i seriously think it's more to do with the ego. if i date an ang mo chick i also feel good about myself, you know? it's that sense of satisfaction that your value has gone up.
yeah, but at the end of the day, happiness = still most important.
i still prefer local SG chinese chicks.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:bleah. i think girls who date ang mo guys are just giving excuses to make themselves sound righteous la. it's nothing to do with them being more gentlemanly or that they spend time playing with kids, or they hold doors for people.
i seriously think it's more to do with the ego. if i date an ang mo chick i also feel good about myself, you know? it's that sense of satisfaction that your value has gone up.
With ur mentality, no wonder people say white supremacy is here to stay.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:yeah, but at the end of the day, happiness = still most important.
i still prefer local SG chinese chicks.
also, i think it's not fair to say that local men aren't gentlemanly. what constitutes gentlemanly? some girls apparently think that in order for a guy to be called gentlemanly, he must continuously spoil her every whim. "oh, i kinda like this pair of shoes.." so the "gentleman" immediately picks up the hint and buys them. and thus he's labelled as gentlemanly.
this is the idea that a certain girl on youtube has on local guys.
if one is obsenely rich, he can definitely afford to be "gentlemanly", shrugs
So from a guy's perspective, care to share how should SIngaporean Girls behave?
It would be interesting to hear it from the guys.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:also, i think it's not fair to say that local men aren't gentlemanly. what constitutes gentlemanly? some girls apparently think that in order for a guy to be called gentlemanly, he must continuously spoil her every whim. "oh, i kinda like this pair of shoes.." so the "gentleman" immediately picks up the hint and buys them. and thus he's labelled as gentlemanly.
This really goes to show how self-dillusioned SOME men are. Being gentlemanly has nothing to do with fat wallets for christ sake.
Originally posted by Stucktoes:Have you all ever wondered that its just a Singaporean behaviour? Just that when a local gal does it, people tend to overlook it because "nahmind la, she girl, give chance and dun fite la".
Most of the times when I'm on a train, and an elderly board it, the person who always gave up their seats is a male from what I observe. The females in the same carriage will give that accusing look "knn! you all boy you all give la, i girl my bag so heavy why i mus give?"
And that's why we have the waiting game and nothing happens...why not give up your seat as a decent human being, and then as a man make a mental note not to date any of those sour faces?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:also, i think it's not fair to say that local men aren't gentlemanly. what constitutes gentlemanly? some girls apparently think that in order for a guy to be called gentlemanly, he must continuously spoil her every whim. "oh, i kinda like this pair of shoes.." so the "gentleman" immediately picks up the hint and buys them. and thus he's labelled as gentlemanly.
That's not called being a gentleman, that's called being a doormat! It earns neither the bint nor the man an iota of respect.
Originally posted by parn:So from a guy's perspective, care to share how should SIngaporean Girls behave?
It would be interesting to hear it from the guys.
Another thread, please, but we've already had too many threads about how the guys discussed in this thread would like S'porean girls not to behave.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:And that's why we have the waiting game and nothing happens...why not give up your seat as a decent human being, and then as a man make a mental note not to date any of those sour faces?
Either I will be deep asleep, or if I'm not, I will give up the seat provided no one else beats me to it. ![]()
eh.... wa piang. this is not gentlemen acts. that is being Mr Robert.
you dont know what are gentlemen acts? nothin with being RICH or not.
gentlemen acts dont have to cost you a cent, YET it's worth MORE than buying a girl gifts.
What's with all this fuss about men being gentlemenly all of a sudden?
Quite a few men that I know would hold the door open not only for ladies, but even for other chaps. They'd give up their seats for pregnant women, oldfolk, tired-looking women. They seem quite gracious to me.
Ever seen the movie "A Few Good Men"?
It's true about good men. There's just a few.
Though, IMHO, i feel that the same applies for women too.
I've met my share of "bad guys" too, but again, why this fixation on guys?
What about the womenfolk?
Talk about equal rights. When men do it, its wrong, but when women do it, it's okay?
Only guys should open doors for girls. Only guys should give up the seats for needy people. Only guys should go to NS.
Guys should suffer, cos they're guys, issit?
Wow.
No wonder quite a few guys give up.
Being guys that is.
Why don't people complain when it's a girl that doesn't give up her courtesy seat for an old lady. Why doesn't she get dirty stares?
Kind of puts stuff into different perspective.
I'm not trying to be condenscending here.
Just trying to give a different view, different take on this.
One reason why it's hard to be a guy in SG is this:
We want to live up to western ideals, but at the same time, keep our asian values at heart.
Sometimes this is viable. Other times... Not really. Actually, it's very conflicting.
Now, when men get into a clinch like this, it is often a much discussed and publicised topic.
What about womenfolk? I think that would be an interesting matter to discuss.
Well, i am sure there are all sorts of types in both genders.
Just do what you do. If you are a real nice guy, your actions will carry through. Why be bothered about stuff that comes out from people's mouths?
