Maybe you can look up on the various different threads started by guys on the womenfolk , while this is the first thread started by a guy on men
Catknight ![]()
Originally posted by Nikar 3:yeah, but at the end of the day, happiness = still most important.
i still prefer local SG chinese chicks.
YES!!!!! at last, we gals got some hope.
Egoism is a self inflict illness.
Maybe you can look up on the various different threads started by guys on the womenfolk , while this is the first thread started by a guy on men
Hello, it can also be a gay on men ya,
alot of Babas are gay ok
Originally posted by Asfi_Kay:What's with all this fuss about men being gentlemenly all of a sudden?
Quite a few men that I know would hold the door open not only for ladies, but even for other chaps. They'd give up their seats for pregnant women, oldfolk, tired-looking women. They seem quite gracious to me.
Ever seen the movie "A Few Good Men"?
It's true about good men. There's just a few.
Though, IMHO, i feel that the same applies for women too.
I've met my share of "bad guys" too, but again, why this fixation on guys?
What about the womenfolk?
Talk about equal rights. When men do it, its wrong, but when women do it, it's okay?
Only guys should open doors for girls. Only guys should give up the seats for needy people. Only guys should go to NS.
Guys should suffer, cos they're guys, issit?
Wow.
No wonder quite a few guys give up.
Being guys that is.
Why don't people complain when it's a girl that doesn't give up her courtesy seat for an old lady. Why doesn't she get dirty stares?
Kind of puts stuff into different perspective.
I'm not trying to be condenscending here.
Just trying to give a different view, different take on this.
One reason why it's hard to be a guy in SG is this:
We want to live up to western ideals, but at the same time, keep our asian values at heart.
Sometimes this is viable. Other times... Not really. Actually, it's very conflicting.
Now, when men get into a clinch like this, it is often a much discussed and publicised topic.
What about womenfolk? I think that would be an interesting matter to discuss.
Some guys also expect their women to be subservient, goodie-two-shoes material (fags, alcohol and even the occasional swearing are out) that they can bring home to Mum and Dad. Why should women have to subject themselves to an equally-outdated trope just because of their gender?
When there are people who see men and women as equals, the women who don't practise courtesy will get dirty stares too. If the women don't see themselves as the weaker sex (and thus entitled to every benefit of doubt), they wouldn't glare at the men alone. Give up your seat anyway as a considerate human being first and foremost if you don't subscribe to that point of view.
It's not actually a refreshing point of view, I'm afraid.
When I was very young.
My mother tell me to find a man who loves me more than I love him. That he is well to do and can afford to give me a good life. That way my life will be good.
Then my mother tell my brother to find a woman who loves him more than he loves her. So that she will sacrifice for him and be a good wife to him. And make sure she is no gold digger. That way his life will be good.
May the force be with you.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Some guys also expect their women to be subservient, goodie-two-shoes material (fags, alcohol and even the occasional swearing are out) that they can bring home to Mum and Dad. Why should women have to subject themselves to an equally-outdated trope just because of their gender?
When there are people who see men and women as equals, the women who don't practise courtesy will get dirty stares too. If the women don't see themselves as the weaker sex (and thus entitled to every benefit of doubt), they wouldn't glare at the men alone. Give up your seat anyway as a considerate human being first and foremost if you don't subscribe to that point of view.
It's not actually a refreshing point of view, I'm afraid.
Damn no vulgarities?
No wonder my fren who is pretty hot in my opinion does not haf a boyfriend.
So it's her vulgarities that is turning off all the males. ![]()
Heck. That's the way she is and i hope she doesn't change for the sake of the male species.
Love her kick ass attitude. ![]()
Originally posted by motoway:Damn no vulgarities?
So it's her vulgarities that is turning off all the males.
Heck. That's the way she is and i hope she doesn't change for the sake of the male species.
Love her kick ass attitude.
Wah if this is the case I shouldn't even be married :x
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i'm saying, that to some girls, being gentlemanly is about pleasing her every whim and fancy. you're only a gentleman to her if you pay for every date, and pay for everything on that date etc.
i'm saying that, being gentlemanly shouldn't be measured by the flawed expectations of women.
