is rubbish and should be shut down.
I think the sacking is not a case of the kids feeling sori for themselves, I believe the kids dun even care what is going on except going home bells and when is holidays coming.
It is the public outcry of poor professionalism and unethical manner of a teacher that totally destroy the intergrity and dignity of teaching professional as a whole that lead to no other choice for the school and MOE in concern to decide to remove him. And in employment act, hiring and firing is the perogative of the employer.
Not that today pples are protecting their childrens, it is because today parents are on par with teachers or even better in knowledge and able to understand the issue better rather than our last generation parents who for some, can't even read nor write. And accompanied with knowledge and education themselves, parents today can voice out their dissatisfaction thru various channel of communications.
And as for moral, the society itself protray an academic pay rather than base on moral, therefore the responsibility to behave morally is very much belong to the society where govts, parents and all of us play a role, but if u say that if 7 A is going to get a high pay, who cares about moral. The childrens cannot be blame of being no moral, it is the society as a whole that must change. And that include u and me.
The blog is a public blog, he should know that, nobody is sacking him, he is sacking himself thru his unethical act and he should be feeling regret about it, learn from it, and carry on with his life better and brighter for the republic of Singapore moral.
Originally posted by fudgester:I don't like STOMP either....
..... but hey, the teacher had it coming.
What he did was not only extremely unprofessional; poking fun of Primary 3 kids who are under his charge is seriously, seriously wrong.
I can agree that English standards in Singapore schools have generally been declining, but humiliating his students online is NOT the way to solve it.
The last paragraph? Precisely.
Originally posted by fudgester:I don't like STOMP either....
..... but hey, the teacher had it coming.
What he did was not only extremely unprofessional; poking fun of Primary 3 kids who are under his charge is seriously, seriously wrong.
I can agree that English standards in Singapore schools have generally been declining, but humiliating his students online is NOT the way to solve it.
did i see wrongly? i remembered u yourself insult the students u tutored online b4 here too regarding their poor command of english. furthermore u r the one who whine bout the technical journal too. ![]()
Originally posted by Y_Shun:EDMW is the real cause.
Some guy same church of the teacher was jealous and hence posted it on EDMW.
Some kaypoh EDMWer thinks that the teacher was wrong then go send it in.
Hence now all papers.
edmw look like another stomp as always the case.
frankly speaking i dun see anything wrong wif the teaching trainee regarding his comments as he nvr shame n name any of his students.
i believe any teachers will complain to his friends how education degrade n share some evil thoughts too.
this kinda righteous act has caused someone his career, do they have any sense of remorse?
Originally posted by nehpyh:I understand what you mean, bro Lennon. My vague analogy is after all, an analogy - nothing better than the real case.
My point is this:
Jon's blog belongs to him. Anyone can read. Anyone can comment. If someone is dissatified, complaint to Jon directly. Flame him. Spam him. I dun think we care.
What I am unhappy is that most peeps chose to b*tch about issues in indirectly Stomp, Whinehouse, etc (ungly Singapoleans this, ugly Singapolean that)....and then pressure the cmi authority to act. And our tan-chak Stomp still pick up such tabloid and seek comments from MOE. The best part, 38 MOE sacked the relief teacher for mocking 'anonymous' students! Sigh...
Jon didn't reveal the students name right? What shaming were they talking about?
2. What confidentiality was breached? Name of school? Compos of students? Why? Got copyright meh?
The fact was Jon mocked his 'anonymous' students in a public channel. Punish him for mocking. Where is the breach of confidentiality?
And to me, a public apology is good enough. Extent of punishment is open for debate some other day.
lousy student = lousy teacher = lousy school = lousy MOE = lousy garment = lousy nation
P.S. Teachers, since you cannot whack your students anymore, just scold them and complain to their KS parents. But with the 'confidentiality guidelines', please refrain from scolding them too loudly cos their peers will laugh, and the tuckshop 38 aunties will write to Stomp. And Stomp will address to MOE. MOE will be blurred and launch an investigation. Then the principle will feel stressed and sacked the teacher. Then no enuff teacher. Then MOE will spend taxpayers money and adverstise on TV and cinemas, 'inspiring' us to 'make teaching come alive'!
agree wif u totally! ![]()
Originally posted by 798:
edmw look like another stomp as always the case.frankly speaking i dun see anything wrong wif the teaching trainee regarding his comments as he nvr shame n name any of his students.
i believe any teachers will complain to his friends how education degrade n share some evil thoughts too.
this kinda righteous act has caused someone his career, do they have any sense of remorse?
Frankly speaking... A teacher jeering at his students online gives me the creeps.
So what if he never names them ? Do u think there's total anonymity online ? (of course, as seen in this case...)
I think we are talking about professional ethics here.
What if he was a doctor ? Laughing at his patients sickness ? What if he was a Father ? Laughing abt the confessions he heard ?
Did not naming them lessen the consequences of what he had done ?
Why are the people reacting in this way ? I think its because people hold certain jobs in high regards, such as the teaching profession, doctors, nurses, judges, etc.
So does his actions justify his being in such esteemed position ? A profession which by many thought of with high regards ?
So if he doesnt qualify for such a profession... shouldnt he NOT be in it ?
So whats wrong with sacking him ?
Wow.
Lucky not me compo ![]()
Originally posted by Ferret:
Frankly speaking... A teacher jeering at his students online gives me the creeps.
So what if he never names them ? Do u think there's total anonymity online ? (of course, as seen in this case...)
