these days, the banquet and traditions stuff are done to appease the older generations
nowadays, couples would prefer to spend the money to buy a nicer furniture, a longer honeymoon or save for baby =p
Chinese wedding dinner is rather boring. No dancing, partying etc.
Wedding dinner is to 'show off' only lah. Ma Fan also.
wedding dinner? do it at your own comfort level... no choice? .. hack it... I understnad the sentiement with elderly people. I had mine at fatty weng restaurant, and a buffet at home after church ceremony. there was not buffet reception at church as all my guests were at the dinner.. Actually, church buffet would be a better and cheap alternative... caterer supply everything... most time, you can even have some pocket $$ if not the lost is marginal or manageable..
Most of my friends had theirs are hotel, 4* type.. ended up paying a bomb. But thre are exceptionals too, like if you have very rich people attending, no choice, have to choose a classy place.... like my sister-i-l's brother. Make TENS of $K because his bosses give HUGE ANG BAO.... 1 person ang bao can cover few tables... some more... not one giving that .. its ONE whole table feel with Ang Moh and Middle East boss specially fying down to SG to attend his wedding.... how not to get rich.. anyway, he quit 1 yr after the wedding..
Originally posted by angel7030:
Aiya, Unker, TS is implying why we all should let the restaurants earn our money, nothing to do with you give or they dun give matters.
And i thot bachelor and sinister also can apply HDB mah, no HDB, can also buy private house mah. Why need to ROM and have the hard copy of it.
If stingy can also hv wedding mah, but give sting ray dishes can liao
sinister![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:these days, the banquet and traditions stuff are done to appease the older generations
nowadays, couples would prefer to spend the money to buy a nicer furniture, a longer honeymoon or save for baby =p
for girls these are a must
-wedding photos
-huge solitare
-honey moon in romantic places
Dinner is optional right?
I don't mind and even enjoy going to wedding dinner PROVIDED it's close friends or close relatives.
What I cannot accept are so call colleagues that is not even from my department and out of the blue I find a 'saman' on my table just because I said hi-hi and bye bye when I so happen to bump into them in the morning or going home time on the lift foyer. What is worst is they even have my name spelt wrong! Usually I throw the 'saman' away and when the new bride or groom came back from their wedding or honeymoon and ask why I never attend (sometimes after one month later then only they bumped into me again) I will tell them straight off saying 'Eh! That 'saman' for me one meh?' Don't know wor because my name was spelt wrongly so thought it must be mistaken identity'![]()
Yah dont do lo~!!!!! Ownself cook and put table invite guest lo~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the budget way of inviting guests for wedding dinner .. go to a kopitiam tze char stall reserve a few tables .. ask the chef cook a few of his best dishes .... less than $1000 can gao tim liao
of cos the ppl attending r both side parents n closer relatives like cousin ... uncle auntie .. etc
I guess yah the trend is that more people are considering less hassle ways of holding their marriage.However, there are still people who have those large number of tables ones.
These people, many the couples dunno becos they are the fathers friends, mother friends, people from father dialect association.then, there is classmates, colleagues, ex-colleague. girl side than will times 2.
Many of these is I go your one last time so now my wedding I invite you back. Chinese saying is called "li shang wan lai" Therefore, end up no choice, very hard to reject going for wedding.
In the end, everyone has to go for everyone's wedding. YOu see?? This means huge money for restaurants. I say the best is to go and buy a book on "how to say NO"
Come to think of it. The best is not to hold large wedding. Once you invite many people, they will invite you back next time when their turn comes... and that means many hongbaos you have to prepare.... i am so ingenius.... unless
lets say dinner cost 10 K, you get 15K hongbao, so your profit is 5K (that is if you make a profit in the first place) my brother one make a profit of few Ks, but if minus photos and others is go into red liao.
As a result of inviting relatively large number of guest. My father and brothers has to give hongbao in the future wedding cos of the "li shang wang lai" effect.