Originally posted by motoway:With ur mentality, no wonder people say white supremacy is here to stay.
dumbdumb! might have a point. I think he was pointing out that for an SG gal to go out with an angmoh guy, it serves the ego. It does make sense, after all many asian gals have this mentality that marrying an angmoh equates to 'marrying up'. And why won't marrying up boost any woman's ego?
Originally posted by motoway:
This really goes to show how self-dillusioned SOME men are. Being gentlemanly has nothing to do with fat wallets for christ sake.
i'm saying, that to some girls, being gentlemanly is about pleasing her every whim and fancy. you're only a gentleman to her if you pay for every date, and pay for everything on that date etc.
i'm saying that, being gentlemanly shouldn't be measured by the flawed expectations of women.
I have heard with my own ears, a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes. i can paste the youtube here as proof also.
so i think it's not fair for girls to say that local guys are not gentlemanly, so they decided to upped and go hook an ang mo guy. it's just a pile of hogwash la.
if being gentlemanly was their only issue, or rather, the lack of it was their only issue, how many of you here are willing to bet with me that, the girls who are now attached with ang mo guys, are willing to go into a long term relationship with a local guy, if he's gentlemanly by nature, but is flawed in every area. He's a perfect gentleman, but maybe he's slightly bald, bespectacled, and chubby.
how many of you here are willing to bet that she'll drop the ang mo guy and give the local guy a chance?
that's why i say. it's about the ego, and knowing that your social status has increased. knowing that you have caught the eyes of someone from a higher class.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i'm saying, that to some girls, being gentlemanly is about pleasing her every whim and fancy. you're only a gentleman to her if you pay for every date, and pay for everything on that date etc.
i'm saying that, being gentlemanly shouldn't be measured by the flawed expectations of women.
I have heard with my own ears, a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes. i can paste the youtube here as proof also.
so i think it's not fair for girls to say that local guys are not gentlemanly, so they decided to upped and go hook an ang mo guy. it's just a pile of hogwash la.
if being gentlemanly was their only issue, or rather, the lack of it was their only issue, how many of you here are willing to bet with me that, the girls who are now attached with ang mo guys, are willing to go into a long term relationship with a local guy, if he's gentlemanly by nature, but is flawed in every area. He's a perfect gentleman, but maybe he's slightly bald, bespectacled, and chubby.
how many of you here are willing to bet that she'll drop the ang mo guy and give the local guy a chance?
that's why i say. it's about the ego, and knowing that your social status has increased. knowing that you have caught the eyes of someone from a higher class.
Yah lah. Go watch the movie " Knocked Up".
Originally posted by Asfi_Kay:
What about womenfolk? I think that would be an interesting matter to discuss.
Maybe you can look up on the various different threads started by guys on the womenfolk , while this is the first thread started by a guy on men
X2
i think life would be better if we're busy doing something else.
like pursuing your interests.
just because i don't play basketball doesn't mean i go around saying its a crap sport.
but if someone really wants to know, then i'll tell that person why i don't play.
but because i like football. i'll definitely be promoting it.
dumbdumb said:
"a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes."
Not pointing out to all Asian girls but just a good thing i didn't settle down with one.
"a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes."
I swear i dunoe where that came from. Perhaps he's hanging out with the wrong crowd.
From what i know, at least from the handful of girlfriends i hang out with, none of them are like that.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:That's not called being a gentleman, that's called being a doormat! It earns neither the bint nor the man an iota of respect.
how true how true... lol
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:that's why i say. it's about the ego, and knowing that your social status has increased. knowing that you have caught the eyes of someone from a higher class.
Are ang mos a higher class? You are kidding right? please tell me you are joking.... people are people, no matter what colour they are. Not one of us is better than the other. This kind of thinking is childish and immature. Having an ang mo gf/bf increases your social status? ROFL!
Originally posted by breytonhartge:Are ang mos a higher class? You are kidding right? please tell me you are joking.... people are people, no matter what colour they are. Not one of us is better than the other. This kind of thinking is childish and immature. Having an ang mo gf/bf increases your social status? ROFL!
Well in case you've been living deep in a well all these years, you'd have noticed that some people are more equal than others![]()
No matter how equal you want to paint the world, reality hurts. This is no Utopia.
Originally posted by breytonhartge:Are ang mos a higher class? You are kidding right? please tell me you are joking.... people are people, no matter what colour they are. Not one of us is better than the other. This kind of thinking is childish and immature. Having an ang mo gf/bf increases your social status? ROFL!
True lei, some ppl will think that way cuz they see angmoh as superior without knowing local one is the best lol. Well, based on ppl's experience la.. who wouldnt hate men/women if they always experienced bad things with the opposite gender. To find the solution to this , angmoh is the best? Depend individual la, angmoh or any local. If there's God, there's Devil, everything has its pro and con.
Originally posted by CUM ON MY FACE:Well in case you've been living deep in a well all these years, you'd have noticed that some people are more equal than others
No matter how equal you want to paint the world, reality hurts. This is no Utopia.
we wonder who is living in a well. its not how one paints the world, its how one respects oneself.