Originally posted by discovery:hey all..thanks for your replies. the company is a pretty popular one, not a small company in which i can afford to fool around with.
the pay is average marketing pay and the way i see it, i'll have to work 2 to 3 times as hard here, as compared to marketing in another company FOR THE SAME KIND OF PAY.
is it even worth it?
by the way, marketing is an incredibly over-rated job, long hours, not much pay. i'm rethinking this position.
they are pretty much in a hurry to set up a marketing department. imagine this: they even told me i didnt have to bring anything for the interview.
well, just have a go at it & you'll know only when you've tried..
is the job u do going to significantly enhance ur poition in the company ? benefit ur position ? ur boss see u got up?
and you dont know how ? Time to gather ur own seleted group of team members within the company to elevate urself. Oh.. n elevate those around u. lol
But guess she wants u to go solo. =P
Grind the fresh meat.
i think it's not abt the job or the boss or the co., but threadstarter's own mindset towards accepting something totally new.... not confident enuf... afraid of the long hours.....
Originally posted by discovery:hey all..thanks for your replies. the company is a pretty popular one, not a small company in which i can afford to fool around with.
the pay is average marketing pay and the way i see it, i'll have to work 2 to 3 times as hard here, as compared to marketing in another company FOR THE SAME KIND OF PAY.
is it even worth it?
by the way, marketing is an incredibly over-rated job, long hours, not much pay. i'm rethinking this position.
they are pretty much in a hurry to set up a marketing department. imagine this: they even told me i didnt have to bring anything for the interview.
I've got a friend who survived at her company for near to 2 years .. her starting pay was crap. but she went ahead for the exposure the company gave. It depends on you. sometimes the job is shit, but you got to justify if it gives you any benefit on paper. for your case, I think it'll be something good to write on the resume..
I will think about this position again, because the boss herself is not sure what my jobscope is supposed to be.
I prefer a company who knows what it is doing as opposed to being ambigous about alot of things. But that is just me.
thanks for your opinions, guys.
Pay is nothing at this stage... go learn some skills from this job.
Originally posted by discovery:i just graduated from a uni...went to a marketing job interview and the boss offered me a marketing position except that the company has NO marketing department before!
the boss wants me to be the sole person handling marketing and i have no experience! is she crazy or what?
should i accept the offer? the idea of working alone with no experience is abit too much..help!!
By saying that, it showed that you are un-initiated, and do not fancy challenges. Whether you have text book knowledge is not important cos with blaine and passhione, you can actually make it happen.
I'm a marketeer leading a small team for a big firm for years but I do not have former nor professional training...read, think, and open your eyes and ears.
You do know that you have the opportunity to do great things...or mess up. I'm not too worried abt the messing up bit cos IF your boss is sound, he/she will lead you along....many would die for such opportunity.
She bangs, she bangs....
1st job is bery impt.....sets the standard for ur future jobs....
consider and choose carefully
no harm sending more resumes and going to more interviews
dun have to jump right in when u have an offer
Jobs is not scary, it is the peoples who are scary. So, u are given to be operating a alone, no problem, just go for it, but most importantly, boss must support you and ask for higher pay.
is it even worth it?
If u just want the pay... then find something else lah...
If u take this up, there's so much to learn, isnt it more exciting ?
Originally posted by Ferret:If u just want the pay... then find something else lah...
If u take this up, there's so much to learn, isnt it more exciting ?
but becareful, sometime u are taken as a scrape goat to be slaughter, so open your beautiful eyes and see properly ya, dun die with eyes open hor
Originally posted by angel7030:
but becareful, sometime u are taken as a scrape goat to be slaughter, so open your beautiful eyes and see properly ya, dun die with eyes open hor
you think my eyes are beautiful ?
-coos shyly-
reject ba
too much stress to take already
Wah Discovery, what's the mkt rate nowaday?
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:boss see u up!
more often than not, you are expected to get yourself familiarise with everything within a shortest time, then you are expected to perform. If anything wrong, you will be the first to get the blame, no matter how green you are.