I have heard with my own ears, a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes. i can paste the youtube here as proof also.
so i think it's not fair for girls to say that local guys are not gentlemanly, so they decided to upped and go hook an ang mo guy. it's just a pile of hogwash la.
if being gentlemanly was their only issue, or rather, the lack of it was their only issue, how many of you here are willing to bet with me that, the girls who are now attached with ang mo guys, are willing to go into a long term relationship with a local guy, if he's gentlemanly by nature, but is flawed in every area. He's a perfect gentleman, but maybe he's slightly bald, bespectacled, and chubby.
how many of you here are willing to bet that she'll drop the ang mo guy and give the local guy a chance?
that's why i say. it's about the ego, and knowing that your social status has increased. knowing that you have caught the eyes of someone from a higher class.
What's being a gentleman all about? The way I see it, it's really simply behaving like a considerate and upright person. A decent lady is
capable of doing the same thing. The definition that includes pampering womenfolk and giving them the benefit of the doubt all the time
without reciprocation is nonsense, and even abuse, to me. You don't have to entertain women who think that way if you don't like it.
Look at the points in my first post and you'll see that you can apply most of them to any decent and charming person of either gender.
I won't talk about the situation you mentioned because it's unrealistic. But people choose the easy paths that yield the most reward for
the least effort - which is why some girls have given up on local guys and some guys turn to mail-order brides. If they are discerning
enough they'll give people of any race who match what they're looking for a chance.
ok so me and my gal fren still has some hope. I don't see us changing that vulgarity spewing habit in the near future. ![]()
Cant be bothered man. Although my mum keep asking me not to be so chor lor. =P
vulgarities once in a while ok la.
Not like every sentence you use right?
Originally posted by motoway:"a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes."
I swear i dunoe where that came from. Perhaps he's hanging out with the wrong crowd.
From what i know, at least from the handful of girlfriends i hang out with, none of them are like that.
it came from here:
dude, just because you hang out with what, 20 out of the 2 million girls, and none of them are like that, means that generally girls aren't like that.
Originally posted by motoway:Damn no vulgarities?
So it's her vulgarities that is turning off all the males.
Love her kick ass attitude.
She shouldn't. It worse when the said guys think only their kind have the right to use expletives. ![]()
Haha as a sg guy myself, i will say there is quite true abt us. Sometimes it take u to interact with more ppl from outside that will make u realise the shortcoming u have. Unfortunately I saw alot of ppl who talks like a child in this forum, even after their ns. Esp those who like to compare ns with gals...for christ sake hack it lar! Be a man and serve the nation and you will get the respect u want.
And also in the article, the point which I agreed the most is the NATO part. Sg guys(including me) needs to improve on this...haha
Cheers!
Originally posted by breytonhartge:Are ang mos a higher class? You are kidding right? please tell me you are joking.... people are people, no matter what colour they are. Not one of us is better than the other. This kind of thinking is childish and immature. Having an ang mo gf/bf increases your social status? ROFL!
it's... not the point. you can go all philosophical and talk about how we all bleed red blood, and how we have 2 eyes, 2 ears, 1 mouth, etc.
i can't believe you totally missed my point while trying so hard to look philosophical
Originally posted by angel7030:
Hello, it can also be a gay on men ya,alot of Babas are gay ok
So straight men never comment on other guys? What kind of point of view is that? ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:it came from here:
dude, just because you hang out with what, 20 out of the 2 million girls, and none of them are like that, means that generally girls aren't like that.
hmm. just because 1 girl is like that u mean the general girls out there act and think like her?
Gosh. And please refer to Kuali's post. As men, (or even human beings with a brain) u have a choice not to bother bout that specific species of females.
Originally posted by eagle:vulgarities once in a while ok la.
Not like every sentence you use right?
erm. ![]()
Depends. If i'm with the people i'm comfortable with i use them as punctuations.
Originally posted by motoway:
hmm. just because 1 girl is like that u mean the general girls out there act and think like her?
