please quote.
Which Officer in Police Training Command teaches our Trainees to give a warning shot.
At about 1.50pm today, Police received a call for assistance at the hawker centre at Blk 221B Boon Lay Place. Two officers were despatched to the scene.
On arrival, officers were informed by members of public that a Chinese man in his 40s, armed with a chopper, was sitting at a table. Our officers returned to their vehicle and retrieved their shields. They returned to the hawker centre and approached the man. When the man saw the officers, he picked up the chopper laid before him on the table and charged towards the officers.
Our officers shouted at the man in English and Mandarin to put down the chopper, but he ignored the warning and continued advancing towards the officers with the chopper in his right hand. One of the officers then drew his revolver and fired a shot. A scuffle ensued which resulted in our officers subduing the man and placing him under arrest.
No one was injured, apart from one of the officers who suffered minor abrasions on his arm. Police are investigating the matter.
| PUBLIC AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE 11 May 2006 @ 5.00 pm |
Source: http://www.spf.gov.sg/mic/2006/060511_boonlayshot.htm
the article above did not say that the officer gave a warning shot.
it says.
The officer gave verbal warnings before firing a shot. afterwhich a scuffle ensued.
and my question is.
Which Officer in Police Training Command teaches our Trainees to give a warning shot.
Police fire shot, arrest man for wielding chopper at crowd
A dispute over a sugarcane drink led to a gunshot at the Boon Lay hawker centre.
Police fired a shot and later arrested a man who was earlier seen wielding a chopper at bystanders in the hawker centre.
Witnesses said it all started just before 2pm in front of a sugarcane stall.
A man, in his 40s, had approached two women and a toddler for a sip of their sugarcane juice.
He got upset when the women tried to shoo him away.
Bystanders then saw him running into a nearby food stall.
"I came over and told him to stop. He insisted on taking the knife and glared at me. I got scared and ran away," said stallholder Lee Sek Kiong.
With the chopper in his hand, the man was next seen charging towards two police officers who were called to the scene.
Despite the officers' warnings, the man continued to advance on them.
One of the officers then fired a shot on the ground as the other apprehended the man and placed him under arrest.
Police said no one was injured.
Stallholders told Channel NewsAsia that they started seeing the man loitering around the market only in the last two weeks.
They described him as someone in his late 40s, mentally unstable and has a habit of eating customers' leftover
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Those aunties will say: BUAY taser ar???
Source: http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/1480/topics/190579
"On arrival, officers were informed by members of public that a Chinese man in his 40s, armed with a chopper, was sitting at a table. Our officers returned to their vehicle and retrieved their shields. They returned to the hawker centre and approached the man. When the man saw the officers, he picked up the chopper laid before him on the table and charged towards the officers."
Assess the situation. No two situation the same. Don't ask why year 2006 can, year 2008 cannot.
The Officer fired a shot but the shot hit the ground.
Warning shots are shot into the sky. not to the ground.
Please reply to my question. Thanks.
tht article a few years ago liao and the PO was oso not the same person..-.-
Originally posted by mancha:"On arrival, officers were informed by members of public that a Chinese man in his 40s, armed with a chopper, was sitting at a table. Our officers returned to their vehicle and retrieved their shields. They returned to the hawker centre and approached the man. When the man saw the officers, he picked up the chopper laid before him on the table and charged towards the officers."
Assess the situation. No two situation the same. Don't ask why year 2006 can, year 2008 cannot.
The crux of the matter is not the shield.
If the policeman here can fire a shot to the ground without fear of ricochet.
Why is it that this trigger happy policeman can just shoot without giving a warning shot first?
Seems like the threat of ricochet is a non-existent one,
else the policeman in the Boon Lay case wouldn't have done it.
Else the police report would have stated that the bullet ricocheted hitting someone.
I tell you what happened, the policeman in the MRT case got scared,
he took out his pistol and shot at the suspect straight in the critical parts of the body.
Originally posted by corebooster:The Officer fired a shot but the shot hit the ground.
Hehehe.....
So I guess the policeman in the Boon Lay case illegally discharged his firearm or misfired.
First of all you said they don't teach you to fire warning shots in the police force.
Then now you tell me warning shots are fired into the sky.
corebooster's original post:
please quote.
Which is which?
Do they teach you to fire warning shots or not?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
The crux of the matter is not the shield.If the policeman here can fire a shot to the ground without fear of ricochet.
Why is it that this trigger happy policeman can just shoot without giving a warning shot first?
Seems like the threat of ricochet is a non-existent one,
else the policeman in the Boon Lay case wouldn't have done it.
Else the police report would have stated that the bullet ricocheted hitting someone.
I tell you what happened, the policeman in the MRT case got scared,
he took out his pistol and shot at the suspect straight in the critical parts of the body.
to ask u. who say u must shoot a warning shot befoore shooting?
the policeman in boon lay, he fired a shot but it hitted the ground and the bullet richochet, luckily, did not injure any member of public.
IF HE din injure any member of public, the report will not have the richochet portion in it. COZ it is NON-EXISTENT.
Afterwhich, he has been in a scuffle, then the person was then arrested.
and to add
Police Officers are trained to shoot to disarm not to kill.
"If the policeman here can fire a shot to the ground without fear of ricochet."
The answer is right there. Ground, not floor.
Originally posted by corebooster:
to ask u. who say u must shoot a warning shot befoore shooting?
the policeman in boon lay, he fired a shot but it hitted the ground and the bullet richochet, luckily, did not injure any member of public.
IF HE din injure any member of public, the report will not have the richochet portion in it. COZ it is NON-EXISTENT.
