Maybe, but if it's the right thing to do, it is the right thing to do. Imagine how the US soldiers in iraq feel like.. i'm sure some of them will be tramatised but for the others, they believe that by shooting the buggers, they're saving the lives of their fellow soldiers. So it's the same logic i guess.. What do you think?
Originally posted by EarlNeo:What if the police miss? there is load of ppl behind. Then again, how was this picture taken?
From CCTV? but cctv are black and white mostly. Dun tell me it is from someone HP. so the police was there shouting stop dun run, rise ur hand with his gun drawn... then this photographer 1st instinct was to take his HP out to take picture???
The picture is taken a few sec after that guy drop form the shot rite? else why no blood yet. and the police gun held high.....
The photo was taken by an eye witness and sent to ST
That photo is on the ST front page today ma
The photo was taken by an eye witness and sent to STThat photo is on the ST front page today ma
oh... but still... who in the rite mind take out his phone when seeing a guy charging at the police with knife and the PO gun held high. ![]()
i doubt cctv are still just black and white.
Originally posted by EarlNeo:oh... but still... who in the rite mind take out his phone when seeing a guy charging at the police with knife and the PO gun held high.
TNP got a eye witness recount the whole event
He said he thought they are shooting movie -_-" and he somemore go close to see the body -_-"
A tourist in his right mind haha.
Quote ST:
unarmed combat with a man charging at you with a knife? crazy.
so you think he got beer belly, he 43-year-old he slow is it? he just stabbed a man to his death. he can run as fast as possible to escape arrest. he charged at the policemen with his knife already shows he means business.
kudos to the police officer. he should be publicly commended for his bravery & quick judgement.
unlike others who just type on their keyboards deploring other ways this armed suspect could be apprehended... shame on you.
the PO was frozen for a few mins according to witnesses.
i tink it would happen to me too, how many of us would actually shoot at a fellow human being?
Everyday, hundreds, if not thousands, of cases are tended by policemen and other officers from various enforcement agencies in Singapore. We should thank them for that rather than just one event in which the lives of civilians were made safe. It is thier cumulative efforts which have made Singapore safe. How many places on earth can you walk safely at 2am in the morning without being in danger of being mugged?
There are so many other incidents where policemen and other enforcement offficers have put thier lives in the line to protect civilians. How many policemen have got themselves slashed by knives, parangs, etc or got injured in the line of thier duty? Go and find out. They do not go around advertising such incidents. You`ll only hear of big events when the media comes.
In this case, it would be pointless to resort to unarmed combat when there are so many bystanders around. And it would be crazy to engage in a sword fight using your baton versus a knife. The possibilty of you hitting him is there. But so is the possibility of you being slashed or stabbed at critical areas and in affect killing you.
I would have shot the idiot as well.
Kudos to the police officer.
The reason why firearms training aims at the torso is for a simple reason. It's the biggest surface area, and being shot there packs the most punch. To those who think the officer did wrongly, think again:
The attacker was like 3m or less according to the newspaper reports. know how short a distance that is when someone with a knife and IMH history charges at you? VERY SHORT. If you are the officer, it's gonna be a case of either you or him.
Remember, the deceased is a murderer who is armed with a lethal weapon, prepared to use it, and had prior to the shooting fatally stab another man.
Also, legally, the Penal Code allow for the right of private defence, to the extent of death in this case.
Thus, what's wrong with the officer's decision? Unjustified? No I wouldnt say so
Originally posted by maurizio13:
If a few meters no chance to fire warning shot, then should aim at leg.The police should only imobilize the person, not shoot to kill.
What if it turns out the knife was a prop and the person was insane?
lol, u veri funny, if some 1 is charging at a veri near distance, u got time to aim at leg???
U wan the policeman to get stab and see if it is real?? or ask the person is it real or r u insane???
If the policeman do wat u say, this topic will change to:" Y policeman got gun also dunno hw to use and end up get killed by a insane ppl."
Originally posted by pacoboy:The reason why firearms training aims at the torso is for a simple reason. It's the biggest surface area, and being shot there packs the most punch. To those who think the officer did wrongly, think again:
The attacker was like 3m or less according to the newspaper reports. know how short a distance that is when someone with a knife and IMH history charges at you? VERY SHORT. If you are the officer, it's gonna be a case of either you or him.
Remember, the deceased is a murderer who is armed with a lethal weapon, prepared to use it, and had prior to the shooting fatally stab another man.
Also, legally, the Penal Code allow for the right of private defence, to the extent of death in this case.
