Originally posted by cuddles:analogy very subjective.. I think electricity those kind of basic things I think let people know also don't need the students get angry.. the parents will get angrier!
huh?
Originally posted by laurence82:for crying out loud electricity is critical to the lectures while teabreak is not
how come suka suka can use this as analogy?
talk is cheap yah?
precisely. electricity, library, labs are necessary. food isnt. when students sign up for a particular course, they also take into account the sch facilities and resources to aid them in their learning.
Originally posted by laurence82:
i think you are the one demonstrating cheap talkjust like the stompers who only know how to complain and post pics online
how is what i said be labelled as cheap talk?
i study there, i paid the fees there, of course i feel the pinch and annoyance.
did you pay the fees? if you didn't and said that it doesn't matter (because you aren't affected directly by the decision), then it's cheap talk.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:haha, obviously some of the posters here think that it's petty, and coincidently, they're demostrating that talk is certainly cheap, especially if they're not implicated by the decision.
it is not wrong, is politically right, but since our fees have definitely covered the cost of the refreshments, we would like to know why they have stopped it.
please show us your official receipt of the payment details for your course.
and also your enrolment package details. Kindly highlight the refreshments part. Facilities can be just maintenance of the building and other stuff..
aiya these ppl nv study in sim wun understand lah, so act very noble and wei da say we gian peng, want refreshments.
i say fuck you sim.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:but the point is, the cost of the refreshment is logically covered by our fees, so if they cut off the refreshment, where is the money going to?
i used this as an analogy to argue the fact that, the issue cannot be simply shrugged off and ignored and swept under the carpet just because it isn't labelled black and white on paper, as argued by some posters.
then that should be the direction you should be asking the school directly
if you post your analogy like that, please brush up on your communication skills
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:how is what i said be labelled as cheap talk?
i study there, i paid the fees there, of course i feel the pinch and annoyance.
did you pay the fees? if you didn't and said that it doesn't matter (because you aren't affected directly by the decision), then it's cheap talk.
to repeat, its cheap talk if you only know how to complain, worse, in a forum where nobody has any cause or reason to help you, advise you or what
since when does the person giving the advice or add to the topic has to be a student?
shessh
accept it as a fact of life. you go everywhere, no black and white you lose it ultimately.
you make noise now also can, SIM can always reply with a "sorry for everything, we can't continue to provide you with that privillege liao"
whatever it is, maybe if you demand for refreshments, they might add in a Refreshments fees in your course fees.
Originally posted by bryanw:
precisely. electricity, library, labs are necessary. food isnt. when students sign up for a particular course, they also take into account the sch facilities and resources to aid them in their learning.
so you agree that, the services provided by sim, shouldn't be based on simple black and white terms?
ok, i think what the stomper (and myself and so far, all of my classmates) feels is that, we have paid a certain amount of fees, which cover the cost of the electricity bills, tutor fees, and refreshment (they wouldn't provide all these if they knew that whatever they receive from us isn't covering the cost right?)
and it's unfair to us to just tell us one fine day that there won't be anymore refreshment, and without telling us why?
and we are still paying the same amount of fees, which don't really justify, unless of course they let us know the reason why la.
and what annoys me is, that the people who says that it's not a big deal, and that i'm petty etc, are the same people whose lives aren't affected at all by this decision.
its like, hospitals provide shuttle bus service
they remove the shuttle bus service, but they still provide the basic healthcare, we become cynical of where our tax money goes to?
we can
a) kpkb in stomp and online forums
b) talk to the management of the hospital
c) raise it to the minister of health
d) other options
certainly i wont make a fool of myself in a)
there are 3 solutions just accept it complete the course and move on OR
speak or write to the school and offer your "stand" see what can be done. is there any room to negotiate. OR
not happy just quit sim, find another school simple as that which only fools will do so over what "food". ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:so you agree that, the services provided by sim, shouldn't be based on simple black and white terms?
ok, i think what the stomper (and myself and so far, all of my classmates) feels is that, we have paid a certain amount of fees, which cover the cost of the electricity bills, tutor fees, and refreshment (they wouldn't provide all these if they knew that whatever they receive from us isn't covering the cost right?)
and it's unfair to us to just tell us one fine day that there won't be anymore refreshment, and without telling us why?
and we are still paying the same amount of fees, which don't really justify, unless of course they let us know the reason why la.
and what annoys me is, that the people who says that it's not a big deal, and that i'm petty etc, are the same people whose lives aren't affected at all by this decision.
