Originally posted by SGidoits:sry we are singaporean ty
and with a pea brain right?
Chinese is a race, Singaporean is nationality, if you didn't know
yawns... talk so much for what... you go market listen to aunties talk even worse
whatever you say sir ![]()
I think you're the one who don't get my words.
What to do, geyland uncles need PRC gals to help them live thru their golden age
Singaporeans refuse to give birth result in decrease in population, unable to substain the knowledge economy, so china come in lor,
Singaporeans dun dare to take risk, kia see, kia soo, scare of dirty works, shift, long hours work, workplace too far, so china pple come in.
Singaporeans getting older and older, with less younger one going for clean air con job even if is pay peanut, so young china pples come in to take over.
So dun blame them, blame Singaporeans themselves ya, for refusing to increase the population, giving the full mandate to govt to make decision without questioning, unable to take the hard knock of life.
Sian china people all like tat like to steal rice bowl
everywhere i go,those talking the loudest are from china.
very soon china-born pple will become ministers.
In Singapore, we do differentiate between a Singaporean Chinese and a PRC. In another word, we are different, both culturally and mentally.
If you think only Singaporeans are complaining about PRCs, then you are damn wrong. U have no idea what some, if not, most of the PRCs in Singapore are whining and ranting about Singapore, Singaporeans, Singapore Government etc...
But out of Singapore, especially in Western countries, we are treated simply as Chinese. Not much difference at all.
southeast asian=low IQ ,ugly monkeys
Originally posted by Spartans:In Singapore, we do differentiate between a Singaporean Chinese and a PRC. In another word, we are different, both culturally and mentally.
If you think only Singaporeans are complaining about PRCs, then you are damn wrong. U have no idea what some, if not, most of the PRCs in Singapore are whining and ranting about Singapore, Singaporeans, Singapore Government etc...
But out of Singapore, especially in Western countries, we are treated simply as Chinese. Not much difference at all.
We are treated as Asians, not Chinese.
singapore aso counted as a country frm southeast asia right?
I'll 'fess up ..
I do not have grudges against PRC nationality but I certainly do dislike their ruling ( Communist )
And while having more PRC's to boost Singapore economy is a good thing but the fact that SG Government gives scholarship to them and not spending more money on cultivating local talents really puts me off. Seriously.
there arent any more communist countries anymore wad..
ya lor. in the beginning when I notice the influx of china ppl, I am still taking it OK. Now, I don't like to see them around in singapore for they come here and some of my fellowmen's rice bowls are taken by them. sob sob. the bloody irresponsible, greedy pap is to be blamed.
Let me recall an incident.
In my uni, one of my lab technologist is a Malay lady. She mentioned that while she was having lunch with another Singaporean Chinese professor at engineering canteen, a large bunch of PRCs students were chatting loudly at the next table.
They were laughing at how stupid Singapore government is. Give them scholarships and money to let them spend. Even China government wont be so nice to its own citizens. Also, they derogated Singaporeans in condescending tone. While they were disparaging about Singapore government and Singaporeans alike, they have no qualm about whether if there are any Singaporeans around. They just happily continued with their Singapore bashing.
This is just one of the many incidents one may encounter local universities where we have significant portions of foreign students.
some think that they are too smart and no one would confront them for whatever they say..
@Spartan :
Exactly. You don't see poor village's children getting proper education. Yet Singapore is being so "generous" to "import" its China talent. Come on, does talent only has to come from China ?!
Just my 2 cents worth.
Originally posted by Spartans:Let me recall an incident.
In my uni, one of my lab technologist is a Malay lady. She mentioned that while she was having lunch with another Singaporean Chinese professor at engineering canteen, a large bunch of PRCs students were chatting loudly at the next table.
They were laughing at how stupid Singapore government is. Give them scholarships and money to let them spend. Even China government wont be so nice to its own citizens. Also, they derogated Singaporeans in condescending tone. While they were disparaging about Singapore government and Singaporeans alike, they have no qualm about whether if there are any Singaporeans around. They just happily continued with their Singapore bashing.
This is just one of the many incidents one may encounter local universities where we have significant portions of foreign students.
Good, somebody could have recorded it and send to PAP. Now we can have a good laugh at PAP, ha ha ha.
dbowie,
we also have a lot Indian talent.
But we have to be frank. China and India have lot of talents who are eager to prove themselves to be capable. Their standard of competitiveness is beyond our understanding.
Originally posted by LittleKc:some think that they are too smart and no one would confront them for whatever they say..
They are not very smart actually. It is easy to thrash most of them, and I have done it many times.
In addition, in most companies offering local scholarships, it already makes business sense to sponsor a singaporean in local studies for 4 years and bond him for 4 years. It would make even more business sense to our business minded government to bond these scholars for 6 years for a 4 years of studies and 3 plane tickets (1 to come over to study, 1 to go back after study, and 1 back here to start work). This is excluding those that start here from secondary schools though...
Further business sense would be the government is actually spending directly into the economy. Most these funds to the students are almost directly spent back into the Singapore economy.
And again, because many of these students are about 1 year older than average Singaporean girls (1 year younger than sg guys) when they just start uni, by the time they are free to go back to their country, they are already at least 30 years old.
And again in the business sense, any contributions they made during their 6 years, in terms of research or patents, are all within Singapore. Good for the reputation of the economy as a whole.
Overall, it makes business sense for the government to get these people here. However, in the social arena, the outlook definitely does not seem as rosy.
Originally posted by Spartans:dbowie,
we also have a lot Indian talent.
But we have to be frank. China and India have lot of talents who are eager to prove themselves to be capable. Their standard of competitiveness is beyond our understanding.
I have to agree that they are extremely hardworking and competitive. I know of many PRC scholars who are now studying extremely hard in NUS (now is study week), while I'm still typing here in the forum -.-"