Thus, what's wrong with the officer's decision? Unjustified? No I wouldnt say so
I totally agree to wat u say man. Some ppl mus really do more reading and think with sense. Not just type blindly.
And I think the policeman does not want to kill the person too. He too will have to go through counselling.
open book refer
Rule of engagement?
read all step by step clearly!
the police man is wrong. where is his warning shot?
Originally posted by zaxis:open book refer
Rule of engagement?
may i ask if u had gone thru NS?
A warning shot cannot be fired when it compromises the lives of other people. And especially in an underground station. The bullet could richochet and hit someone else. Or the bullet could have hit important hydraulics or piping which could lead to an explosion or fire. Under the circumstances, the PO`s first priority is to safeguard his life and the lives of others around him.
According to newspaper reports, a warning shout was given and that would be sufficient warning; assuming he even had enough time to issue a verbal warning.
Just imagine you are drunk during the weekend night, out of the sudden pick up a bottle or something and start running towards an officer and then... you get killed by their revolver...
Ok lar just to add some of my own comments or maybe judgement . The place where the shooting took place was an underground area with alot of wires , piping etc hidden in the structures and roof , so any so called warning shot fired upwards may trigger the unexpected emergancy case of maybe gas leakage or even power outage which may lead to bigger things to happen for example the train may be stopped in their tracks requiring many duty personnels to do their part resulting in mins or even hours of service disruption .
And also they have full colour cctv install in that station which are being recorded by digital video recorder round the clock . ( perhaps you should ask whose cctv that couldn't record belongs to but certainly not sbst ones ) . So the chances of the whole incident being recorded in their dvr is quite high although i can't say how much . Anyway all possible footage have been surrendered to the CID for further investigation .
And also comeon lar even kids playing arcade games using guns will know shooting at legs are quite hard to do , so please use your brains to think . If you are within the attacking range of some mad man , do you still have the time to aim at the legs or arms ? have you ever imagine if your shot miss and hit someone , even if you survive the attack , but you still have to explain for the passengers injury/death over why you aim for the arms or legs instead of the body . So even if you din get killed by the attacker , most likely your career as a policeman will also end there . And not only that you also have to apologies to the victims family members and your own conciouse . Can you really slp in peace after you know that your stupid idea killed or injured someone innocent ?
Originally posted by joshuax:
A picture speaks a thousand words..
Rule of engagement?
zaxis you are not a new forumer, the warning shot issues has already been throughly discussed.
Just imagine you are drunk during the weekend night, out of the sudden pick up a bottle or something and start running towards an officer and then... you get killed by their revolver...
A bottle is not a knife. A drunkard does not have the same mental faculties of a sober person as well control over his/her mobility.
Very easy to come up with any general scenario. There are a lot of factors to consider when the policeman makes the judgment call to fire off a gun; distance, safety of civilians, his own safety, ability to evade him, ability to subdue him, ability to reason with him/her, etc. Every public servant has the right to defend himself/herself while discharging thier duties. But they are answerable to the law as per the actions they do.
In short, the police is not trigger happy. The last time a fire-arm is used is in 2002. Compare that to regional countries or places like New York.
But let`s say u replace the knife with a half broken bottel in the scenario at Outram MRT. I would still expect the Po to shoot him rather than engage in physical sparing with a baton in the midst of so many innocent bystanders.
whether it is wrong or right if I was the PO i would open fire too!!
Open book refer? huh. which book. Did you even completed ns yet? Warning shot, as in skywards? when the fellow is 3m or less away from you, that is suicidal, because by the time u fired skywards his knife would be in you. Wah lau eh. I am a new forumer here leh, but I seriously dunno where some of the opposers' ideas came from. Warning shot, tackling by unarmed combat or Tbaton, shoot legs etc... The officer got like a split second to make his decision. A decision which will decide who is the one lying down... To those who serve ns in police b4, esp the frontliners, you know all the elements jeopardy oportunity and ability is there in the case featured here.
So is it ok if the one who died or seriously injured is the officer instead? No. Call me pro govt, call me pro police, whatever. If the officer is wrong, I would say so. Just commenting based on the facts available so far... If wrong, I will say wrong. If right, I will say right.
bottomline is, the police has done his job & the suspect is no longer dangerous.
i too was shocked when the news came out... in my mind, i went "wah! really must shoot one ah!" but after watching news on tv and reading the papers, i feel it is a justified move.
Rule of engagement?
It's really a text book case for POs.
RoE for SPF and SAF is different.
Warning shot ? i think the PO would have been dead if he did a warning shot.
If faced with the same situation i too would have shot the bugger.