totally not an objective post
you decide whether people posts are useful base on whether their background and qualifications, regardless of the validity of these arguments
ad hominem arguments
pffft
Originally posted by laurence82:
to repeat, its cheap talk if you only know how to complain, worse, in a forum where nobody has any cause or reason to help you, advise you or whatsince when does the person giving the advice or add to the topic has to be a student?
shessh
it's cheap talk if you, a person who isn't affected by a decision, can't see why those who are affected, are angry, and talk as if you're affected as wel and don't see a problem with it.
i mean, if you are a student there, and have paid the fees, and you don't feel it's a problem, it's not wrong you know, it just means that you're easy going, or rich, so it doesn't really matter.
but you didn't pay the fees.. you just.. say it isn't a big deal, because you're not directly involved. it's like... (i guess you're working now), one day your company decide to make it compulsary for you guys to pay a certain amount of fees for lunch, and they serve really lousy food, that you rather eat at a foodcourt, but you still have to pay for the food they indented for you.
and i say "pay lor, not a big deal wat"
u get what i mean?
Originally posted by bryanw:there are 3 solutions just accept it complete the course and move on OR
speak or write to the school and offer your "stand" see what can be done. is there any room to negotiate. OR
not happy just quit sim, find another school simple as that which only fools will do so over what "food".
lol ya. bo bian lor. gonna finish alr. lucky?
talk so many da dao li for wat? can't u just see the simple fact that this is purely a business transaction between sim and her students? only thing is students got one thing lesser to gain.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:it's cheap talk if you, a person who isn't affected by a decision, can't see why those who are affected, are angry, and talk as if you're affected as wel and don't see a problem with it.
i mean, if you are a student there, and have paid the fees, and you don't feel it's a problem, it's not wrong you know, it just means that you're easy going, or rich, so it doesn't really matter.
but you didn't pay the fees.. you just.. say it isn't a big deal, because you're not directly involved. it's like... (i guess you're working now), one day your company decide to make it compulsary for you guys to pay a certain amount of fees for lunch, and they serve really lousy food, that you rather eat at a foodcourt, but you still have to pay for the food they indented for you.
u get what i mean?
but in life there will always be someone getting the short end of the stick depending on how you see it.
Originally posted by laurence82:totally not an objective post
you decide whether people posts are useful base on whether their background and qualifications, regardless of the validity of these arguments
ad hominem arguments
pffft
all i'm saying is, walk a mile in the afflicted man's shoes before critisizing?
i'm ok with cuddles you know? what he/she said is right, we can't do anything about it.
but she doesn't act like it's not a big deal, that i'm petty to be upset over a few hundred dollars which are now unaccounted for. blah blah.
Originally posted by bryanw:but in life there will always be someone getting the short end of the stick depending on how you see it.
would u want to be at the short end?
dumbdumb i understand how u feel, cuz we're on the same ground. those on higher horses would always have a diff view, maybe wider. watever.
how can it be akin to removing subsidized fuel as is msia's case? i mean if no refreshments they give us papers and pens instead THEN that we have a valid analogy. get wat i mean?
Originally posted by newcomer:
would u want to be at the short end?
but do you have a choice? there are 3 choices up there. ![]()
Originally posted by newcomer:talk so many da dao li for wat? can't u just see the simple fact that this is purely a business transaction between sim and her students? only thing is students got one thing lesser to gain.
and as a student, i'm suppose to shake them by the hand and celebrate? lol.
i know it's a simple fact, i know it's a strategy to widen their profit margin.
but i want to hear them say it, instead of just saying "hi guys, we, the upper management, decide to stop provide refreshment. and nope, school fees aren't gonna drop"
i feel that at the very least, provide a reason.
At least Free Condoms on fridays la.
Originally posted by newcomer:dumbdumb i understand how u feel, cuz we're on the same ground. those on higher horses would always have a diff view, maybe wider. watever.
how can it be akin to removing subsidized fuel as is msia's case? i mean if no refreshments they give us papers and pens instead THEN that we have a valid analogy. get wat i mean?
finally! someone who tries to walk in the student's shoes.
and no, i didn't get that, can explain further?
SIM very cute leh.. this is a joke.. ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:it's cheap talk if you, a person who isn't affected by a decision, can't see why those who are affected, are angry, and talk as if you're affected as wel and don't see a problem with it.
u get what i mean?
thats only emotional, you need people agree with you, rather than telling you objectively, i am not really interested in that, as i am sure the rest are also not very interested in the topic in this way
by logic, if its not in black and what, they have provided you what you need as contracted
if you feel the fees are not worth it, then why study there? or why not taking it up to the management?
i dont understand the topic
issit wanting people to agree with you, collecting a few people to cry over it, or what?