Originally posted by sinicker:i went to PK computer at jurong point to look for a laptop bag.
i asked the tall, chinese guy.. "do you have this in other colours?"
he looked dumbfounded. like going into a fit soon... then he replied...
"mandarin, pwease?"
man, they should have sent this china guy for some english courses..
Originally posted by QX179R:man, they should have sent this china guy for some english courses..
hahaha. they shudnt even have hired this guy!
Originally posted by sinicker:
hahaha. they shudnt even have hired this guy!
wat to do - hiring them are cheap..![]()
Originally posted by GHoST_18:1 PRC salesman tried to sell me a 42' sony LCD...
and he was telling me all the features abt the TV in mandarin...
maybe you should realise that china is growing fast on track. few years down the rd, the ang mo will be trying to speak mandarin. taiwanese also laughed at us for our poor mandarin.
Originally posted by jacqn:
maybe you should realise that china is growing fast on track. few years down the rd, the ang mo will be trying to speak mandarin. taiwanese also laughed at us for our poor mandarin.
so you're suggesting that we should kowtow to them cos they're going to be the next super power ? ...
I think the PRC people in the front line, if their command of english is less than 2 digits but still tries hard to serve you with patience, is still better than our local "childen of bo chap" manning the counter in some shops.
Their attitude is really like fuck.
Sorry, fucking is still pleasureable, their attitude is something like you try hard to shit, but the shit is just stuck in your ass.
Originally posted by Fatum:so you're suggesting that we should kowtow to them cos they're going to be the next super power ? ...
of course not lah. we should not be too extreme when treating them. if want to complain them, it should be the attitude, not the use of language.
how would you feel ... if you're a non-chinese singaporean trying to get some service from these people ? ....
Singapore is not made up of chinese alone you know ....
that time i went to pc show,
when i try to ask PRC assistant
haha they dun know wat they selling at all sia
Originally posted by Fatum:how would you feel ... if you're a non-chinese singaporean trying to get some service from these people ? ....
precisely.
no one understands how i feel.
after a hard day's work & i just need a laptop bag....
i have no problems with them manning food stalls. at least i can point to the item on display & use my fingers to say how many i want.
but to be in shops where you must ask for help on functions of the items all.. how can put PRC there nia.
Originally posted by Fatum:how would you feel ... if you're a non-chinese singaporean trying to get some service from these people ? ....
true.. maybe the company is not able to hire sporean, cos they are cheaper, and they are more hardworking( some lah).
How many locals can say 5 sentences with proper grammar and no "la le ly"?
wats wrong with locals speaking local style language? ![]()
Working in the service line myself, I do suggest that Singaporeans to look on their attitude as well. We are obliged to serve you but that does not mean we have to take your shit as well.
Often I have customers viewing 100+ of my items then just walking away. Or some customers simply coming to di siao siao. And please, we are just employees, we cannot decide how much discount to give you.
Originally posted by Alucard101:How many locals can say 5 sentences with proper grammar and no "la le ly"?
I would suggest you not to look down on your fellow countrymen if you do not wish to be done the same way.
if someone is trying to sell me something, he should probably promote the item in a way i can comprehend...
would u buy something when u dun even understand its features?
could grandfather speak fluent eng? 1st gen is usually like that one what.
if i put you in some non-eng speaking countries, you think those ppl would listen to you bullcraps in Singlish meh??? or can you even find yourself a job?? pls stop complaning so much, you are not just denying them, but also your forefathers.
Originally posted by hotmail08:could grandfather speak fluent eng? 1st gen is usually like that one what.
if i put you in some non-eng speaking countries, you think those ppl would listen to you bullcraps in Singlish meh??? or can you even find yourself a job?? pls stop complaning so much, you are not just denying them, but also your forefathers.
what if some people's forefathers speak malay, or tamil ? ....
you sound like you're a new immigrant ... please remember that in Singapore, we are a multi-cultural society, that's what we have english as our universal lingua franca ... if you can't take that, go back the fark where you came from ....
then I am just curious abt how you define a real Singaporean just yourself?
I suppose, you can speak in at least 4 languages and you can understand all the different cultures in Sg quite well?
Well, if you cant do so, which i think it's almost impossible, then you are just contradicting yourself, and denying their forefathers as well.
Originally posted by hotmail08:then I am just curious abt how you define a real Singaporean just yourself?
I suppose, you can speak in at least 4 languages and you can understand all the different cultures in Sg quite well?
Well, if you cant do so, which i think it's almost impossible, then you are just contradicting yourself, and denying their forefathers as well.
at least I don't get on my chinese chauvinist high horse and start spouting about denying my ancestors when I AM living in a mult-cultural society right now ...
what about you ? ... you think that Singapore is made up of chinese alone issit ? ... if you're so comfortable in a homogenous society, then I suppose you don't reeally belong here ....
I am afraid that your arguments on the issue of use of ENGLISH is making Singapore sounds like a homogenous society.
Originally posted by hotmail08:I am afraid that your arguments on the issue of use of ENGLISH is making Singapore sounds like a homogenous society.
you don't get it do you ? ......
English, is the only way the different races in Singapore can communicate with each other ... never mind with the world ....
let me ask you this question ... what happens, when a malay or indian compatriot comes around and try to order something, or get some service from a service personal who speaks only mandarin ? .....
or if you have it your way, you'd have these malay and indian chaps learn mandarin instead ? ... huh ? ...
I met one today ar 7/11.... cant even speak proper cantonese but working in hk.. knn... even worst than mi her cantonese...so sg is not the only place they invaded lah..
english is universal medium of communication among different races. whats so difficult
i usually bring my money somewhere else when I know that the SA is a PRC..