Gosh. And please refer to Kuali's post. As men, (or even human beings with a brain) u have a choice not to bother bout that specific species of females.
because my point is that, there are girls like that. and it's about the ego thing that they go for ang mo guys, and they're just giving excuses about how asian guys don't cut it like ang mo guys.
my point is that it's not fair to use a flawed sense of what's gentlemanly and what's not to be used as a bench mark for everyone.
my point is that it's pointless to try to please everyone because they feel that only something is done in a specific way would then qualify as "gentlemanly" or some other good qualities. i think that it's furtile to do so.
my point is that girls who go for ang mo guys should be honest about why they did so.
and you blithering idiots are just too busy trying to sound like the holy see, talking about how we bleed the same blood, we're all the same blah blah blah to see my point. which is "IT'S STUPID TO TRY TO PLEASE EVERYONE, JUST DO THE THINGS YOUR CONSCIENCE ASK YOU TO DO TO BE LOVING TO EVERYONE AROUND YOU. WHY? BECAUSE THEIR IDEA OF WHAT'S GENTLEMANLY ETC IS FLAWED TO BEGIN WITH."
while your point seem to suggest that you think that what i'm saying is bullcrap because your 20-30 girl friends aren't like that, so you assume that all girls aren't like that because you never came across any (see? same logic of argument here, but i have a higher probability of being right than you)
actually i don't even know what is the point that you're trying to put across. like are you defending them and that you really think that singaporean guys are ALL ungentlemanly that's why it's only logical that they go for ang mo guys etc?
oh, i don't know. choosing not to bother was what china did when SARS broke out right?
and don't get me wrong, i'm fine with them hooking with ang mo guys, but don't put on that righteous mask and try to act holy about it. if you went for them because of true love, good for you, if you went for them because of the money or the exotic look, whatever, but be truthful about it.
i mean, maybe you're right, i hang with the weird crowd where they go goo goo over H.A.M (a new phrase i picked up from another girl i know who seems to want to try to hook one from her clubbing lifestyle).
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:because my point is that, there are girls like that. and it's about the ego thing that they go for ang mo guys, and they're just giving excuses about how asian guys don't cut it like ang mo guys.
i don't even know what point you're trying to put across. like are you defending them and that you really think that singaporean guys are ALL ungentlemanly that's why it's only logical that they go for ang mo guys etc?
oh, i don't know. choosing not to bother was what china did when SARS broke out right?
ur 2nd statement has nothing to do with what i said. I nv claimed ALL sg guys are ungentlemanly. I don't know how ur command of english has led you to infer that.
And SARS ![]()
. Don't get me started dude. U mean choosing not to bother bout girls like that leads to millions of death?
Excuse me while i fart.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:because my point is that, there are girls like that. and it's about the ego thing that they go for ang mo guys, and they're just giving excuses about how asian guys don't cut it like ang mo guys.
while your point seem to suggest that you think that what i'm saying is bullcrap because your 20-30 girl friends aren't like that, so you assume that all girls aren't like that because you never came across any
actuallu i don't even know what point you're trying to put across. like are you defending them and that you really think that singaporean guys are ALL ungentlemanly that's why it's only logical that they go for ang mo guys etc?
Other than getting on your nerves occasionally, the said girls won't affect affect your life if you choose to ignore them, or kill you like SARS.
Just get on with life and behave like the empowered individual you are, and you might actually attract the right people.
Ur replies are getting personal. Idiots? good job u can talk to the wall now I'm not going to bother bout even replying.
erm.Depends. If i'm with the people i'm comfortable with i use them as punctuations.
eh, today 天气 buey pai leh knn.
i jus ate kfc leh cb.
like that ah?
hahaha
ur 2nd statement has nothing to do with what i said. I nv claimed ALL sg guys are ungentlemanly. I don't know how ur command of english has led you to infer that.
And SARS
. Don't get me started dude. U mean choosing not to bother bout girls like that leads to millions of death?
Excuse me while i fart.
no, you claimed that none of the girls you knew in your life are like that, so you suggest that these type of girls don't exist. and that's what ticked me off.
"a girl commenting that she hates guys who don't zi dong buy stuff for her when something catches her eyes."
I swear i dunoe where that came from. Perhaps he's hanging out with the wrong crowd.
From what i know, at least from the handful of girlfriends i hang out with, none of them are like that.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:no, you claimed that none of the girls you knew in your life are like that, so you suggest that these type of girls don't exist. and that's what ticked me off.
AY. FROM THE HANDFUL I KNOW. NONE IS LIKE THAT. I nv said they don't exist.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
eh, today 天气 buey pai leh knn.i jus ate kfc leh cb.
like that ah?
hahaha
erm. around there la. but we dun tok bout KFC la wad the hell. ![]()