I think we are talking about professional ethics here.
What if he was a doctor ? Laughing at his patients sickness ? What if he was a Father ? Laughing abt the confessions he heard ?
Did not naming them lessen the consequences of what he had done ?
Why are the people reacting in this way ? I think its because people hold certain jobs in high regards, such as the teaching profession, doctors, nurses, judges, etc.
So does his actions justify his being in such esteemed position ? A profession which by many thought of with high regards ?
So if he doesnt qualify for such a profession... shouldnt he NOT be in it ?
So whats wrong with sacking him ?
there is something online n offline dat should be treated in diff aspect. maybe tis teacher was just trying to be cekark but nvr do it in real life?
we see those bar forumites post sicko threads there, but dat dun mean they r going to commit sin in real life.
Originally posted by MohamedF:Anyway, back to topic... I'm the type of guy that puts myself in other people's shoe... And I don't think he deserves it... He's a teacher, he instill knowlege... he helps the children to get smart... then one wrong move (which I still doubt to be a very wrong move to deserve to be fired), *poof* bye bye rice bowl... and once he's fired by MOE, he's never going to be a teacher in SIngapore anymore...
Pretty heave price to pay for something so small huh...
I would understand if he's habitual and openly humiliates the students personally, but this is nonsense... plus no one was hurt by the teacher's action...
I bet if this was never posted on STOMP, this probably would just be a complaint to MOE and the teacher would be warned to take down the post... no one had to get hurt, but becase of stomp the teacher got hurt...
There's another article from stomp (I can't remember where), the army driver accidently knocked down a fence... but the damage was superficial and he fut the fence back up like nothing has happened... but an idiot stomper post it on the net and now he kena DB... no one had to get hurt, but because of stome, someone got hurt...
Well, You want your doctor spreading your illness on the internet and making fun of you?
Was they an actual mention of the school or the kids whos essay belonged to whatsoever? if there was none, i dun really see what is so wrong about this? i think at least he was'human' enuff just to share his frustration about his work on his blog.
he doesn;t mean any harm to anyone or ill intent, becuz if he did, he would already have exposed the school and the actual class...
its this -kia su- sicko mentality thats spreading around in the society, that everyone especially the
non-elite is expandable if they show even a remote chance of 'comitting somethings tats wrong'
Hell i remember someone of Wee Something writing something MUCH MUCH WORST..
wat happen in the end.. oh.. 'lets just MOVE ON'... *sic*
yea lets just move on and forget about STOMP.. its for retards and busy bodies who just love taking
phone shots and whining about tis and tat all day long... get a life lar pls..
Note a few stuff,
#1 No names
#2 He is still learning(trial teacher...don't know what you call that)
I know some of you might say, "hey if its your kids, you defintely will fume right?"
Please don't leave all the jobs to the teachers to do, if you think your kid got this kind of comment it means you need to do some stuff to buck up their English.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:
Well, You want your doctor spreading your illness on the internet and making fun of you?
zzz... if my name is never mentioned, then would I be humiliated...?
I saw you naked in your room thru my window and I post on sgforums "I saw a naked guy thru my window" only would you be humiliated...?
wa! another person loose his job bcos of stomp.
wonder wat happen to the bus driver who nap at the red traffic light...and kenna stomp...
Originally posted by Ah Cek:wa! another person loose his job bcos of stomp.
wonder wat happen to the bus driver who nap at the red traffic light...and kenna stomp...
I'm just waiting for 1 day a school student is expelled because he/she appeared on stomp...
Originally posted by 4getmenot:Was they an actual mention of the school or the kids whos essay belonged to whatsoever? if there was none, i dun really see what is so wrong about this? i think at least he was'human' enuff just to share his frustration about his work on his blog.
he doesn;t mean any harm to anyone or ill intent, becuz if he did, he would already have exposed the school and the actual class...its this -kia su- sicko mentality thats spreading around in the society, that everyone especially the
non-elite is expandable if they show even a remote chance of 'comitting somethings tats wrong'Hell i remember someone of Wee Something writing something MUCH MUCH WORST..
wat happen in the end.. oh.. 'lets just MOVE ON'... *sic*yea lets just move on and forget about STOMP.. its for retards and busy bodies who just love taking
phone shots and whining about tis and tat all day long... get a life lar pls..
Well, there *IS* a mention of the school name...
Originally posted by MohamedF:I'm just waiting for 1 day a school student is expelled because he/she appeared on stomp...
yaman. especially those behaving intimately in public places in sch uniforms.
Well, STOMP is serving it's use.
It's the people behind the keyboard who abuse it.
any teachers that condemn a student do not deserve to be one
Originally posted by 淋雨:any teachers that condemn a student do not deserve to be one
can't agree anymore. if students are smart, why need a teacher?
Originally posted by nehpyh:I understand what you mean, bro Lennon. My vague analogy is after all, an analogy - nothing better than the real case.
My point is this:
If he complains about himself, don't think anyone would care either. But he is complaining about his students, who trust him to teach them, not to laugh at their mistakes.
Although the names are not revealed, the school name is. It reflects badly on the school if nothing is being done to the teacher and soon teachers all over Singapore will be doing the same thing, posting up students' mistakes online just for the sake of fun. Don't be surprised one day you find your own essays here and have tonnes of people laughing at all your errors.
Every individual's work belongs to that person. Without his or her permission, you cannot just reveal their work to everyone in the whole wide world.