Afterwhich, he has been in a scuffle, then the person was then arrested.
and to add
Police Officers are trained to shoot to disarm not to kill.
Why did the policeman fire a shot to the ground?
For fun and laughter, peace and joy?
Originally posted by mancha:"If the policeman here can fire a shot to the ground without fear of ricochet."
The answer is right there. Ground, not floor.
Ground or floor, still the same, the flooring in hawker centers are tiled with concrete base.
Originally posted by googoomuck:Nosense. It's never a justification for a policeman to shoot and kill a man holding a knife. Why didn't the policeman shoot his shoulder?
ok, intention to disarm or intention to kill, one point to note.
the other, richochet effects are tremendous. a warning shot to any object other than the suspect would be deemed dangerous to the members of public. a gas leak or like what others said, debris, may injure the members of public. besides, the worst case scenario is that the ricochet affects the member of public, suspect fatally stabs PO, PO dies, suspect stabs more people and goes postal.
a shot to the body, considering suspect is charging, limbs move faster, body position stays consistent. a miss would mean someone would get injure, other than the suspect.a shot at such a small reaction time frame is justified due to the course in which the torso is the main area in which the PO should target to prevent further harm to the POs, the members of public and the wellbeing of everyone around there, including the suspect. what to do? the shot hit the vital organ(heart?), he is plain unlucky he died, bt an aim to the torso would include vital organs. thats what you get for charging with a weapon. he would most probably been hanged for his deed(murder) and death by police is due to his impulsive nature which caused the PO to intervene.
POs have a gun for something, to disarm suspects during dangerous times. as such, this is such a time in which it was in an urban area with many people, therefore, an aim out of range of the suspect would jeopardize the safety of others.
lets talk about probability,
the probability of a ricochet would be high, and if PO does not hit the suspect, the probability of being harmed increases by the miliseconds.
the probability of shooting a limb MIGHT deter the advance of the suspect but there is a chance he may still proceed, heard of the mentally unstable guy who had 4 shots before he dropped?
the probability of STOPPING THE ADVANCE OF THE SUSPECT would be highest in the event of taking a shot to the torso.
therefore, i say it is justified, once again.
First of all you said they don't teach you to fire warning shots in the police force.
Which is which?
please quote.
corebooster's 2nd post:
The Officer fired a shot but the shot hit the ground.
Hehehe.....So I guess the policeman in the Boon Lay case illegally discharged his firearm or misfired.
please quote.
Which is which?
Do they teach you to fire warning shots or not?
i asked you.
Which Officer in Police Training Command teaches our trainees to give a warning shot.
and, if you were to see warning shots given in police documentaries in online videos(which are non-related to Singapore Police Force), you will realise that warning shots are fired to the sky. and i never mentioned that we are taught to fire warning shots.
Illegal discharge of firearm is different from misfire. Please read up.
The Officer fired a shot. but that shot hit the ground. the report did not state that it is a warning shot.
So.
Please, Reply to my question.
inside hawker center were can fire the roof...skali something happen to the roof how?
Originally posted by Deino:inside hawker center were can fire the roof...skali something happen to the roof how?
if u cant fire a warning shot.
den there is no need to point to the roof.
hor?
correct rite?
Originally posted by Deino:inside hawker center were can fire the roof...skali something happen to the roof how?
shoot ground oso cannot leh...later ricochet how? o.o so tht means tht PO was not really thinking during tht time. He was just plain lucky nothing happened
Originally posted by Maith:
shoot ground oso cannot leh...later ricochet how? o.o so tht means tht PO was not really thinking during tht time. He was just plain lucky nothing happened
ya lor.......
Originally posted by corebooster:i asked you.
Which Officer in Police Training Command teaches our trainees to give a warning shot.
and, if you were to see warning shots given in police documentaries in online videos(which are non-related to Singapore Police Force), you will realise that warning shots are fired to the sky. and i never mentioned that we are taught to fire warning shots.
Illegal discharge of firearm is different from misfire. Please read up.
The Officer fired a shot. but that shot hit the ground. the report did not state that it is a warning shot.
So.
Please, Reply to my question.
Yah yah......
Hehehe....
The policeman in Boon Lay fired a shot into the ground for fun and laughter, peace and joy.
Else the policeman wanted to shoot the suspect, but he bobo shooter, shot the ground instead.
Happy?
I am happy.
Wahahahahaha........
he fired a shot
but the bullet hit the ground.
after which he is in a scuffle with the person.
roughly u will know how fast everything happens, after firing a shot which did not hit the person, they are in a scuffle already.
Yah yah......
Hehehe....
The policeman in Boon Lay fired a shot into the ground for fun and laughter, peace and joy.
Else the policeman wanted to shoot the suspect, but he bobo shooter, shot the ground instead.
Happy?
I am happy.
Wahahahahaha........
lol i think its fun,joy,peace and laughter..it sounds more smooth
Yah yah......
Hehehe....
Happy?
I am happy.
Wahahahahaha........
Thanks for resorting to laughter to end your discussion.
I need of some sleep and will be going to sleep now.
Whether it is a human error or technical fault. no one will have a answer to that incident.
But if u can. provide evidence that which officer in Police Training Command teaches our trainee to fire a warning shot. to enlighten our fellow sgforumers.
Ground or floor, still the same, the flooring in hawker centers are tiled with concrete base.
OK!. Based on the report he fired a shot and hit the ground (floor), still before he decide to fire he would have considered his target, the surrounding and the line of fire. This case he has the time, remember he went back to get the shield, and approach a second time.